We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Hollywood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WalkAbout Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added WalkAbout Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
WalkAbout Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
La Paz, Bolivia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best Hotel in Hollywood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I spend three nights at the walkabout in July with my husband and 14 year old son. The hotel, service, and views were beyond my expectation. I had the most amazing view of the ocean! The room was very clean and spacious. I did not cook but the room had a small kitchen and included all amenities. The hotel tiki bar served a variety of drinks from beer to cocktails. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to accommodate my family needs. I am looking forward to my stay at the walkabout next summer!

Room Tip: I stayed in room #5 on the second floor. This room has the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    28
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
37
78
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great small motel from the 50's. All redone to feel very much like home. Unbelievable view right on the beach and boardwalk. Great staff also. Tiki bar not so good. No name brand liquors, didn't even recognize names of the few bottles. Little to none on mixers. Stairs need railings.

Room Tip: Only 8 rooms. Room on north end probably the best. NO pool or restaurant. Is next door to the Marr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean, and the staff were accommodating. The location was the best. You could walk right out to the beach, or stroll down the boardwalk. They have a tiki bar right outside and very convenient parking. Everything was awesome!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Tower Suite - Super sweet beach view
Overall: Positive, will return and recommend

Likes:
Price, View, Clean, Quiet, Location, Interior Design.

Dislikes:
Security-Anyone has access to all the property at night
Toilet flushed very slow but worked.
No door flags for maid service and surprise maid visits were frequent.

How would I change this hotel?
Could be made into a boutique hotel with security and personal attentive service.

Room Tip: 5 and 8 are the second floor tower suites, we were in 1 on first floor and just loved it. I wish I c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I always use tripadvisor to make a decision when booking a hotel for the first time, and this is the first time I have been compelled to leave my own review. My family has been staying at hotel a few miles away for years, and this year we wanted a new hotel on the broadwalk. I am so happy about our choice. The view is amazing, every single staff member is a joy to speak with, and the rooms are clean and updated by small Hollywood hotel standards. My mom was worried about the tiki bar and the noise because I have a three year old, but it was charming, never too noisy, and such an added bonus. The rooms have everything you need with well equipped kithchens in the one bedroom suite (no oven). The Marriott next door is a great place to eat. You can rent comfy chairs and umbrellas on the beach right in front of the hotel. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Best view room 8 but you have to climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This Hotel is literally on the Hollywood boardwalk about 10 steps from the sand. It's a small hotel with only 8 rooms, so don't expect all the amenities of a Hilton or Marriott but you get the feeling like you own a condo at the beach. We rented here for 4th of July weekend and it was amazing, we were able to see fireworks on the beach 15 steps from our front door. You can spend all day on the beach without having to worry about carrying all your stuff home or even up a large hotel. Restaurants and bars are all within walking distance, in fact the hotel even has a tiki-bar if you don't want to walk. The room was very modern and cozy, with a kitchenette, 1 bedroom and 1 sleeper sofa. 2 Flat Screen TVs, and free-wifi included.

The only cons really were that the hotel does not have an ice-machine to fill your cooler and the bar doesn't really provide much more than a small bag of ice, and secondly the AC in our living room did not cool as much as the bedroom AC. Could be because it was 98 degrees outside, but nonetheless its a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Go for the suite facing the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Walkabout Beach Resort for a few days and we absolutely loved it! First location, right on the boardwalk with direct beach access. The rooms are beautiful, clean and well maintained. The rooms are large with plenty of space to move around, we stayed in a one bedroom with our teenage daughter and provided more than enough space for all of us and our luggage :-) Some of the reviews I had read complained a little about the bathrooms, but personally I thought it added to the charm. I simply loved the throw back motif of the hotel. I personally liked the tiki bar onsite, it was a great place to grab a drink, chat with the locals and relax, for those who might be worried about noise from the tiki bar, don't. It was never loud or rowdy, and they shut it down early out of respect for their guests. Honestly, I couldn't find anything bad to say about this place. We loved it and can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WalkAbout Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WalkAbout Beach Resort

Address: 2500 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WalkAbout Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WalkAbout Beach Resort is a cozy family-owned and operated hotel located ON THE BROADWALK in Hollywood Beach, Florida. Our boutique, 8-room hotel was built in 1950, and it is one of the last remaining beachfront hotels designed in the Art Deco style.Our guests enjoy a wide array of amenities that include: ocean front rooms, a large tiki bar in our courtyard, seating alongside the Hollywood broadwalk, scenic views of the beach, nearby shops and restaurants, free wifi, free cable, on-site washer/dryer, live music, and fresh linens daily. Our staff is extremely friendly and professional, and we are always nearby to assist with any special requests. Hollywood Beach is one of the premier beach destinations in the world. The city provides twenty-one lifeguard towers and eight first-aid stations. An icon of Art Moderne architecture on Hollywood Beach’s famed Broadwalk, The Walkabout Beach Resort, is a classic 1940’s boutique hotel. Those who have visited claim it has the perfect blend of characteristics: chic, warm and inviting, glamorous, and tastefully modernized.To experience The Walkabout Beach Resort, is to experience Hollywood Beach at its best. In keeping with its classic style, eight oceanfront guest rooms are immaculately styled with the elegance of another era – wooden and terrazzo floors, interiors with rich textures, soft pink monochromatic colors, and decorations with a nod to its illustrious past mark the furnishings. Each room is adorned with vintage black and white photographs cataloguing Hollywood’s social history dating back to the 1920’s. When you stay at The Walkabout, discover its delightful Art Moderne ambiance and see how its past has been preserved to its original beauty. The Walkabout is known for its remarkable beachfront setting and legendary Hollywood Beach, Florida hotel location - on the Broadwalk. Named one of America's best beach Broadwalks by Travel + Leisure, the Hollywood Beach Broadwalk is more than 2 miles long, sizzling with energy that embodies the diversity Hollywood Beach stands for - bustling sidewalk cafes, unique shops, multi-hued streamline Art Moderne buildings, and unforgettable ocean views. Step out from the Broadwalk and spend the day settled on white sands, by a glistening ocean on one of South Florida’s most beautiful beaches. Still, the most popular pastime on the beach is simply savoring the charming character of this truly unique setting, so reserve a day for relaxing to the sound of soothing waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your WalkAbout Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walkabout Beach Hotel Hollywood
Walk About Beach Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WalkAbout Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.