We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hobe Sound National Widlife Refuge - Cutest little park ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hobe Sound National Wildlife Refuge

Hobe Sound National Wildlife Refuge
13640 SE Federal Hwy., Hobe Sound, FL 33475
772-546-6141
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Miami, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Hobe Sound National Widlife Refuge - Cutest little park ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a lovely visit at this park. The staff is mostly young people with tons of enthusiasm for the wildlife they take care of. They are knowledgeable and happy to share anything you want to know about the animals they have in the Nature center. Outside we saw an owls nest with baby owls! Mom was supposed to be nearby but we did not see her. I love the trails, you sort of have to go up the trail, some of it has sandy parts but it was easy to hike. I am not the most athletic person but I was still able to go up and down the little hills and down to the little beach area they have below. The beach area is lovely and it has a couple of benches right by the shoreline. There is a wonderful breeze that hits you the moment you clear the trees. The beach in the section we were in is a river, not an ocean beach but still beautiful with wonderful sail boats going by. I saw people of all ages enjoying the park. Even though there is a bit of climbing and going down some stairs it is perfectly manageable, just take your time. I love that the park was not crowded at all, hope you try it soon.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Québec city area
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Warm on this pleasant January day. We find the Hobe Observation deck a nice place to get a picture of this deserted WW2 training camp. Several miles down the road (get directions from the ranger, the map isn't sufficiently clear) to the parc we find bicycle, hiking and horse trails. You can go on a wagon ride with a team of horses, or rent a horse and take to the trails with the guide on this Sunday. Better to check if this is only on weekends! Generous camp grounds. We actually saw a sea otter and a submerged 6 foot alligator. Well worth the 6$ fee. A nice place to have the family bicyle off some energy since everything here is flat.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our Exclusive Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

this is a great little beach that the locals like to frequent. It is never crowded and is very private. The big drawback is the lack of water, bring your own to drink and to rinse off after a swim.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“If you love animals go here...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you love animals you'll love this refuge. Not just people but the animals love it too and are well cared for.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Educational & Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My first visit here was with my daughter's class and liked it so much we visited as a family.Two different experiences but both educational and a nice place on the river to visit.The staff is very friendly and helpful and will answer any questions you might have.The biggest suprise for me was some of the rehabilitated wildlife that was on exhibit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobe Sound National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Hobe Sound National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hobe Sound National Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.