We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa to your Saves list
The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   2937 Beach Blvd S, Gulfport, FL 33707   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrible Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Accept for the gracious inn keeper, we had a nightmare experience at this inn! The linens and towels were older than I am, and we were bitten terribly during the night all over our legs, probably by fleas, while in bed. The breakfast, if you can call it that, consisted of several types of bread, pop tarts, cups of yogurt and applesauce. More like childrens snack foods than a hearty B&B breakfast. We were completely disappointed and left early, being reimbursed for the 2nd night which we did not stay for.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarjak, Manager at The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
I am sorry for you bad experience. We pride ourselves on insuring that everyone leaves with a smile on their face. I offered you the refund you requested and had hoped that would have ended it there. We take all responses on TA very serviously as our business is dependent on it. As you can see from other reviews that yours is far from the norm, as the majority of our guests are pleased with theri experience. We take every review personally.

I did ask our pest control officer to inspect your room and treat it if necessary, but he found nothing. Again, my sincerest apologies for your inconveniece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    31
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
72
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed there last night and the night before amazed by the unbelievably friendly staff and the amazing service .getting a tour of the place was really interesting the old stills the 6 table restaurant that the guy who started the restaurant was a houlecoust survive etc etc I can go on and on just the home feeling was worth it all

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the Peninsula Inn for over a week. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Our beds were comfortable and the air conditioning was great in hot, steamy August. We love sitting out on the beautiful porch in the mornings and evenings. We will definitely stay there again. We ate at many different restaurants along Beach Blvd, all within walking distance of the inn and all wonderful. Who knew Gulfport was such a gem??

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here one evening while visiting Gulfport. And we found the hotel to be quaint, comfortable and charming! I just can't say enough about the staff, all of whom were incredibly helpful, hospitable, and accommodating. The room was small, but clean, attractive and well kept. The location of the hotel was perfect, right in the middle of things.

Besides the staff and the location, I really enjoyed the front porch, the old-fashioned elevator, and the continental breakfast. What a gem of a find this inn proved to be!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We made a reservation that morning and there was no problem finding a room on a hot August Saturday. Our room was typical in an historic inn, small but cozy. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The people were nice, although I'm not sure who was who as I only got one person's name. The elevator is so cool--one of those old ones with the sliding gate I loved it! Nice, central location and plenty of parking. I got a massage and it was great! I think her name is Lo Lo for short, but very knowledgeable about her profession and a great massage. Big complaint--should have been told the restaurants and bar were closed for renovations before I booked. Website needs updating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Older, charming, quaint...my hubby stays here on business. I went last week and relaxed, shopped, ate...had a very nice stay. The owners are extremely nice, helpful and very accommodating. We took our small dog, Dobey Man, he had a great time also...nice to be able to take your pet, it's quiet for them and they can also relax without all the exterior noise that goes with most places. We like the ample room size, ours had a separate bedroom that you could shut off from the bathroom and living room area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Historic, very well kept, clean, comfortable and very cozy!! If you are looking for a traditional 5 star hotel, go to Marriott or similar. This is a small, cozy, interesting, very well kept historic hotel. There are only a few rooms, but pretty and maintaining the cozy atmosphere of the early 1900's. Jim, the owner, is a sweetheart who goes out of his way to make guests feel completely at home. What more can I say? I loved this place and FOR SURE will come back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa

Address: 2937 Beach Blvd S, Gulfport, FL 33707
Location: United States > Florida > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Inn & Spa is the oldest hotel on the west coast of Florida and has two restaurants, one fine dining and one casual. The highly acclaimed Zagat Rated Restaurant is "Six Tables" and the casual restaurant is Isabelle's Classic Southern Cuisine. We have a full service bar and nightly entertainment. There is also a full service spa on site. Free parking and free WiFi. 1 block from the Gulfport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Inn And Spa
Peninsula Hotel Gulfport
Peninsula Gulfport
Gulfport Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.