We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Inn

Save Saved
You added Ocean Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Inn
3405 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
orlando
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We picked this "mom & pop" motel based on TA reviews. But I have to say that we were disappointed.
Pros: clean, tropical feel on the patio & good staff
Cons: We thought that this place would be a funky, kitschy-type place. We have stayed in other older resorts {from the '40s actually} and were thrilled. But that is not what we found here. They are not maintaining the motel's assets like they should. It is as if they are just 'painting over'. Example: rather than replacing doors they are just painting over. Ours was a motel room and it was very basic. There was no real charm in our room. The wall air conditioner was very loud.
All in all, just OK.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronika A, General Manager at Ocean Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear EmEs,

Thank you for your authentic review of your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to hear about the cleanliness, tropical feel on the patio and good staff.
Please except my sincerest apology for any disappointment you may have experienced. We are just getting out of season, so now we are refreshing all the rooms for the summer time.
We are very sorry for the inconvenience with the air conditioner. Our engineering team is diligently working to rectify the situation.

Despite your disappointment I do hope you will return to stay with us again in the future.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    110
    16
    15
    6
See reviews for
79
196
44
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

When my husband and I arrived at the Ocean Inn, we were greeted by Joe. There were no parking spaces available. Joe moved his car and gave us his spot. Then he proceeded to show us our room and all amenities this B&b had to offer, from the beach chairs and towels to the corner where the continental breakfast would be served.everything was convenient. The room was very clean and the staff's hospitality was second to none. Any question that we had were immediately addressed by Phil who was usually there when we had any concerns. His service and everyone made our stay wonderful. We look forward to returning again

Room Tip: Our room # was 13. Very clean and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Pre and post cruise, we stayed here in April. We experienced both the regular rooms and the suite. We were made to feel so welcome from day one, just like we were old friends. Just super friendly staff and very helpful in assisting with odd requests. I loved the comfort of a roomy kitchen, wonderful bed and more space generally in the suite (room 23), but the regular room is also very nice. I am on my own special diet and therefore appreciated the cheerfully decorated fridge and access to plates and flatware and complementary coffee/tea. The garden is a haven. I spent a lot of time in the hammock with the water feature gently trickling, the soothing sound almost lulling me to sleep. There are plenty of little seating areas scattered around for those who do not like hammocks. This place becomes a like a small friendly community. The location is excellent, with the beach just a few steps away. I am definitely going to stay there next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were told the hotel is under new ownership, so we wanted to offer a few concerns and suggestions. Room 16.
1) Please put more flatware in the kitchenette rooms. We had one butter knife, one sharp knife and no more than three spoons and forks.
2) Please buy a blender for guests to use.
3) Please add chaise lounge chairs for beach.
4) Daily maid service is not necessary - offer a fresh towels only sign and/or do not disturb.
5) Increase TV reception. Reception is bad to poor on numerous channels.
6) Increase internet reception. Reception was weak; at best our tablet had two bars.
7) Defrost the fridge. The freezer was so coated with ice that it was barely usable.
8) Update to a rounded shower rod so the shower curtain does not stick to your body when in the shower.

And most importantly....

9) The office staff was helpful and polite. 10) The courtyard is very nice and well maintained.
11) A new mattress is absolutely a must. You roll to the center of the bed when sleeping - not comfortable for two people.

Until the mattress is replaced and the TV reception is improved, we probably would not stay here again. These should be a given for any hotel, not an option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronika A, General Manager at Ocean Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Joi,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your stay at the Ocean Inn. On a positive note, I am happy to hear about the helpfulness of our staff and that you found a courtyard very nice and well maintained.

I appreciate your comments and take them very seriously. We are making improvements on the specific issues you have mentioned . If your travel plans brings you back to Hollywood, I hope you will consider staying with us again, so that you can experience the improved Ocean Inn. I would like to personally ensure that you have a great experience and better accommodation on your next visit.

Thank you again on your sincere review. Look forward to welcoming you back soon!
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived and were immediately greeted for our one night stay. We were made to feel very welcomed here, shown where all the ammenities were located - beach chairs & umbrellas to use at beach, where breakfast would be set up, explanation of the phone if we needed anything at all. The patio area was a tropical oasis, with private sitting areas - great decor!! It was very reasonably priced and they also offered a discount for Florida residents. We really enjoyed our stay and thought it had everything we needed for the one night we were there. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because of the bed; it really was just way too bouncy for old bones (at 44) and our backs could not take more than than 6 hours of sleep we got on it. Other than that, we really enjoyed eveything else about this place and would return again. The beach was just one block away and there was free parking for the residents staying here also, which is a huge plus.

Room Tip: We were in Room 14 on the lower level and you could could hear noise from the people above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had the good fortune of staying here for four nights in March 2013. We loved it and will definitely return next year. Philip and Joe could not have done more for us and certainly made us feel welcome. The location was excellent - right beside the Boardwalk and the Beach. The accomodations were good - clean, comfortable and certainly satisfactory. We enjoyed the continental breakfasts and the ambience of the beautiful garden area. Philip went way above the call of duty for us - looking after details for us that he anticipated. This Inn is a family owned operation and is a unique place. We really enjoyed it. We rated this realizing that this is not a large modern chain-style hotel. If you are looking for a clean,well kept,small, unique family style hotel with character- this is it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shifnal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The place was very cozy and by the beach which makes it practical for a relaxed vacation. I really enjoyed the garden of the place which was perfect to lay back and enjoy a book or just sip on a wine. Reminded me of a beautiful garden and patio of a family house.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn

Address: 3405 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hollywood
#9 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#13 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BE OUR GUEST! The Ocean Inn offers a unique boutique lodging experience. Relax, renew and unwind with us in our private tropical courtyard just steps to the sand, surf and Hollywood Broadwalk. We celebrate the diversity and power of people, ideas and cultures and we do our very best to serve each guest according to their individual needs and lifestyles. Make your reservation today because we want to get you in bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.