We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinner on the canal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joseph's On The Water

Joseph's On The Water
1975 South Ocean Drive, Hallandale Beach, FL 33009
954-455-6996
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice dinner on the canal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We had a great early dinner on the canal. I had the new york sirloin and it was delicious. If you go before 6:30 pm, ask for the early dinner menu and you'll get a great price! 17.95$ for an appetizer, main course and dessert. My parents went the week before and had fish but didn't like it too much. They had the new york steak with me and loved it! It's great to watch the boat pass buy as we eat. We ordered a nice bottle of Pinot Noir for 25$, there are wine bottles for every budget. The server was a little rude at first but then got friendlier during the meal.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    1
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I have been to this restaurant many times and each time it is worth the visit. They have a Sunset Special with a big variety of selections from salmon, chicken, pasta, beef, pork including soup or salad, potatoe, vegetable, dessert and beverage all for $17.95. Portions are ample, food is served hot and everything is tasty! You can dine inside or out on the patio overlooking the water. Valet service is provided so you do not have to look for a parking spot. Please try this delightful eating spot you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohemia, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great sunset dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Joseph's on the Water sits on the Intercoastal Waterway in Hallandale Florida. What a delightful way to enjoy an early dinner! We had wonderful service and excellent food. It was surprising to find such a wide selection of entrees (perhaps 20) at a discounted price of $17.95. That price included soup or salad and dessert as well. Would go back anytime.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Fabulous food and service with a beautiful intercoastal view, but inside is dusty and dingy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We are 'snow birds' from Canada. We love the restaurant. The food is great and the water view is lovely. The owner should consider two shifts for the waiters because if you come after 8 you are rushed. In my opinion they should remove those dusty sheers from the lamps and get modern chandeliers. The pillars should be limestone like the rest of the Hemispheres. The inside definitely needs an update. They should hire a decorator for advice on a traditional, yet clean and fresh look. The food is wonderful and a cheerier atmosphere would bring in younger or at least more people of all ages. Keep up the yummy home cooked food!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“How Rude!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Our waiter was extremely rude and confrontational. We had a 10 person birthday party here, and it was obvious that he did not want to do anything to help us. No water, cold food, not a good time.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph's On The Water also viewed

Hallandale Beach, FL
Pembroke Park, FL
 
Hallandale Beach, FL
Hallandale Beach, FL
 

Been to Joseph's On The Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joseph's On The Water, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.