We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place on the Beach - EASILY!! Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WalkAbout Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added WalkAbout Beach Resort to your Saves list
WalkAbout Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
cleveland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Place on the Beach - EASILY!! Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

have stayed at multiple locations on the beach... i should not give away this great secret on the beach, but CLEAN BEAUTIFUL AND ATTENTIVE STAFF. Will never stay anywhere else!!! Right next to Marriott.. better rooms and better service!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    41
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
47
96
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, IN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

The location on the Broadwalk is awesome. It's just north of the bandstand, so it's not too crazy-loud, but there's still activity and plenty of people-watching to be had. The room was immaculately clean, very nicely decorated, and had amazing views (we stayed in one of the tower suites). The Tiki Bar was great--good beer on tap, and friendly locals. They had a couple of guys playing live music right under our window, so it was like being serenaded. Plus, the music was really good! We walked up and down the Broadwalk, and many other hotel bars also had musicians, but the ones at Walk About were by far the best. The property manager, Tamera, was so sweet and very accommodating. When we arrived, she let us look at different rooms and pick the one we wanted. She also let us park behind the hotel for free since it wasn't full (normally, parking is $13/day at the Marriott next door). She also has the cutest three-legged Beagle named Tucker who is very friendly and willing to keep you company at the Tiki Bar. We happened to stay during a historic cold snap, and they provided us with a space heater without our even asking (for which we were VERY appreciative, since no buildings in Southern Florida have heat). There is no restaurant on site, but the Marriott right next store has one, as well as a Starbucks, so there's no need to go very far if you don't want to. We definitely plan to return and hope to bring friends. HIGHLY recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewisburg, pa
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

Nicely located on the beach. The Tiki bar seems to be mostly friendly regulars. I forgot a shirt and a sportcoat and have been trying to get them to send it for over a month. I told them I would pay someone to do it, and to just stuff it in a small box, plus I left a generous tip in the room for housekeeping..........I was very low maintenance. I don't understand it, and everyone seemed so nice. I wouldn't recommend the place and I would never stay there again simply because of their inattention to helping me. I stayed 5 days and it wasn't cheap.
Everytime I call I get an answering machine. One time I called, I got a previous owner who was rude and whined about the new owners not changing the phone number. I think this is just a typical case of "we're on the beach, we have a tiki bar, and everybody loves us"......screw the service. Lots of place to stay on Hollywood Beach, place that have amenities.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!!! Left the keys before we traveled to Hollywood. This was way better. Traveled with my wife and out 4 month old son. Everything was perfect about this place. Very low key environment with great people on feet from our doorstep at the Tiki Bar. Met locals and tourists from all over the country. However, one thing stood out the most was that we felt like we have been friends with these people all our lives. They loved our son being out and about and everyone (even the heavy partiers) were respectful to us. Tamara, Carol, Jack, and Gena was all great and took care of us. They do it all, clean your room, check you in, and pour a beer! When I head back that way, I am definitely going to stay there as they catered to our son and it allowed us to use the monitor and have some alone time at the hut.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

I stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend....what a great place! The Tiki Bar is the place to be and be seen. Great variety of folks from locals to visitors from the UK. The rooms are very clean and recently completely remodeled a very south beach touch with a key west feel if that makes any sense. The staff is great with lots of great suggestions on things to do. We parked our car and never needed it for the rest of the weekend. Everything is within walking distance. We looked at plenty of hotels before stumbling on to this place and are we ever glad we did. I would recommend this place to any and everyone looking for a cool koint on the boardwalk in Hollywood.

Chip Palmer

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

Had a fantastic stay at the Walk About Beach Resort. The building has so much character and the rooms are very nice. The staff was exceptional. They had excellent suggestions for both restaurants and activities to do while in town. Very good location right on the beach and boardwalk. We would highly recommend to anyone looking for a great weekend escape or vacation this would be a great choice.
I can't say that I have been to many hotels where I'd give them 5 out of 5 in every department. It's a great little boutique hotel all the way around. Everyone working there makes you feel very welcome. I especially liked the cleanliness of the hotel. From the manicured courtyard area, wooden deck chairs and a Tiki Bar just steps from your door everything was perfect. Two thumbs up from me. I wouldn't waste my time and money going to one of those 200 room hotels when there are great options such as this hotel.
Soon to return.

Casey/ Bill Urmstrum
Canada

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK Midlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

Fantastic relatively contemporary suite apartment with a sea view - amazing!! All we needed for us and our 2 year old son. Stone's throw from the beach and an enjoyable authentic (Seminole Indian built) Tiki bar. Live music (not too late) on Fri and Saturday added to the fun. If we come back to Florida again this is where we'll stay. Staff very friendly and v. eager to help.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.0 mi away
Marriott Hollywood Beach
Marriott Hollywood Beach
#14 of 65 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean Inn
Ocean Inn
#9 of 65 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#11 of 65 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WalkAbout Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WalkAbout Beach Resort

Address: 2500 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — WalkAbout Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WalkAbout Beach Resort is a cozy family-owned and operated hotel located ON THE BROADWALK in Hollywood Beach, Florida. Our boutique, 8-room hotel was built in 1950, and it is one of the last remaining beachfront hotels designed in the Art Deco style.Our guests enjoy a wide array of amenities that include: ocean front rooms, a large tiki bar in our courtyard, seating alongside the Hollywood broadwalk, scenic views of the beach, nearby shops and restaurants, free wifi, free cable, on-site washer/dryer, live music, and fresh linens daily. Our staff is extremely friendly and professional, and we are always nearby to assist with any special requests. Hollywood Beach is one of the premier beach destinations in the world. The city provides twenty-one lifeguard towers and eight first-aid stations. An icon of Art Moderne architecture on Hollywood Beach’s famed Broadwalk, The Walkabout Beach Resort, is a classic 1940’s boutique hotel. Those who have visited claim it has the perfect blend of characteristics: chic, warm and inviting, glamorous, and tastefully modernized.To experience The Walkabout Beach Resort, is to experience Hollywood Beach at its best. In keeping with its classic style, eight oceanfront guest rooms are immaculately styled with the elegance of another era – wooden and terrazzo floors, interiors with rich textures, soft pink monochromatic colors, and decorations with a nod to its illustrious past mark the furnishings. Each room is adorned with vintage black and white photographs cataloguing Hollywood’s social history dating back to the 1920’s. When you stay at The Walkabout, discover its delightful Art Moderne ambiance and see how its past has been preserved to its original beauty. The Walkabout is known for its remarkable beachfront setting and legendary Hollywood Beach, Florida hotel location - on the Broadwalk. Named one of America's best beach Broadwalks by Travel + Leisure, the Hollywood Beach Broadwalk is more than 2 miles long, sizzling with energy that embodies the diversity Hollywood Beach stands for - bustling sidewalk cafes, unique shops, multi-hued streamline Art Moderne buildings, and unforgettable ocean views. Step out from the Broadwalk and spend the day settled on white sands, by a glistening ocean on one of South Florida’s most beautiful beaches. Still, the most popular pastime on the beach is simply savoring the charming character of this truly unique setting, so reserve a day for relaxing to the sound of soothing waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your WalkAbout Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walkabout Beach Hotel Hollywood
Walk About Beach Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WalkAbout Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.