We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View with a smile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WalkAbout Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added WalkAbout Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
WalkAbout Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Miami Lakes, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“View with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I always use tripadvisor to make a decision when booking a hotel for the first time, and this is the first time I have been compelled to leave my own review. My family has been staying at hotel a few miles away for years, and this year we wanted a new hotel on the broadwalk. I am so happy about our choice. The view is amazing, every single staff member is a joy to speak with, and the rooms are clean and updated by small Hollywood hotel standards. My mom was worried about the tiki bar and the noise because I have a three year old, but it was charming, never too noisy, and such an added bonus. The rooms have everything you need with well equipped kithchens in the one bedroom suite (no oven). The Marriott next door is a great place to eat. You can rent comfy chairs and umbrellas on the beach right in front of the hotel. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Best view room 8 but you have to climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    30
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
38
78
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This Hotel is literally on the Hollywood boardwalk about 10 steps from the sand. It's a small hotel with only 8 rooms, so don't expect all the amenities of a Hilton or Marriott but you get the feeling like you own a condo at the beach. We rented here for 4th of July weekend and it was amazing, we were able to see fireworks on the beach 15 steps from our front door. You can spend all day on the beach without having to worry about carrying all your stuff home or even up a large hotel. Restaurants and bars are all within walking distance, in fact the hotel even has a tiki-bar if you don't want to walk. The room was very modern and cozy, with a kitchenette, 1 bedroom and 1 sleeper sofa. 2 Flat Screen TVs, and free-wifi included.

The only cons really were that the hotel does not have an ice-machine to fill your cooler and the bar doesn't really provide much more than a small bag of ice, and secondly the AC in our living room did not cool as much as the bedroom AC. Could be because it was 98 degrees outside, but nonetheless its a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Go for the suite facing the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Walkabout Beach Resort for a few days and we absolutely loved it! First location, right on the boardwalk with direct beach access. The rooms are beautiful, clean and well maintained. The rooms are large with plenty of space to move around, we stayed in a one bedroom with our teenage daughter and provided more than enough space for all of us and our luggage :-) Some of the reviews I had read complained a little about the bathrooms, but personally I thought it added to the charm. I simply loved the throw back motif of the hotel. I personally liked the tiki bar onsite, it was a great place to grab a drink, chat with the locals and relax, for those who might be worried about noise from the tiki bar, don't. It was never loud or rowdy, and they shut it down early out of respect for their guests. Honestly, I couldn't find anything bad to say about this place. We loved it and can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I had only one night to spend on a whirlwind trip to Ft. Lauderdale, wanted to avoid a large chain hotel and wanted to enjoy a walk along the beach. This motel is perfectly located along the boardwalk and the beach. I get grossed out by motels / hotels in general, so cleanliness is paramount for me -- Walkabout fit the bill! The only minor detraction is that the bathroom was dated, but, again, very clean so it didn't matter. Another bonus was that my check- in and check-out was a breeze despite having to leave very early in the morning.

Room Tip: I stayed in room # 3---if you want an ocean view, I would suggest a different room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This motel is AMAZING!!!!!!! It is in the right spot for all the stores and restaurants. It is even away from a lot of the hussel and bussel of the boardwalk. I was little nervous because our room was right outside the bar but once you closed the door you couldn't hear anything! Gina in the office was such a great help. Sherry who cleans the rooms was absolutely amazing. She was very polite and personable. This is going to be a yearly spot for me and my family. I would recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time. The location is perfect as the beach is right out front. Cute tiki bar for drinks. The room was clean and like a little beach house, much better than a big chain hotel. Many restaurant choices along the broadwalk so no need for a car. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Arrived at 10am and despite a 3pm check-in, Sherry greeted my wife and I and took us straight to our room, #5. Early check-ins are wonderful and Sherry was super nice.
The room was as advertised. Clean, comfy and spacious with a million dollar view. Doesn't have the upgrades other high end chains do, but your paying for the location. King size bed was comfy and felt clean. Kitchenette and bathroom are dated but worked fine since we spent all our time on the beach and at tiki bar!
A Marriott is right next door and the bar and restaurant are fabulous. Great coffee bar and even better food, prepared by executive chefs. We actually ate breakfast (fl lobster omelette), lunch(tuna poke and all beef hot dog) and dinner( crab/lobster cakes) there on our last day. The service was excellent. Loved hitting beach with fresh drinks from the bar, i guess its ok to drink on the beach as long as its in a cup.
Ocean Alley's was another favorite, a 10 min walk south, try the calamari or the Seafood Salad(Stuffed Cabbage).
Overall, the Walkabout was a great place to stay. While it has some wear and tear,aka,character, it is clean, comfy and spacious. We loved all the staff who were great the whole time. It's nice to get away from the chains and corporate resorts for a simple relaxing stay at a place with character. And oh ya, Location,Location,Location.
Adios

Room Tip: Room 5 upstairs looking over ocean,marriott and tiki bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WalkAbout Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WalkAbout Beach Resort

Address: 2500 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WalkAbout Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WalkAbout Beach Resort is a cozy family-owned and operated hotel located ON THE BROADWALK in Hollywood Beach, Florida. Our boutique, 8-room hotel was built in 1950, and it is one of the last remaining beachfront hotels designed in the Art Deco style.Our guests enjoy a wide array of amenities that include: ocean front rooms, a large tiki bar in our courtyard, seating alongside the Hollywood broadwalk, scenic views of the beach, nearby shops and restaurants, free wifi, free cable, on-site washer/dryer, live music, and fresh linens daily. Our staff is extremely friendly and professional, and we are always nearby to assist with any special requests. Hollywood Beach is one of the premier beach destinations in the world. The city provides twenty-one lifeguard towers and eight first-aid stations. An icon of Art Moderne architecture on Hollywood Beach’s famed Broadwalk, The Walkabout Beach Resort, is a classic 1940’s boutique hotel. Those who have visited claim it has the perfect blend of characteristics: chic, warm and inviting, glamorous, and tastefully modernized.To experience The Walkabout Beach Resort, is to experience Hollywood Beach at its best. In keeping with its classic style, eight oceanfront guest rooms are immaculately styled with the elegance of another era – wooden and terrazzo floors, interiors with rich textures, soft pink monochromatic colors, and decorations with a nod to its illustrious past mark the furnishings. Each room is adorned with vintage black and white photographs cataloguing Hollywood’s social history dating back to the 1920’s. When you stay at The Walkabout, discover its delightful Art Moderne ambiance and see how its past has been preserved to its original beauty. The Walkabout is known for its remarkable beachfront setting and legendary Hollywood Beach, Florida hotel location - on the Broadwalk. Named one of America's best beach Broadwalks by Travel + Leisure, the Hollywood Beach Broadwalk is more than 2 miles long, sizzling with energy that embodies the diversity Hollywood Beach stands for - bustling sidewalk cafes, unique shops, multi-hued streamline Art Moderne buildings, and unforgettable ocean views. Step out from the Broadwalk and spend the day settled on white sands, by a glistening ocean on one of South Florida’s most beautiful beaches. Still, the most popular pastime on the beach is simply savoring the charming character of this truly unique setting, so reserve a day for relaxing to the sound of soothing waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your WalkAbout Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walkabout Beach Hotel Hollywood
Walk About Beach Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WalkAbout Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.