We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“management were great accomodations eh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Inn

Save Saved
You added Ocean Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ocean Inn
3405 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Loyalty Program
Ranked #8 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
NYC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“management were great accomodations eh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a very well located property in Hollywood Fl. It is very very reasonable.BUT don't expect comfy bedding or lux bathrooms.The accomodations are dated but they were clean .The wall AC units were loud.So much so that on night number 2 of my 4 night stay I shut it off and preferred sleeping without the noise.The continental breakfast wasn't worth the bother,grab a cup of coffee and head out .For the price and location it's a good value.If you want to spend more you could get more.It is 100 yards from the beach,again great location and great price so something has to give.

Room Tip: Room 23 was on the 2nd level less noisy than the ground floor of this 2 story bldg
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronika A, General Manager at Ocean Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Mentldentl,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Ocean Inn. Glad to hear that you found the Ocean Inn a well located property. We are currently updating all the rooms, including the bedding and bathrooms.
We do provide a light continental breakfast for our guest, which include cereals, fresh fruits, fresh baked muffins, coffee, tea and milk as well as provide cooking equipment in most rooms.
Please let me apologize for any inconvenience you had with the air conditioner. During your stay with us we were unaware of the loud air conditioner so we now have our engineering team looking at it.
Again, Thank you for your comment which help us identify areas of improvements.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    102
    15
    14
    6
See reviews for
76
190
41
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

After searching for months to find the right hotel for us and our pets, we came across this fantastic place. After calling and emailing Philip numerous times, we decided to take a chance and stay at the Inn. We couldn't have made a better decision. Philip, Joe and the rest of the staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful. The rooms were immaculately kept and really cute, the courtyard and surrounding grounds were well groomed and we really enjoyed just sitting outside our room and enjoying the Florida weather with the dogs. Every morning we were treated to a continental breakfast with the best homemade muffins, fresh fruit and coffee. Yes, there is no pool, but who needs one when the ocean is just about a block away. We can't wait for our next trip to Hollywood (Fort Lauderdale area) to stay at this little gem! Thank you Philip, Joe and the rest of the staff for making our vacation so enjoyable! Can't wait to see you again!

Room Tip: We stayed in both rooms 13 and 14 and both were wonderful. I don't think you could choose a bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Went to Hollywood for a get-a-way. I have fallen in LOVE with Phillip and this WONDERFUL little treasure. Met the new owner and she is very nice. Nice little breakfast and the best little chocolate chip muffins! The gardens are so peaceful.
Thank you Phillip and Ocean Inn.
I will return for the hidden little treasure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This inn is so beautiful and relaxing. It had the most beautiful garden I have ever seen! They also have a good grill you can use, right in front of comfy chairs with shades. The workers were beyond great! They gave us cookies and beers, and even two big beach towels to use. They also have some other beach necessity in their office like sun block. The room was very clean. It had hard floor and it was decorated with beach theme, which was very cute. Their complimentary breakfast is till 11am, which is great, and they have dark roast coffee (at least it tasted like one!) which they brew every morning and every time it runs out. I would definitely stay there again when I go to Hollywood, and in fact, I had such a great time that I went back in two days with my husband!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very comortable and quiet and steps from the beach! The free breakfast is small, but nice. I would recommend this hotel especially for the price. Don't expect fancy, but expect comfortable. The staff is great also!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great location steps from the beach, customer service was great, I felt right at home
After a day on the beach came back to the room had a cocktail and sat outside in a very peaceful garden setting. No pool no big deal u r steps from the beach. Free parking is a huge bonus.

You got yourself a very loyal customer
T

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This small motel is comfortable enough for the average couple. It's about two blocks away from the beach. The rooms all face onto a central patio area that is comfortable and quiet. They have a gas BBQ available for use (we BBQ-ed some steaks and ate out at the patio table). Our room was comfortable enough and had a small fridge and hotplate as well as a microwave. There are a couple of local stores (Walgreen's and Publix) to pick up a few supplies and groceries. The bed was nice and soft. The AC units are in-wall and very loud but at least it did the job and kept us cool. The housekeeper does a great job at keeping the rooms as clean as possible. We were visited only once by a cockroach that I promptly showed the phone book to. The staff are great and friendly. There is a local restaurant called "La Tub" that is not too far from the motel. It has an interesting history and, arguably, the best hamburgers in the world. A must-visit place if you happen to stay in the area.

We didn't bring our kid on this trip and I'm glad for that. I think kids would go out of their minds with boredom at this mote as there is nothing to do in or around the motel with the exception of walking down to the beach area with parents.

Certainly worth a try if you are looking for a quiet retreat off the beaten path.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn

Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel
Ocean Hotel Hollywood
Address: 3405 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#8 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#12 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BE OUR GUEST! The Ocean Inn offers a unique boutique lodging experience. Relax, renew and unwind with us in our private tropical courtyard just steps to the sand, surf and Hollywood Broadwalk. We celebrate the diversity and power of people, ideas and cultures and we do our very best to serve each guest according to their individual needs and lifestyles. Make your reservation today because we want to get you in bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.