We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good camping grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jonathan Dickinson State Park

Jonathan Dickinson State Park
16450 S.E. Federal Highway, Hobe Sound, FL 33455
772-546-2771
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Hobe Sound
Type: State Parks, Gear rentals
Activities: Canoeing, Biking, Hiking
Attraction details
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good camping grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Went camping this past wekend with 3 other families. The camp grounds are nice. Big enough to comfortably fit two large family tents per site. Each site has electrical and water hook ups as well as a fire pit and picnic bench. The bathrooms were decent. Kept fairly clean. The water wasnt hot at all, maybe luke warm at best, but it was so hot in the day that it felt refreshing.
We rented canoes and the kids had a blast. Saw lots of fish and gators. Its 3 people per canoe so if you are a family of four, you will have to rent 2 canoes (one adult in each canoe) or take turns in one.
There is also horseback riding but we didnt get a chance to do that..maybe next year.
The only think I didnt love was that the RV's are in the same area as tents. This seems to be the same set up in many parks, but we have been to some where the tents have a separate area from the RV's and I prefer that. While the bushes formed a nice barrier so you had some privacy, when you walked around there were RV's everywhere.
Overall we had a great time. We arent avid campers...we go once a year with the same 3 families, but we liked this park enough that we are planning on going there again next year to get in more exploring and the horseback riding that we missed..

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    39
    12
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Jonathan Dickinson state park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Recently visited the park and was very impressed with the trails and the sites.
This park is so beautiful, lots of wild life and not many people (at least when we went).
There is overnight camping, you can bring your own rv or just set up a tent in the camping area (we are definitely coming back when it gets cooler).

The park is huge we walked and walked and never saw the end of it. There is also canoeing, and kayaking.
We took a picnic basket and a cooler and had a wonderful time. Took lots of pictures too.
I highly recommend this park for families of young and old a like. There is something for eveyone to do here.
Note: Super interesting history too. Don't want to spoil it so go find out!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, MI
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A photo of the big gator”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We've been to this park twice and took the river tour ($18.78 for an adult) each time on the Loxahatchee Queen II. The tours are scheduled 4 times a day, 9, 11, 1, and 3. Depending on the tide, the boat may not be able to navigate the river to Trapper Nelson's cabin (it's a good tour even if you don't see the cabin). Call the river tour company (561) - 746-1466 for reservations and tide information regarding the cabin accessibility at a specific time. Photos and information regarding Trapper Nelson, as well as other exhibits and displays, can be seen in the Elsa Kimbell Environmental Education and Research Center. On the river tour, you will see lots of ospreys, their nests and other wildlife. We were fortunate to see a big gator (photo).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Biking,canoeing and kayaking...hiking not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

First off..this is a really nice Park. It has really interesting geography and landscape. Very large, very beautiful (especially by the water).

The park is well suited for just about every activity. I only have one problem with it. I like to hike and geocache. The trails are poorly improved (most not much than faint foot paths). Then tend to switch back in open fields. There is not much shade and can be very exposed and hot. It seems like most trails are through low scrub areas with not much shade.

The trails would be great for a bike...but for hikers they are pretty spartan.

I have never camped here but I found no place for Tent camping that was not very exposed to the road noise and the nearby railroad. There is no place to camp away from all that.

The Nature Center is really interesting btw. Very interesting for grade school age kids. Halloween time they always have a demonstration Fire as they burn away the dead forest material. The Fire department lets kids ride on the Fire trucks and there are lots of activities.

There is a camp store with food and sundries for park guests. Small groceries store essentially.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Dickinson worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We brought a rented tandem to the park one day, then returned another day to paddle a canoe up to Trapper Nelson's site up the Loxahatchee River. It was a grand adventure, and we saw two alligators and a manatee family on the river. They have both kayaks and canoes, and we also checked out cabin rentals on the park--nice units for the price of a cheap hotel room. Units 6 & 7 are more private, sleep four, and have covered balconies.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jonathan Dickinson State Park also viewed

 

Been to Jonathan Dickinson State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jonathan Dickinson State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.