We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Diplomat Golf & Tennis Club

The Diplomat Golf & Tennis Club
501 Diplomat Parkway, Hallandale Beach, FL 33009
954-883-4445
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Golfing
Attraction details
BAY SHORE
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Expensive, but excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We occasionally try the cheaper courses, but you get what you pay for, and we prefer to play the pricey Diplomat 3x a week. The carts have the best GPS available. They have a great range and free balls. They have an excellent short game practice area. The course is lovely and well maintained. It plays slow, like most resort courses, but it's great that they usually allow twosomes to go out with each other. I would rather wait on foursomes than play with strangers. The cart girl sells mediocre over-priced food, and she doesn't tell you that an 18 percent tip has already been added. The starter and his staff are friendly & professional. You have to pay to park here; so make sue to get your parking tkt. validated in the pro shop so parking is only $7 plus tip. Skip the beautiful links bar; you can sit an hour and they won't bother to wait on you. The golf is great;! Go for the golf.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“If you like your life don't get there with the holidays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Before christmas it was a delight to play good golfers perfect greens friendly staff. during christmas and new year bring your ice hockey clothes and helmed the balls are flying every were except on the fairways and greens and nobody on the course can shout (fore). the greens were awfull around the 50 pitchmarks a square meter.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Thorughly enjoyable (with one insignificant hiccup).”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

The staff and service were well above "par"(in this case, a good thing). Very attentive and responsive to all requests. Although the resort was originally built in the "50's and completely re-furbished around 2008, the grounds maintain the old-style patina of truly great old resorts, with amazing landscaping. The rooms were immaculate and restful, with a great bathroom area. The golf course was beautifully maintained and sufficiently challenging with a few surprises we duffers love. The outside staff was also professional and friendly. The only mix-up came when we called the pro shop for a quick 9 in the afternoon, right after check-in. We were in a room overlooking the course, which was empty, and the pro shop told us they were packed. We physically went downstairs to see if we could sqeeze in someplace(again, no or negligible play in sight), and the starter told us we could go right out, which leads me to believe the person answering the pro shop phone was either across the street @ the convention center or otherwise off-site. We got in 18, thoroughly enjoyed our remaining golf-filled 2 days, and left The Diplomat Golf Resort with wishing we could stay just one more day. We live in Weston, and there must be 20 golf courses between home and The Diplomat, but they are on speed-dial for us. CER

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Troon Golf course in S Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Very playable course and great lunch place. Convenient to Aventura and Ft Lauderdale

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Golf in Ft. Lauderdale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This golf course is associated with the Westin and Luxury collection from Starwood. great place to stay and play golf. they have a shuttle bus from the hotel to take you to the course.
staff is top noch, and course is in excelent condition.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Diplomat Golf & Tennis Club also viewed

 

Been to The Diplomat Golf & Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Diplomat Golf & Tennis Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.