We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favorite in the Fort Lauderdale area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ocean Inn to your Saves list
Ocean Inn
3405 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our new favorite in the Fort Lauderdale area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Pre and post cruise, we stayed here in April. We experienced both the regular rooms and the suite. We were made to feel so welcome from day one, just like we were old friends. Just super friendly staff and very helpful in assisting with odd requests. I loved the comfort of a roomy kitchen, wonderful bed and more space generally in the suite (room 23), but the regular room is also very nice. I am on my own special diet and therefore appreciated the cheerfully decorated fridge and access to plates and flatware and complementary coffee/tea. The garden is a haven. I spent a lot of time in the hammock with the water feature gently trickling, the soothing sound almost lulling me to sleep. There are plenty of little seating areas scattered around for those who do not like hammocks. This place becomes a like a small friendly community. The location is excellent, with the beach just a few steps away. I am definitely going to stay there next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    110
    16
    15
    6
See reviews for
79
196
44
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were told the hotel is under new ownership, so we wanted to offer a few concerns and suggestions. Room 16.
1) Please put more flatware in the kitchenette rooms. We had one butter knife, one sharp knife and no more than three spoons and forks.
2) Please buy a blender for guests to use.
3) Please add chaise lounge chairs for beach.
4) Daily maid service is not necessary - offer a fresh towels only sign and/or do not disturb.
5) Increase TV reception. Reception is bad to poor on numerous channels.
6) Increase internet reception. Reception was weak; at best our tablet had two bars.
7) Defrost the fridge. The freezer was so coated with ice that it was barely usable.
8) Update to a rounded shower rod so the shower curtain does not stick to your body when in the shower.

And most importantly....

9) The office staff was helpful and polite. 10) The courtyard is very nice and well maintained.
11) A new mattress is absolutely a must. You roll to the center of the bed when sleeping - not comfortable for two people.

Until the mattress is replaced and the TV reception is improved, we probably would not stay here again. These should be a given for any hotel, not an option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronika A, General Manager at Ocean Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Joi,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your stay at the Ocean Inn. On a positive note, I am happy to hear about the helpfulness of our staff and that you found a courtyard very nice and well maintained.

I appreciate your comments and take them very seriously. We are making improvements on the specific issues you have mentioned . If your travel plans brings you back to Hollywood, I hope you will consider staying with us again, so that you can experience the improved Ocean Inn. I would like to personally ensure that you have a great experience and better accommodation on your next visit.

Thank you again on your sincere review. Look forward to welcoming you back soon!
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived and were immediately greeted for our one night stay. We were made to feel very welcomed here, shown where all the ammenities were located - beach chairs & umbrellas to use at beach, where breakfast would be set up, explanation of the phone if we needed anything at all. The patio area was a tropical oasis, with private sitting areas - great decor!! It was very reasonably priced and they also offered a discount for Florida residents. We really enjoyed our stay and thought it had everything we needed for the one night we were there. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because of the bed; it really was just way too bouncy for old bones (at 44) and our backs could not take more than than 6 hours of sleep we got on it. Other than that, we really enjoyed eveything else about this place and would return again. The beach was just one block away and there was free parking for the residents staying here also, which is a huge plus.

Room Tip: We were in Room 14 on the lower level and you could could hear noise from the people above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had the good fortune of staying here for four nights in March 2013. We loved it and will definitely return next year. Philip and Joe could not have done more for us and certainly made us feel welcome. The location was excellent - right beside the Boardwalk and the Beach. The accomodations were good - clean, comfortable and certainly satisfactory. We enjoyed the continental breakfasts and the ambience of the beautiful garden area. Philip went way above the call of duty for us - looking after details for us that he anticipated. This Inn is a family owned operation and is a unique place. We really enjoyed it. We rated this realizing that this is not a large modern chain-style hotel. If you are looking for a clean,well kept,small, unique family style hotel with character- this is it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shifnal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The place was very cozy and by the beach which makes it practical for a relaxed vacation. I really enjoyed the garden of the place which was perfect to lay back and enjoy a book or just sip on a wine. Reminded me of a beautiful garden and patio of a family house.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I just got back from a five night stay at the Inn. Phillip, Joe and Veronica (the new owner) were very friendly and helpful from recomending good restaurants to calling cabs. It is nothing fancy but if you like old Florida motels this is the place. The Broadwalk and beach is one block up . They have beach towels, chairs and umbrellas for the taking. Nice garden seating and okay breakfast. Could have some juices for those that do not drink coffee. Will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

my husband and I stayed at this inn during a chilly March and were very happy with our choice, Philip is very welcoming and full of info if it is your first visit to Hollywood, we had a large room with a kitchen which suited us very well, as we get tired of eating out while traveling, however, the boardwalk is steps away with a variety of restaurants
this inn is small and a little retro but we found it comfortable and quiet with friendly fellow travelers, we would return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn

Address: 3405 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hollywood
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#9 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#14 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BE OUR GUEST! The Ocean Inn offers a unique boutique lodging experience. Relax, renew and unwind with us in our private tropical courtyard just steps to the sand, surf and Hollywood Broadwalk. We celebrate the diversity and power of people, ideas and cultures and we do our very best to serve each guest according to their individual needs and lifestyles. Make your reservation today because we want to get you in bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.