We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, huge quantity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reds Restaurant

Reds Restaurant
8411 N Carl G Rose Hwy, Hernando, FL 34442-2130
352-344-4322
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Hernando
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Small local restaurant that my parents, who live in Ocala, go to. My husband and I stopped at for breakfast on 12/23/11. Worth stopping at.
Florida
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great food, huge quantity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We ate here with two friends. Average prices, great food. They close at 2 p.m. Serve breakfast all the time. When we return my wife wants to try their green tomato wrap. Breakfasts are great. I ordered a half-order of sausage and biscuits and it was HUGE!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    21
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Worth the drive from Ocala!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Excellent food, friendly service. The owner works the front and even sat us! Huge portions, reasonable prices. Homey atmosphere with details abound; from the inside cracker style decor to the Koi Pond out front.
My choice will always be a Christian family owned restaurant over a national chain any day!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Local "Hotspot" that satisfies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Open for lunch only, so arrive early to get a table! Line accumulates at the door as the afternoon approaches 3pm. Why? This is Florida ambiance at it's best, with great food to boot! Whether you sit at the counter, or are lucky enough to get a table, you will be vey glad that you have finally found Florida hospitality!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We visited this restaurant with our relatives who live in Ocala. The menu is varied with many different choices for food. We really enjoyed our meal there and plan on returning when we visit Ocala again.
Out front, of the restaurant, is a pool that contains a variety of Koi fish. If you save your bread you can feed them. Such fun.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

You run out of eating options fast in Ocala, population 53491 in 2007, especially if you are on an extended stay. We pretty much ran out of nearby places and so looked further afield (20 miles or more). A search of brunch places had listed Reds Restaurant at the top of the pile. And it was worth the 25 minute drive. The corned beef hash was spot on (I haven't had this in at least 25 years), It was served with two eggs, your style, grits or potatoes, and your choice of breads or biscuits. One of my companions had the sausage and mozerella omelette with a side of fresh fruit and bread and the other could not go past the french toast. The last was so large a serve that it will also be breakfast for her tomorrow. There was a big crowd at the door but we did not have to wait for more than 10 minutes for our table. Service was efficient too. The place was filled mainly with family but included some motorcycling enthusiasts out for a morning ride and breakfast. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reds Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Reds Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reds Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.