We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Several Small Issues Add-up to Unsatisfactory Stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hollywood/Aventura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hollywood/Aventura to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hollywood/Aventura
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Ansin Blvd., Hallandale Beach, FL 33009-3916   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Sacramento
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Several Small Issues Add-up to Unsatisfactory Stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Negatives:

1. Constant I-95 traffic noise
2. Construction noise; sawing outside; pipe/hammer banging inside
3. Dusty hallways from renovations being done on my floor.
4. Electrical outlet failure one night from 9PM to 6AM.
5. Refrigerator setting broken; froze drinks, ruined food.
6. Musty room, water stained floor probably due to prior guest leaving sticking refrigerator door open, leaking condensation/water.
7. One morning some homeless looking guy (or drunk from the strip club next door) came in for the free breakfast, harassing some of the guests.
8. Nice big flat screen TV, terrible blurry picture. No HD feed. Even antenna TV now comes in HD!

Positives: Free in-room WI-FI, free breakfast buffet (whether you stay there or not!), nice furniture, clean bed sheets and towels. To escape the construction noise, I discovered that the strip club next door does offer a free lunch special...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternHallndale, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hollywood/Aventura, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your positive and negative feedback. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.

We have taken some steps to improve our room standards. Below are some of the actions we took after your review.

1. Constant I-95 traffic noise
• We have expedited the replacement of windows on I-95, but Guest now do have a choice of requesting a room facing the parking lot

2. Construction noise; sawing outside; pipe/hammer banging inside
• All the bathrooms have been remodeled as of March and there is no construction going on at the hotel.

3. Dusty hallways from renovations being done on my floor.
• Hallways have been cleared of any dust after the completion of renovations.

4. Electrical outlet failure one night from 9PM to 6AM.
• We apologize for the failure of the outlet in your room but rest assured all the outlets in the property has been reexamined and certified by our maintenance department.

5. Refrigerator setting broken; froze drinks, ruined food.
• Non Functioning refrigerators have been replaced by new ones as of March, 2012.

6. Musty room, water stained floor probably due to prior guest leaving sticking refrigerator door open, leaking condensation/water.
• We were unable to find any leak in your room but the all of our rooms are now thoroughly checked twice a day.

7. One morning some homeless looking guy (or drunk from the strip club next door) came in for the free breakfast, harassing some of the guests.
• We don’t allow a non-guest to be in our breakfast area for any reason. After reviewing your comments we have extended the hours of our security guard to maintain safety and security for our guests during Morning Breakfast.

8. Nice big flat screen TV, terrible blurry picture. No HD feed. Even antenna TV now comes in HD!
• All of our TV’s are Brand New and displays a high quality picture.

I wish I can go back in time and personally take care of all the issues in relation to your stay but by acknowledging and correcting the problems where necessary; I have made sure that our future guests can have a “Wonderful Stay”. I would like to offer you a complimentary night voucher for your next visit as a small gesture in appreciation of your patience in this matter. Please contact our Guest Relations Department at 954-456-8333 to confirm your address and past and future reservation details.

I can promise you as one of our valued customers, your satisfaction is one of our primary concerns. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    124
    63
    22
    24
See reviews for
79
110
39
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012 via mobile

My stay was very relaxing!! I will go back!! The room was cozy and the bed was awesome... The workers were very nice and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights while attending a conference on the beach. The hotel is adjacent to the interstate so the atmosphere is less than ideal, despite what the photos depict. Requested early check-in but the hotel could not accommodate. Ended up accepting a lesser room in order to change clothes and make it to the midafternoon conference start.

Lobby and halls are not bright and when paired with the dark earth tones, looked dingy. The rooms are advertised as refurbished but the furniture shows tlme-worn nicks and dings. It is older property with a fresh coat of paint.

Amenities included flat screen TV, microwave and mini fridge. The microwave turntable was broken but otherwise worked okay. Wireless internet worked okay. Bed was comfortable and we heard no highway noise but we were on the parking lot side of the property.

