We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and charming.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa to your Saves list
The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   2937 Beach Blvd S, Gulfport, FL 33707   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chuck
1 review
“Relaxing and charming.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

The Inn was more than I could have hoped for, and the service was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    31
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
72
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
paris, france
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

My family and I have stayed at the Penninsula several times. It feels like a second home now. The building is lovely, old Florida. It is decorated with colonial charm. There is authentic ambience to this place. You will not feel at home here if you enjoy Hiltons or Marriots, do not like suprises, and need 24 hour service. However, if you are looking to relax, settle in to a slow, sweet, rythym, this is the place for you! You can sit on the lovely wooden wrap around Florida porch all while watching the local folk come and go. Soak in the charm of downtown Gulport, sip your cocktail or dine on southern fare while listening to a funky local band play. The rooms are charming, very comfortable, and quite reasonably priced. The staff is sweet and unpretentious.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

Gulfport, Florida is a quaint little community that offers a charm that is difficult to find in traveling today, however, The Peninsula Inn didn't add much to our experience. The building should be beautiful, but is currently tired and in need of attention. The rooms are sufficient, but a little tacky. Some of the staff is friendly enough, however, both the front desk and restaurant is poorly managed. We were never able to get service at the front desk because there was never anyone behind the front desk. The wait staff is rough and not well-trained. The food was average, but expensive for the quality. The inn-keeper/owner was unusual and seemed to be a bit disconnected. We were promised breakfast but didn't even get coffee in the morning. Go to Gulfport if you're in the area, but The Peninsula probably isn't worth the time or money.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

Our second stay at this hotel. Unique Mandalay Bay themed decor. 1/4 mile from the bay..rustic Fl atmosphere with great restaurants in walking distince. FANTASTIC SERVICE by the restaurant and bar staff at this hotel. Amazing price of $139/night for a 2 room suite. Walk to and relax at a small, but enjoyable beach. No rental car necessary...everything needed is in walking distance.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

My friends and I stayed at the Peninsula Inn on the weekend of September, and we had the best time ever! We were having a girls weekend, we did spa services, eat great food, danced all night friday and saturday, and had the best Bloody Marys at Sunday brunch. This place is like a secret oasis, and I want to let the cat out of the bag! Love it can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — The owners and the spa!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

I had the most awful hotel experience of my life at this hotel. The owner, when he checked me in, neglected to give me the door code so when my partner and I came back at 10pm that night to go to sleep we were locked out of the hotel, completely stranded with no emergency number, nothing. If my parents didn't live in town we would have been sleeping on a park bench. The worst part was that when I went in the next morning (after calling multiple times and no one calling back), the owner was shockingly rude, defensive, and unapologetic about the situation. I have never been so floored by a hotel experience before. They did give us two free nights.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, FL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

As local Gulfport residents, we watched this wonderful old building being renovated, and then restored and furnished with beautiful antique pieces, lovely guest rooms, cozy little dens and guest areas, a charming verandah to curl up and read or enjoy coffee, drinks and excellent casual dining.

We chose it for our wedding in April 2005, and Karen, the events coordinator for the Inn put together a flawless, first class event for us. Because the Inn has only 10 or so guest rooms, we booked the entire hotel for our out of town guests. We STILL get compliments from our wedding guests about how much they loved our wedding.

We recommend all of our friends visiting the area, and they all love it. As a matter of fact, my daughter is visiting this weekend, and will be staying there -- her third visit. We dine there often, and the food is always wonderful, if maybe a little pricey.

Along with the rest of little Gulfport, this place is a step back in time, with all the charm. On a recent walk from dinner at the Inn to the local theater, I almost expected to run into Jimmy Stewart strolling along, tipping his hat as we passed.

  • Liked — see my review
  • Stayed April 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa

Address: 2937 Beach Blvd S, Gulfport, FL 33707
Location: United States > Florida > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Inn & Spa is the oldest hotel on the west coast of Florida and has two restaurants, one fine dining and one casual. The highly acclaimed Zagat Rated Restaurant is "Six Tables" and the casual restaurant is Isabelle's Classic Southern Cuisine. We have a full service bar and nightly entertainment. There is also a full service spa on site. Free parking and free WiFi. 1 block from the Gulfport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Inn And Spa
Peninsula Hotel Gulfport
Peninsula Gulfport
Gulfport Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.