We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fun find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of R-Place Eatery

R-Place Eatery
35523 Hwy 27, Haines City, FL 33844-3730
863-421-1304
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 49 Restaurants in Haines City
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: It's listed on Yahoo!
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What a fun find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The full parking lot tipped us off -- this was the place to stop. Freshly brewed iced-tea, a delicious French Dip sandwich and attentive service explained it all. Marvelous. Will stop again when In the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    16
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Was okay... Expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

I have driven by this place every day for over a year, and it is always packed. We finally decided to give it a try. The restaurant is kind of dated, but I found that very charming. It looks like a small town restaurant... The kind I remember growing up eating in over on the coast.
We had missed breakfast, so we both decided to order a sandwich off the daily special menu. I ordered the cuban, he ordered the french dip. The cuban was okay, nothing special... The one I make is better, and when I go to a restaurant, I want the food to be better than what I make at home. The center of the sandwich wasn't very warm. The french dip was okay. French fries weren't homemade.
I was the most disappointed by the service. The hostess wasn't very friendly. The server was a little friendlier. I might give this place one more try based on what other people have said, but this wasn't anything spectacular.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Top, Tennessee
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Place is always packed... pretty good food and decent price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Went in for lunch after seeing the parking lot full ALL DAY LONG almost every day. Went in at about 1pm and still had to wait for a table. Good standard diner fare + some other dishes, lasagna, etc. A guy next to us had a big reuben sandwich which looked great. The day we were there the lunch special was all you can eat pizza and salad bar, but we try to avoid buffets anymore. They have an all you can eat special everyday, drove by on a Tuesday night, you could smell the chicken from out on the highway - and it smelled heavenly!

For lunch I had a hot turkey sandwich with gravy. It was good, but nothing spectacular. Turkey was good white meat, grilled first, which made it very hot and tasty, but gravy was like it was from a jar - not terrible, but not special either. French fries were ok, but obviously just the standard store frozen variety. The salad dressing(s) tasted store bought also.

The Empress had the whitefish 'special' which was excellent. The fish was fried - but the batter was paper thin and very, very light. The fish filet was thick - about 1 and 1/2 inch, but still cooked all the way thru. To get fish that thick cooked thru and still have an extra light batter (not crusty & overdone) is hard to do - very good job.

One great reason to go back, to try the fish fry. All you can eat fried chicken on Tuesdays, and the all you can eat fish on Fridays (different things other nights). We plan on trying both of those very soon. Did seem like cheap prices too, maybe that's why it's so popular - pretty decent food at good prices.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Biggest n Best Calzones/Pizza in Town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011 via mobile

Just started going back here. They've done some remodeling and new staff @ nite greatly improving the dinner experience! Im loving the new "all u can eat" nitely specials! Breakfast always good! Great Food, great prices, welcoming staff! What more can I ask!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good american & italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Breakfast here is too expensive skip it. However, dinner is reasonable and the Saturday night buffet is great. The entrees change but some are pork roast, lasagna, chicken and others... sides and dessert are provided on the buffet for 9.95 a person not including beverages. Their ham cabbage soup is a favorite. They also have stuffed peppers, goulash, and other interesting dinner dishes. Their sandwiches are also good and reasonable but add soup and lunch goes over $10. quickly. They also have a Sunday AM brunch.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R-Place Eatery also viewed

Haines City, Central Florida
Haines City, Central Florida
 
Haines City, Central Florida
Haines City, Central Florida
 

Been to R-Place Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage R-Place Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.