We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, funky place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Inn

Save Saved
You added Ocean Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Inn
3405 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
So Cal
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice, funky place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

A bit dated but very clean with a VERY helpful staff. Full kitchen and roomy room, but older TV (lots of channels though) and mushy bed. Location is great if you just want to hang out at a nice beach that isn't too tourist-y. Shuttle runs into the busy part of Hollywood but a couple eating spots are within walking distance. Very quiet considering it was right on the main road. Fresh baked muffins in the morning!!!

Room Tip: Small inn but our upstairs room (one of two) was very quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    109
    16
    15
    6
See reviews for
79
196
44
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holley, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Ocean Inn is prime location for Hollywood Beach. The courtyard is exceptionally quiet and comfortable. There is a short walk to the beach, Broadwalk, restaurants, bike rental, Grandstand (concerts nightly) and bars. We would suggest not renting a car (traffic is horrendous!) and taking advantage of the trolley and water taxi. Those 2 transports will take you to Publix, Walgreens, Young Circle, Old Hollywood and various stops along the Broadwalk. There is also taxi service and a busline. Service (Philip and Joe) was outstanding, these guys are awesome. The rooms are in need of some tender loving care and Veronica (new owner as of March) has a plan to do some upgrading within the coming year. All in all the Ocean Inn is The place to stay in Hollywood Beach--only 11 rooms so book early.

Room Tip: The 2 upper rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New Hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

super service, very accommodating. We arrived early and our room was ready. We had a late flight and they allowed us to leave our car, borrow beach chairs and towels, way past check out time. The room was nicely decorated and the bed was firm and comfortable. There was a small refrigerator in the room. Our only criticism was that the shower head needed to be replaced. Even though it is on rt A1A, it was surprisingly quiet and it is a short walk to the boardwalk/beach. Traffic can be challenging on rt A1A, but we just went up to the state park to turn around and head south. The owners really care about their property and have created a lovely courtyard, with many private spots to sit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Ocean Inn is a great place to come and relax, at a great price, an arms length from the beach. The people who run this place are some of the nicest people on earth and will do everything they can to make your stay a pleasant one. The internet wasn't super dependable, but the breakfast every morning was very nice and the courtyard is such a great place chill out and meet other guests. Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

If your interested in a quaint small hotel this is it. The service was excellent. As for the room it was dated back to 1950, the beds in the room was poor. If you laid down you would sink in the middle and your feet were higher then your head. The room had a strong deortiz smell when you entered. The area is similar to Pacific Beech California. The beech was clean, however by the waters edge there was alot of trash. The Florida keys are a far better experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronika A, Owner at Ocean Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your authentic review of your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to hear about the excellent service you received during your visit to the Ocean Inn!

We are sorry to hear you did not like the beds in you room. This summer we are going to upgrade all the rooms, so on your next visit to Hollywood we would like you to consider returning to the Ocean Inn and allowing us another chance to provide you the experience we thrive to achieve with all our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our room had a full kitchen and a very comfortable bed, along with a futon and TV. Bathroom was clean and the decor was bright and beachy. The courtyard is an oasis for comfort and relaxation. In the morning there was self-serve coffee (good, quality coffee, I must add) to sip while relaxing in the courtyard. Inn staff is friendly and helpful. Only one block from the beach--it is a short stroll down the side of the Inn--you don't have to cross any main streets to access the beach. I was really impressed with the beach near the Ocean Inn; it had gorgeous white sand and turquoise water. Sadly, we only spent one night here, but I will return for a longer stay and some quality beach time. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended.
Sweet B&B just one block away from the beach. Our host Philip was very personable, helpful and eager to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Location is close to fine dining and activity center.
We will definitely return to this lovely abode.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn

Address: 3405 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hollywood
#9 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#14 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BE OUR GUEST! The Ocean Inn offers a unique boutique lodging experience. Relax, renew and unwind with us in our private tropical courtyard just steps to the sand, surf and Hollywood Broadwalk. We celebrate the diversity and power of people, ideas and cultures and we do our very best to serve each guest according to their individual needs and lifestyles. Make your reservation today because we want to get you in bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.