We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biking,canoeing and kayaking...hiking not so much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jonathan Dickinson State Park

Jonathan Dickinson State Park
16450 S.E. Federal Highway, Hobe Sound, FL 33455
772-546-2771
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Canoeing, Biking, Hiking
Attraction details
Jensen Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Biking,canoeing and kayaking...hiking not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

First off..this is a really nice Park. It has really interesting geography and landscape. Very large, very beautiful (especially by the water).

The park is well suited for just about every activity. I only have one problem with it. I like to hike and geocache. The trails are poorly improved (most not much than faint foot paths). Then tend to switch back in open fields. There is not much shade and can be very exposed and hot. It seems like most trails are through low scrub areas with not much shade.

The trails would be great for a bike...but for hikers they are pretty spartan.

I have never camped here but I found no place for Tent camping that was not very exposed to the road noise and the nearby railroad. There is no place to camp away from all that.

The Nature Center is really interesting btw. Very interesting for grade school age kids. Halloween time they always have a demonstration Fire as they burn away the dead forest material. The Fire department lets kids ride on the Fire trucks and there are lots of activities.

There is a camp store with food and sundries for park guests. Small groceries store essentially.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    59
    17
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Dickinson worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We brought a rented tandem to the park one day, then returned another day to paddle a canoe up to Trapper Nelson's site up the Loxahatchee River. It was a grand adventure, and we saw two alligators and a manatee family on the river. They have both kayaks and canoes, and we also checked out cabin rentals on the park--nice units for the price of a cheap hotel room. Units 6 & 7 are more private, sleep four, and have covered balconies.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Went to Boy Scout Camp here 40 years ago...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Still very cool. Take the boat trip tour up to the old fihsermans camp. Really cool. Just watch out for low tide cause sometimes the boat gets stuck! Good famliy trip.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Traffic, trains and RVs mar the camping experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you are lulled to sleep by the sound of highway traffic, snoring campers who are too closely cramped next to your site, and whistling trains going by, than this is the camp for you. There seems to be no backwoods tent camping option and you therefore have no privacy and must also camp on hard gravel plots just 10 feet from other campers. The park is scenic but the camp landscape is barren and the skyline is blotted with giant hunming RVs. We were awakened by various sounds but my favorite was the vaccum cleaner someone nearby was using at 1am. Don't tent camp here. I will not be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fire Fest - a special event”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was a great event at the State Park. They had a hay ride, bounce houses, games, and other seasonal exhibits. The theme was about prescribed fires so they had the fire department there and kids could climb into the fire truck. Other events cost an additional small fee.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jonathan Dickinson State Park also viewed

 

Been to Jonathan Dickinson State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jonathan Dickinson State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.