We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It gets an extra star for the décor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americana 50's Diner

Americana 50's Diner
1730 U.S. 19 North, Holiday, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 35 Restaurants in Holiday
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Description: phone: 727-9427880
New Port Richey, Florida
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“It gets an extra star for the décor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Looks like an old-fashioned diner, inside and out. Aluminum exterior, checkered white and red floor tiles, red formica tables and red and white booths make this place iconic. And don't forget the statue of Elvis that says, "Thank you very much" in his memorable voice.

We were greeted by a very pleasant and capable waitress, who seated us and also served our meals. Food was served quickly, but not rushed. My partner and I both started with avgolemano soup, which was thick, creamy and lemony, and then moved on to the salad bar. I would have preferred a choice other than iceberg lettuce, but the tomatoes and other vegetables were all fresh and cold. The bar also offerred potato and pasta salads and cottage cheese. The pot roast chef's special was delicious, although it was advertised with potato pancakes, but served with mashed potatoes and gravy. They were out of stuffed peppers, so I ordered stuffed cabbage. It was more rice than meat, and somewhat dry. It could have used more than the dollop of tomato sauce that was spooned over the top. The mashed potatoes, however, were freshly made and quite good. Butterscotch pudding finished our meal.

While not exceptional, the food was certainly good and filling. And, considering the prices, quite a bargain.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    8
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, FL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nostalgic 50's decor, oldies music, good food, service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

If you are a fan of the 50's and 60's you will enjoy visiting this place. Elvis talks to you in the vestible, the Blues Brothers greet you and the oldies are playing in a comfortable volume level. The service is good, food quality is good, prices are below average for this area, and breakfast is especially tasty and there is plenty on the plate. Other than that, it is a typical New Jersey/Greek owned diner, so if you are from that area of the country it will remind you of home. Cleanliness is only fair in my experience here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Offers fast, delicious, and reasonably priced food. We eat here often and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Olden time food, prices and hospitality!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This diner has the jukebox, the ambiance and the prices of another era...... and huge portions. I feel like I'm home when I come here. Great (HUGE!!) sandwiches, soups, omelettes, desserts..... I esp. love their Manhattan Clam chowder. Down home friendly service and I always leave feeling like I get a great deal!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Your basic diner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We instantly presumed this is a family-run place because the host who greeted and seated us was about nine years old. This is your basic diner, a bit on the shabby side with many booths in need of repair and what you might call an eclectic decor. Our server was friendly, service was quick, and breakfast was decent. We probably wouldn't go there for diner but as a breakfast spot it was adequate.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Americana 50's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Americana 50's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana 50's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.