We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hospitality at the Ocean Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Inn to your Saves list
Ocean Inn
3405 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Loyalty Program
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
Media
1 review
“Awesome Hospitality at the Ocean Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

My family just returned from Hollywood Florida where we stayed at the Ocean Inn for 6 nights. We were looking for a clean, well located place for 2 of us to sleep and shower while the rest of the family stayed with some nearby relatives, but we got so much more! The Ocean Inn is small and cozy, like a little paradise in the middle of all the hustle and bustle. They have a courtyard there that is beautifully done. There are great places throughout to sit and read and have your coffee, and my kids really enjoyed chilling in the hammock. We even used the barbeque one night and had a nice relaxing meal without spending alot of money or having to deal with the holiday weekend crowds. The room we stayed in our first few nights was clean and comfortable and had a king size bed, refrigerator, full bathroom, TV with many cable channels available and a microwave . We were upgraded for our last few nights into a room with a full bath and kitchen, with full size refrigerator, microwave and stocked with dishes, pots and pans and silverware, as well as a trundle bed where 4 of us slept comfortably. The beach and broadwalk is just around the corner and about 15 minutes from the Fort Lauderdale Airport. But the best part was by far the service we received, in particular from Philip at the front desk. He was always very attentive to all of our needs and to offer suggestions for nearby activities They offered a small breakfast each morning, books, towels, beach chairs. We loved it and look forward to staying at the Ocean Inn again next year!

Room Tip: Rooms oin the east side towards the ocean are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    114
    16
    15
    6
See reviews for
80
199
45
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband and I just returned from Hollywood Florida where we stayed at the Ocean Inn for three nights. We are from Kentucky and love to bet horses....so we went mainly to see Gulfstream Park and check out the Broadwalk in Hollywood. Ocean Inn is very small and older....but is one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed. It's like a little paradise in the middle of all the high rises and traffic. They have a courtyard there....again..very small...but just beautifully done. There are all these cool little places to sit and have your coffee and just do nothing. You can see your room from just about anywhere in the courtyard because it is all so compact. The room we stayed in had a king size bed, frig, and microwave. Very small room...but super clean and comfy. The beach is just around the corner. I'd say about 200 steps to the beach and broadwalk. It was just beautiful. Everything was in walking distance so we didn't rent a car. It is about 15 minutes from the Fort Lauderdale Airport. The service was wonderful. They greeted us with a cold beer and big smiles. They offered a small breakfast each morning, books, towels, beach chairs, and drinks and snacks at any given time. It was like staying at a friend's house. We loved it. I have stayed in many many places and this was the most quaint and friendly one of all. If you want glitz and glamour....beach views, four star...don't stay here. If you just want small, quaint, quiet, clean, and super friendly......book today. You will love it.

Room Tip: Any room looked good to me....but ground floor rooms are most convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was my second time to stay at The Ocean Inn . . . and it was just as great the second time around. The Ocean Inn is just a block from the boardwalk and beach. They also have chairs, towels, and umbrellas which you can barrow to use at the beach. Our room was great. The courtyard is fantastic . . . a great place to eat breakfast, relax in the hammock or just sit and chat. Philip is most knowledgeable and sent us to a super, fantastic family owned Italian restaurant. Make sure to ask him about it. Can't wait to go there again next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a beach motel that has had some TLC to turn it into a little boutique inn with a center courtyard with lounges, chairs and tables. The room we had was a very basic motel unit with a kichenette. The airconditioner was old and loud! We killed some kind of large beetle in the bathroom and the day we left I realized I had a dime sized nasty bite of some sort on my lower leg... it had to come either from the beach, or the room....maybe in the bed while sleeping. eww! Things happen, but it certainly tainted our overall impression. The fact that we could walk 100 feet or so to the beach/broadwalk was a huge plus. AND, the owners have beach chairs and umbrella to use. I sunburn very easily, so this was a big deal to me. We stayed here for 2 nights before a cruise by the way.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This little hideaway is too good to keep secret. Very affordable. Just a block off the Hollywood Beach Broadwalk, it's the perfect spot to spend a day or two or more, before or after a cruise (just a few miles from the port and the airport, too); even more so because they offer a simple breakfast each day and have beach chairs and towels at the ready for guests to use, too. Staff is friendly and helpful and Phil usually bakes cookies fresh each afternoon! Not fancy, elegant, or luxurious, but comfy and clean.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury CT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This small hotel includes a continental breakfast, best enjoyed in the garden area. Free wi-fi in our spacious room that also included a kitchen rounded out our good impression of this hotel. Philip was a generous and helpful host, allowing us to park both before and after our stay so we could enjoy the boardwalk and beach just one block from the hotel. He also gave us great advice about taking the water taxi to Fort Lauderdale and suggested places on the boardwalk to eat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenosha wi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Stayed 1 night last week to be near airport...wish we could have stayed 3. Thanks to reviews and photos on Trip Advisor we had a pretty good idea of what to expect, one thing I don't recall being mentioned is how clean everything was...the courtyard the steps,the office and most importantly our room looked like it was freshly scrubbed!! Close to the beach and the airport reasonable price...works for me!!! Glen was a very friendly host only wish we had more time to get to know him.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn

Address: 3405 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#14 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BE OUR GUEST! The Ocean Inn offers a unique boutique lodging experience. Relax, renew and unwind with us in our private tropical courtyard just steps to the sand, surf and Hollywood Broadwalk. We celebrate the diversity and power of people, ideas and cultures and we do our very best to serve each guest according to their individual needs and lifestyles. Make your reservation today because we want to get you in bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.