Woke up the first morning to find the power was out. Called the front desk and the flustered clerk offered to change our rooms. But in the dark at 6am it would have been near impossible to repack and relocate. He then offered a different room for us to shower. When I got to the desk, they located the problem as a tripped breaker. Power restored. Shower had some mold on some of the caulking but hot water and water pressure was good.

Hotel has a small dining area and the usual mix of hotel breakfast foods. I did not eat but wife reports it was "okay."

There is some ongoing room renovation during the day. The better dining opportunities are near the beach and not near the hotel.

Overall it is a good $59 hotel but not worth the $77/night we paid.

Room Tip: Avoid interstate facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

A good 3* hotel, similar to the Holiday Inn Express concept. Ideally situated, simple and clean with a good and friendly front desk. Stayed a week, location suited my purpose.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the highway because of the noise. Fortunately earplugs are provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night less than two weeks ago, and to be honest it's an okay place. There was apprehension (more from me, I'll admit) upon approaching the hotel, as the location does not appear to be the best. Appearances can be deceiving, however, as the interior- both the lobby and the room we stayed in- was pleasant and clean. What was *not* cleaned was a puddle of unidentified chunky liquid in the hallway which was there for the duration of our stay. Workers were remodelling nearby rooms well into the evening, but we didn't notice any noises from them while trying to sleep. I actually appreciated the provided earplugs mentioned in the previous review (and the smell I noticed wasn't from chemicals; I think it was just that part of Florida). I also thought it was nice that they provided a computer in the lobby for internet access. The staff was friendly and helpful as well, recommending a local restaurant (which we actually didn't go to; we found a great place nearby called Acqua 124 instead) on the night we arrived. If you want a basic hotel, this place is just fine; for me, I'd probably spend a few extra bucks next time and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternHallndale, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hollywood/Aventura, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 954-456-8333.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

This is a poor attempt at a cheap remodel of what mustve been a welfare hotel. Very dated and designed for abuse. It may be somewhat clean inside, but every room has an overpowering odor of chemicals suited for masking the smell of dead bodies. It is unreal. I checked at least 4 rooms. The bed has prison mattresses. Some outlets didnt work, some lights and the clock didnt either. The fridge leaked some unknown fluids into the carpet, the hallways are filthy and the staff is indifferent. The neighborhood is a very sketchy industrial low rent area with a strip club adjacent to it. (the hotel has free drink coupons for it - yay) and 95 behind it. The highway facing rooms provide free ear plugs. Thats not a joke. I didn't see bugs but wouldn't be the least but surprised if they were there. The place gave me the willies. There are no decent places to eat nearby. If in this area avoid anything west of Dixie hwy, or to be safe Biscayne Blvd.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternHallndale, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hollywood/Aventura, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 954-456-8333.


Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

This Hotel is located 15 Meters away from I 95 , the windows are in a quality they do not avoid any noise.
Strange smell in this over old equipped hotel, just to add an LCD Screen in this does not mean
you did an renovation. This is a shame for the whole best western group, they should simple brake it down.
staff friendly, may be they also feel sad about this situation.
to take 140 Dollars here for a night is simple a nightmare for this hotel group.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hollywood/Aventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hollywood/Aventura

Address: 101 Ansin Blvd., Hallandale Beach, FL 33009-3916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hallandale Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hallandale Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hollywood/Aventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Best Western Hallandale, centrally located between Miami to the south and Fort Lauderdale to the north. You're now within a half-hour of some of the finest restaurants, shopping and entertainment experiences that South Florida has to offer. Just minutes east of us lays the sparkling Atlantic Ocean and miles of pristine beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hollywood/Aventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hollywood/Aventura Hotel Hallandale
Hallandale Best Western
Best Western Pembroke Park
Pembroke Park Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hollywood/Aventura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.