We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Vietnamese place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Papaya

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Green Papaya
16893 NW 67th Ave, Hialeah, FL 33015-4203
305-826-5216
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 268 Restaurants in Hialeah
Restaurant details
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favorite Vietnamese place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Green Papaya is in the shopping center right across the street from my apt. I'm there at least once a week. Everything on the menu is delicious! I know, I've had everything on the menu. My favorites are the roast duck soup, the special fried rice and the summer rolls. My mouth is watering!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Ordered Pho. Only one selection available on the Broth was weak and meat almost non-existent. Average at best.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“18% gratuity automatically added?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Visited the restaurant today because the kids wanted Vietnamnese food after 7 days of fast food and steaks. Based on the review on this site and being the only Vietnamese restaurant in Hialeah, FL , we decided to give the place a try. The place was small, a bit crowed as there were 2 other large parties (10+ each) in the restaurant, it took some time for the food to come, tasted ok, nothing special, the soup was cold, asked for reheat. When I  get the bill i noticed there was 18% gratuity automatically added? When I question the owner about this, He brought out the menu and pointed to the small fine print "18% gratuity may be added to the bill" , I then questioned him about "may be added", no where on the menu stated that it was mandatory, we had 2 adults, 2 teenagers , 1 small kid, and I don't believe we fit into the " large party" as  claimed by the restaurant owner, the response from the owner was ' it is my restaurant rule, like or not the 18% is added, and the waitress lives on this because I don't pay her any salary/ wages...." . I personally think this it a whole bunch of Bu#%S&@%. Just a heads up,  If you are going to visit this place, just make sure you question about  the 18% gratuity before ordering your food. I believe the gratuity should be given at free will based on the services received, as for my self, this will be the first and last time dine at Green Papaya in Hialeah. ( just to add, the service provided by the waitress was great, 15-18% tipping is reasonable, I just don't like to be forced into tipping and been BS by the owner about he is not paying the waitress, and she is solely depending on the tips ???.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent and cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is not a big restaurant is japanese food , the prices are good and everytime that my husband and i go we eat the special fried rice when you try that rice your not going to eat chinese fried anymore is so fresh and so good its amazing

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
211 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good vietnamese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I was a regular customer of Green Papaya for years until I found a replacement closer to home. The restaurant is family run with the owner running the kitchen. The prices are moderate, they are not cheap however the food is pretty good. I personally preferred the lemmon grass pork shop and their fried rice. The location is not the greatest when it comes to parking as it is a very busy shopping plaza.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Papaya also viewed

 

Been to Green Papaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Papaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.