We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location ... and did we mention the Tiki Bar?!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WalkAbout Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added WalkAbout Beach Resort to your Saves list
WalkAbout Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
Eversley, Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location ... and did we mention the Tiki Bar?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

OK - here we are, look no further! Having stayed at quite a few luxury small, boutique hotels this is a FIND ... it's a boutique hotel but I must emphasise, beach style, in fact Hollywood Beach style!. So don't expect any luxury toiletries or a daily maid service, and most of those extras you pay through the nose for - that is the beauty of this fantastic little hotel. Clean white rooms, with space and beautifully simple touches make you feel you are 'at the seaside' ... and look out from our ground floor panoramic windows we feel like we are living on the beach - we are literally 8m from the beach, separated only by a Broadwalk where skaters, cyclists, joggers, locals, tourists and quite frankly such an eclectic mix of people brushed past our windows, dressed every which way (often on forms of transportation you would never even know existed) that you could spend your day just people watching! We travelled with our 8 year old son and 3 year old daughter and had our most relaxing beach holiday ever. The Tiki Bar was literally 4m from our ground floor windows … the kids could relax, and so could we. We'd wander in to the room to check on them, they'd wander out to join us. And the people we met at the Tiki Bar, mostly locals with some passing tourists, made having a drink here all the more enjoyable. Look out for Frank (fountain of all knowledge), Mary (should have been a stand up comedienne, with a husband, who we never met but saw his fantastic art in the office at the Walkabout), Jake (who sings, rather well, in a band) and Fast Eddy (nicknamed so because given his age he's fast, in more ways than one!!) Fantastic live music at the weekends too! Restaurants are excellent in locality … whatever you are looking for, cheap, broadwalk view, 5* formal, you'll find it here. Personally we favoured Nicks Bar, Le Tub, Giorgios Grill and Florios for Pizza. And if you are having too much fun at the Tiki Bar to bother moving, you could grab a posh takeaway from the Marriott next door (the Ahi Tuna with wasabi, great!) You see so few staff here you will almost feel that you are staying in your own home. And those that we did see, on occasion: Tamara, so friendly and helpful who runs the hotel, Cherie who cleans and generally looks after everyone and Carol, so lovely, who works at the Bar. We plan to return as soon as we can!! Thank you to Everyone at the Walk About for our fantastic stay. We had a Ball!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    33
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
40
80
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

My husband and I traveled with our almost three-year-old triplets to Walk About Beach Resort, and could not have dreamed of better accommodations! We stayed in tower #1 (one bedroom); we enjoyed the master suite, and the kids slept on inflatable mattresses in the dining nook. There was plenty of space. The building is adorable - nicely updated and incredibly clean. There is a wonderful tiki bar in the courtyard, where my husband and I shared "adult time" while the kids napped less than ten (10) feet away, and also where the kids themselves were treated to specially-made fruit juices and lovingly prepared snacks. All WABR employees we met (Tamara, John, Sherry, and the doggy, Tucker) were very welcoming, and embraced the liveliness of toddler triplets running barefoot around the property! Lastly, the location is PERFECT - at the quiet end of the exciting boardwalk, and just steps from the pristine ocean. This treasure comes highly recommended by us!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oak
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stayed at Walk About Beach Resort for just a couple nights and were extremely impressed with how cute the rooms were! It is an older resort but everything was neatly painted in wonderful "beachy" colors, the linens, bedding, sofa and chair covers were all new and very nice. The view was fantastic and the location was also great! It was a very busy weekend for the beach area so it was somewhat noisy late at night but nothing unbearable. Very nice little place!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Only stayed one night, wished we could have stayed longer. Had studio room, wonderful view, especially watching the sunrise. One of the cleanest rooms we have ever had. People at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Loved the Tiki Bar. Only wished the weather was warmer, but I know they have no control over that.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010 via mobile

Great place to see, relaxing stay. Overall, everthing exceeding our expectations. The staff is outstanding!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

I decided to extend my stay at the beach in Hollywood by a day and noticed their vacancy sign. The owner couldn't have been nicer and showed me the room, which was an ocean view efficiency and it was quite nice. Full kitchen and full bath and newer flat screen TV. It's located right next to the Marriot so there is quite a bit of activity in the area - there are a number of bars and restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Parking is not included, but the ownership has an arrangement with the Marriot to provide parking for $15. This was a bit inconvenient only because the front desk staff at the Marriot were somewhat confused when I approached them about parking. This is one of the nicer places to stay on the broadwalk.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

have stayed at multiple locations on the beach... i should not give away this great secret on the beach, but CLEAN BEAUTIFUL AND ATTENTIVE STAFF. Will never stay anywhere else!!! Right next to Marriott.. better rooms and better service!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WalkAbout Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WalkAbout Beach Resort

Address: 2500 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WalkAbout Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WalkAbout Beach Resort is a cozy family-owned and operated hotel located ON THE BROADWALK in Hollywood Beach, Florida. Our boutique, 8-room hotel was built in 1950, and it is one of the last remaining beachfront hotels designed in the Art Deco style.Our guests enjoy a wide array of amenities that include: ocean front rooms, a large tiki bar in our courtyard, seating alongside the Hollywood broadwalk, scenic views of the beach, nearby shops and restaurants, free wifi, free cable, on-site washer/dryer, live music, and fresh linens daily. Our staff is extremely friendly and professional, and we are always nearby to assist with any special requests. Hollywood Beach is one of the premier beach destinations in the world. The city provides twenty-one lifeguard towers and eight first-aid stations. An icon of Art Moderne architecture on Hollywood Beach’s famed Broadwalk, The Walkabout Beach Resort, is a classic 1940’s boutique hotel. Those who have visited claim it has the perfect blend of characteristics: chic, warm and inviting, glamorous, and tastefully modernized.To experience The Walkabout Beach Resort, is to experience Hollywood Beach at its best. In keeping with its classic style, eight oceanfront guest rooms are immaculately styled with the elegance of another era – wooden and terrazzo floors, interiors with rich textures, soft pink monochromatic colors, and decorations with a nod to its illustrious past mark the furnishings. Each room is adorned with vintage black and white photographs cataloguing Hollywood’s social history dating back to the 1920’s. When you stay at The Walkabout, discover its delightful Art Moderne ambiance and see how its past has been preserved to its original beauty. The Walkabout is known for its remarkable beachfront setting and legendary Hollywood Beach, Florida hotel location - on the Broadwalk. Named one of America's best beach Broadwalks by Travel + Leisure, the Hollywood Beach Broadwalk is more than 2 miles long, sizzling with energy that embodies the diversity Hollywood Beach stands for - bustling sidewalk cafes, unique shops, multi-hued streamline Art Moderne buildings, and unforgettable ocean views. Step out from the Broadwalk and spend the day settled on white sands, by a glistening ocean on one of South Florida’s most beautiful beaches. Still, the most popular pastime on the beach is simply savoring the charming character of this truly unique setting, so reserve a day for relaxing to the sound of soothing waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your WalkAbout Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walkabout Beach Hotel Hollywood
Walk About Beach Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WalkAbout Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.