We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cote Basque Winehouse

La Cote Basque Winehouse
3104 Beach Boulevard South, Gulfport, FL 33707
727 321 6888
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 35 Restaurants in Gulfport
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: French, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Family owned and operated
Food and service was excellent, beer/wine only bar.

Decor is dark and a little dated.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    31
    16
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Weird but food is good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The outside of the restaurant is not very appealing. The inside of this place is like nothing I have ever seen before. It really isn't anywhere near like any of the European restaurants that I have been to. It looks more like a French crazy eccentric Grandma put everything and anything that she had collected for the last 60 years and threw it up on the walls. Very strange, probably good that it is dark so you can't see the dirt. Ask your server for a 2 for one entree coupon. These coupons are floating all over Gulfport and area and if you forget yours, the server has an extra for you. Now that I have dissed the decor, the real reason to visit here is the wonderful food. I loved vegetables and every entree is served with a garden salad sprinkled with wonderful veggies and a sharp housemade unique signature mustard dressing. We started with stuffed mushrooms. A nice sweet bread came out with the salad too. Yummy. We had chicken cordon bleu, tender, juicy, not dry and for me, the bonus is the THREE different vegetables served with the entree. A nice shredded beet, fine sliced carrott, green beans plus a mashed potato. The servers like to chat up about their connection to the cook (it seems she is the mother figure to all of them) I think the servers said she is from the south of France.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One yes, one no...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

As one of a duo we find we're on different sides of the aisle on this one. I enjoy the unusual decor and the food was good.. my partner thinks its dark and the food is barely average... i think worth checking out... hey, we all have our own opinion!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Notch Above Diner Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The place is very dark and cozy when you walk in. It felt old and "tired," not like I was in Paris.

The lobster bisque is made with cheese or some other thickener, because there was a cheese-like thread of something from each spoonful. The pate tasted like home-made chopped liver, not pate, and was served with untoasted bread rounds.

The chicken special with sherry was extremely bland, and the veal piccata had a very salty gelatinous cream sauce; no taste of lemon butter at all.

The service was very prompt and attentive, so no complaints there.

We had tried La Cote Basque many years ago, and tried it again tonight. Our decision now is the same as it was back then...not worth it, especially for the price, even with the coupon.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great European food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Portions are not hugh so early bird is the time to eat here. If you want family atmosphere where you would think you are eating in europe then this is something you willl like

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cote Basque Winehouse also viewed

 

Been to La Cote Basque Winehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cote Basque Winehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.