We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Goodness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yearling Restaurant

The Yearling Restaurant
14501 East County Road 325, Hawthorne, FL 32640
352.466.3999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Hawthorne
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Inglis, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Southern Goodness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are here after the medieval fair at the Alachua County Fairgrounds. The man who greeted us was so friendly and has the nicest smile. Willie played on the guitar and it was wonderful. We ate from the lunch menu ( lunch is over at 5). I had the blackened grouper sandwich with cheddar grits and my husband had the sliced prime rib sandwich with onion rings- both delicious and filling. We will be back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    46
    16
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old Florida Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stopped here after a visit to the Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Historic State Park, which is a short drive and well worth a visit. Food at the Yearling was great. Suggest the appetizer sampler platter if you want to check out many of the local favorites including frog legs, gator tail, and friend green tomatoes. It's a lot of food so you may want to split something for the main course unless you are really hungry (we split the grouper sandwich which was fantastic). Take time to look around inside to see much of the local history on display. We noted that when we were there, the sign outside indicated they were only open Thursday through Sunday so check before you make the drive.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micanopy, Florida, United States
1 review
“Love Good Cracker Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Have visited the Yearling Restaurant many times and have always enjoyed this restaurant. My favorite dish is the Snapping Gator, fried gator tail in a hot sauce with cracker fries and a huge heap of cole slaw. Their version of a hamburger is actually top choice ground steak served with lettuce and tomato that is the best you'll eat anywhere. I also love the grouper sandwich and their seafood dinners. Mr. Willie Green plays North Florida's only authentic country blues in the front room and is quite a legend around here. They have a bluegrass band in the back dining room on Friday and Saturdays. Just a fun place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My son loved reading The Yearling so we decided to stop at the state park and have dinner at this restaurant. Great atmosphere, friendly service and tried gator and frog legs for the first time. Overall it was a great experience...and Willy on the guitar was awesome. Would recommend it and will try to stop in again on next trip to Florida.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Old Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This reminds those that remember it a bit of the real Old Florida. The food is great and the staff first class.Robert the owner always goes out of his way to make sure you are enjoying your food and your visit. Willie Green is as good as it gets for Blues and he is always right on target, not to mention that he is one of the finest down to earth people you could ever want to meet.
The cabins for rent are almost a trip back in time with antique everything in them. Makes me recall when I was growing up and we went anywhere in Florida for vacation.Very quiet and very peaceful.
That is why we make a point to vacation there every spring even though it is only 1 1/2 hours from our home.Give it a try and you will come back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Yearling Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Yearling Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yearling Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.