We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly beachfront hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WalkAbout Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added WalkAbout Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
WalkAbout Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Bar Harbor, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly beachfront hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here in January. We were very happy to be staying at a smaller hotel instead of a high rise. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean and well-appointed and we even had a kitchen. We enjoyed meeting some locals and visitors at the tiki bar, and loved being able to walk right out onto the beach. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    25
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
35
77
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoy smaller, boutique properties so after reading many reviews on TA I thought we would like the Walkabout and we definitely did. We were going on a cruise out of FLL so it was a great pre-cruise hotel. We arrived very late 11 pm and our room was open with the key waiting for us. The bartender from the Tiki Bar escorted us up to our room. We spoke to Gina prior to arrival so we knew exactly which room was ours.
We loved the spacious 2 room suite. So much nicer than a basic hotel room. I loved all the simple yet tasteful decorations. The bed was very comfortable, just what we needed after a long day of travel. The bathroom was small, but clean so who cares. They provide really nice tolietries and the towels were wonderful. Nice upgrated features.
I used the free wifi to finish up some work and it was great. It was secured so you just have to ask for the password. The beach chairs and towels are a great perk.
As many other reviewers have stated the hotel is located on the quieter end of the boardwalk but we liked that. It is a bit of a walk to most of the restaurants but it wasn't a big deal at all. The Marriott is located right next door if you want a quick bite, but it wasn't cheap and the food was just ok. If you need a cab you can always walk over to the Marriott as they have a cab stand available.
We were hoping to hang out at the Tiki Bar on Saturday night and listen to the band, but it started to rain. Oh well it is a reason to come back.
We did venture down the boardwalk a bit to Jakes Tacos and they had a great band. Food was pretty good.
My only negative is there is no elevator so getting the heavy suitcases up and down the steps was not great but really no big deal for us. However if someone is a bit older or unable to do steps it could be an issue.
If you are looking for a property that has great service with a nice, large suite, then you will be happy. If you are looking for a large properties with a restaurant, fitness center, etc this is not the place for you. We'll definitely be back. We loved it!

Room Tip: First floor would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunt Valley, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

One of the best kept secrets in Hollywood! Located directly on a quieter section of the broadwalk, just a few steps from the beach. A beautiful ocean vista from turret style windows with bright sunshine throughout the day followed by the sound of waves & coastal breezes at night.
We LOVED the pink color of the hotel. Our suite was decorated with simple beach decor, some historical Hollywood photographs, large mirrors to enhance the lighting, window blinds, beach chairs, towels, and a few basic kitchen appliances...

Staff on site were all very pleasant, sociable and accommodating.

It is an older hotel, so the electric and hot water heater are not as one would expect in a larger new hotel,.... not really an issue unless you are looking to take a long hot shower or use more than a few appliances at once.

We only had one concern....A big downside for those travelers like ourselves that prefer open windows was the Tiki Bar located on site.
The noise and the smell of smoke from patrons was somewhat of a disappointment considering the price of our room. (There are wall AC units in both the bedroom and the common area of the suite, but unless its a humid off-season visit, they'd seem to take away from the simple aspect of enjoying the coastal breeze at a beachfront hotel, and they are a bit loud when turned on) Some may like the aspect of having a Tiki Bar on site, and it is quite a unique setting on the broadwalk, but for those like ourselves seeking quiet in the evenings (or even a family with young children), its definitely something to be aware of....

