We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WalkAbout Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added WalkAbout Beach Resort to your Saves list
WalkAbout Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
kentucky
1 review
“Great Escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

Had a fantastic stay at the Walk About Beach Resort. The building has so much character and the rooms are very nice. The staff was exceptional. They had excellent suggestions for both restaurants and activities to do while in town. Very good location right on the beach and boardwalk. We would highly recommend to anyone looking for a great weekend escape or vacation this would be a great choice.
I can't say that I have been to many hotels where I'd give them 5 out of 5 in every department. It's a great little boutique hotel all the way around. Everyone working there makes you feel very welcome. I especially liked the cleanliness of the hotel. From the manicured courtyard area, wooden deck chairs and a Tiki Bar just steps from your door everything was perfect. Two thumbs up from me. I wouldn't waste my time and money going to one of those 200 room hotels when there are great options such as this hotel.
Soon to return.

Casey/ Bill Urmstrum
Canada

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    30
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
39
78
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

Fantastic relatively contemporary suite apartment with a sea view - amazing!! All we needed for us and our 2 year old son. Stone's throw from the beach and an enjoyable authentic (Seminole Indian built) Tiki bar. Live music (not too late) on Fri and Saturday added to the fun. If we come back to Florida again this is where we'll stay. Staff very friendly and v. eager to help.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollywood, fl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

The WalkAbout hotel has the best Tiki Bar on the beach. Great bartenders beautiful and friendly! And the cast of usual characters that hang out there are always good for a laugh and treat visitors and locals like one of the gang!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

The location on the Broadwalk could not be better - right on the beach, yet on a quiet spot of the walk that's more family-friendly. The staff are amazingly hospitable and the rooms were immaculate and renovated beautifully. There's all new furniture, new beds, plasma screens hung on walls (in the 1bedroom , you'll have a plasma in the bedroom and the living room). If you like to relax with a drink or cool yourself off in the middle of a hot day, the tiki bar is the perfect place to visit. You can pull up to the bar in the shade of the grass roof and watch the turquoise waves.
In the winter months there's a trolley that stops 20 feet from the hotel that costs a dollar for riding all day, which takes you to the amazing downtown Hollywood, where there are loads of restaurants and lots of music and entertainment right on the streets. A perfect place for dinner.
By the way, you cannot possibly stay here without having breakfast at Giorgio's Bakery on the Intercoastal Waterway. It's about a 15-minute walk and well worth it. Cheap food, lots of seats with amazing water views.
As for other restaurants, the famous "Le Tub" wasn't all that great.
Again, you cannot beat the price, the view, the service and the impeccable cleanliness, all of which for a place that, if any closer to the beach, the waves would lap at its foundation! (by the way, we looked at a lot of small, privately-owned hotels while we were there, many of which with websites proclaiming to be amazing and ocean-front. don't believe everything you read; most are not amazing, nor beach front).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

Any time I'm back in Hollywood, I'll definitely stay at the Walk About!
It's right on the Broadwalk, room was very spacious and clean with excellent views of the ocean. Really convenient with personable service.
The room was decorated with old photos of the area, which was a nice touch.
If you're looking for something unique and NOT a chain, Walk About is the place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

I've never written a review before, but wanted to make an effort because I really enjoyed this hotel.

We came in for one night only as we were going to a conference in the Keys.

We didn't have an ocean view room, but suite #3. (It didn't matter, as we got there late, and walked the broadwalk just before sundown.) The suite was decorated really well. It had white slip-covered comfortable furniture, nice mirrors, lamps, fun art, etc. I like the vintage bathroom. I also loved that they painted the ceiling sky blue!

I would request a second floor ocean view room when we visit again. We had breakfast next door at the hotel and enjoyed the ocean.

The exterior needs painting, but it may be in the works. We didn't go to the Tiki bar, but people seemed to have fun. The staff told us if they were too noisy to let them know.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

This place is a gem and certainly worthy of the excellent rating.

For the 4th of July, a group of friends and we decided to spend the weekend at the Florida "shore." We all rented rooms at the
Walk-About not knowing what to expect. Boy, were we suprised!
The manager, our official host, could win the award for
Mr. Congeniality. So accomodating and kind, he made all of us feel like we were at the Four Seasons.

Recently purchased, this hotel is a jewel that's beginning to shine! Many renovations are in the works to restore this hotel to its original "60's" design, but we loved it just the way it is, as well. Right on the boardwalk, the views are spectacular and the accomodations and affordability can't be beat! Each of our friends independantly reached the same conclusion....we can't wait for next year. We'll certainly be right on back to the Walk- About

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WalkAbout Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WalkAbout Beach Resort

Address: 2500 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#9 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — WalkAbout Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WalkAbout Beach Resort is a cozy family-owned and operated hotel located ON THE BROADWALK in Hollywood Beach, Florida. Our boutique, 8-room hotel was built in 1950, and it is one of the last remaining beachfront hotels designed in the Art Deco style.Our guests enjoy a wide array of amenities that include: ocean front rooms, a large tiki bar in our courtyard, seating alongside the Hollywood broadwalk, scenic views of the beach, nearby shops and restaurants, free wifi, free cable, on-site washer/dryer, live music, and fresh linens daily. Our staff is extremely friendly and professional, and we are always nearby to assist with any special requests. Hollywood Beach is one of the premier beach destinations in the world. The city provides twenty-one lifeguard towers and eight first-aid stations. An icon of Art Moderne architecture on Hollywood Beach’s famed Broadwalk, The Walkabout Beach Resort, is a classic 1940’s boutique hotel. Those who have visited claim it has the perfect blend of characteristics: chic, warm and inviting, glamorous, and tastefully modernized.To experience The Walkabout Beach Resort, is to experience Hollywood Beach at its best. In keeping with its classic style, eight oceanfront guest rooms are immaculately styled with the elegance of another era – wooden and terrazzo floors, interiors with rich textures, soft pink monochromatic colors, and decorations with a nod to its illustrious past mark the furnishings. Each room is adorned with vintage black and white photographs cataloguing Hollywood’s social history dating back to the 1920’s. When you stay at The Walkabout, discover its delightful Art Moderne ambiance and see how its past has been preserved to its original beauty. The Walkabout is known for its remarkable beachfront setting and legendary Hollywood Beach, Florida hotel location - on the Broadwalk. Named one of America's best beach Broadwalks by Travel + Leisure, the Hollywood Beach Broadwalk is more than 2 miles long, sizzling with energy that embodies the diversity Hollywood Beach stands for - bustling sidewalk cafes, unique shops, multi-hued streamline Art Moderne buildings, and unforgettable ocean views. Step out from the Broadwalk and spend the day settled on white sands, by a glistening ocean on one of South Florida’s most beautiful beaches. Still, the most popular pastime on the beach is simply savoring the charming character of this truly unique setting, so reserve a day for relaxing to the sound of soothing waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your WalkAbout Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walkabout Beach Hotel Hollywood
Walk About Beach Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WalkAbout Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.