Our only suggestions for improvement would be to make the entire establishment (including the common areas & Tiki Bar ) NON SMOKING, and to limit the happy hour to early evening hours to enhance the tranquil location of this wonderful little boutique hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We planned a winter escape and picked a spot on the map, and Hollywood was it. After reading reviews, we chose Walkabout. We were only staying for 2 days and they didnt require a minimum stay. When we arrived, I was a little nervous. Its not much to look at from the loading area. However, we were pleasantly surprised! Gina, manager, was so helpful and gracious. From complimentary beach towels and beach chairs, she even gave us the name of a great restaurant for dinner. Our 2 room suite was clean, and very large. While we were right above the tiki bar and the broadwalk was right out front, we never had a problem with noise.
Overall, a real jewel and a piece of old Florida.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Excellent choice. We had a superb 4 days stay. The staff is exceptional, it shows they really do care about providing you with best service. Thank's to Sherry!
Best place to be in Holliwood with a family, we hade a suite deluxe on the ground floor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, Wyoming
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Pre-cruise to soak up the sun for three days and we found the "Best" little beach resort ever via the internet! This little resort is ranked #8 in all of Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood FL and it is our opinion, it should be rated #1, spotless very clean rooms. We caught a cab from FLL for $35.00 for two couples to the WalkAbout Beach resort, paid $20.00 more for our Rooms # 1 & 4 with a panaoramic view of the boardwalk and beach, was so worth it. Noree checked us in and then helped us 4 with our luggage, so sweet! Jesseen (sp) worked the Tiki Bar while we were there and we wanted to just keep her and take her home with us to Wyoming! She is the sweetest! Loved visiting with the local who stopped in daily at the Tiki Bar. Sheri in housekeeping, was always in the background, but always making sure we had everything we needed...and what a big welcoming smile we received everytime we encountered one another! Kitchenette offered the makings for coffee w/Coffee maker for our morning brew. We rented Cabanas for $26.00 for the day on the beach, even got to witness a wedding right on the beach! was a treat. Walking the boardwalk, stopping in at Tiki Bars, listening to the music by local musicians, shopping at the little shops/boutiques along the way was very relaxing and very safe! Many people walking, running, biking, skating all hours of the day with police present periodically! Ate at Nick's Bar and Grill two nights...very busy, the seafood was excellent! We will be sharing our discovery of this "little bit of paradise" with our families...5 stars no doubt! Leonard and Renee' ...Allen & Ruth

Room Tip: Pay the extra $20.00 for rooms # 1 & 4 ground level, panoramic review of boardwalk and beach! w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went here and it was my new place to go on Hollywood beach. Will never stay anywhere else. Is so charming and such a perfect local and very clean. Thank you! Great people great decor best spot on the beach

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WalkAbout Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WalkAbout Beach Resort

Address: 2500 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#5 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WalkAbout Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WalkAbout Beach Resort is a cozy family-owned and operated hotel located ON THE BROADWALK in Hollywood Beach, Florida. Our boutique, 8-room hotel was built in 1950, and it is one of the last remaining beachfront hotels designed in the Art Deco style.Our guests enjoy a wide array of amenities that include: ocean front rooms, a large tiki bar in our courtyard, seating alongside the Hollywood broadwalk, scenic views of the beach, nearby shops and restaurants, free wifi, free cable, on-site washer/dryer, live music, and fresh linens daily. Our staff is extremely friendly and professional, and we are always nearby to assist with any special requests. Hollywood Beach is one of the premier beach destinations in the world. The city provides twenty-one lifeguard towers and eight first-aid stations. An icon of Art Moderne architecture on Hollywood Beach’s famed Broadwalk, The Walkabout Beach Resort, is a classic 1940’s boutique hotel. Those who have visited claim it has the perfect blend of characteristics: chic, warm and inviting, glamorous, and tastefully modernized.To experience The Walkabout Beach Resort, is to experience Hollywood Beach at its best. In keeping with its classic style, eight oceanfront guest rooms are immaculately styled with the elegance of another era – wooden and terrazzo floors, interiors with rich textures, soft pink monochromatic colors, and decorations with a nod to its illustrious past mark the furnishings. Each room is adorned with vintage black and white photographs cataloguing Hollywood’s social history dating back to the 1920’s. When you stay at The Walkabout, discover its delightful Art Moderne ambiance and see how its past has been preserved to its original beauty. The Walkabout is known for its remarkable beachfront setting and legendary Hollywood Beach, Florida hotel location - on the Broadwalk. Named one of America's best beach Broadwalks by Travel + Leisure, the Hollywood Beach Broadwalk is more than 2 miles long, sizzling with energy that embodies the diversity Hollywood Beach stands for - bustling sidewalk cafes, unique shops, multi-hued streamline Art Moderne buildings, and unforgettable ocean views. Step out from the Broadwalk and spend the day settled on white sands, by a glistening ocean on one of South Florida’s most beautiful beaches. Still, the most popular pastime on the beach is simply savoring the charming character of this truly unique setting, so reserve a day for relaxing to the sound of soothing waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your WalkAbout Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walkabout Beach Hotel Hollywood
Walk About Beach Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WalkAbout Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.