We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa to your Saves list
The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   2937 Beach Blvd S, Gulfport, FL 33707   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
“First Rate Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I can't rate the hotel portion of this wonderful property, but I have dined at both of their restaurants, Isabelle's and Six Tables. Last night we had a home-cooked group holiday meal at Six Tables. Everything here is made from scratch and the whole roasted turkey, rich cornbread stuffing, green bean and onion casserole, mashed potatoes, macaroni and cheese, fresh cranberry sauce, and homemade pumpkin pie with ginger snap crust had all of us planning for our next visit. If you're in the St. Pete/Gulfport, Fla. area, don't miss it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    31
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
73
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The peninsula Inn and Spa in Gulfport (near St. Petersburg) Florida is THE place to go if you are looking for rest and relaxation. If you normally need a vacation from your vacation and do not want to do so again, come to the Peninsula Inn and Spa where the rooms are charming, clean pleasant and the mattresses are great !

THERE IS PLENTY TO DO IN AND AROUND GULFPORT AND YOU OWE IT TO YOURSELF TO PLAN A STAY AT THE PENISNULA INN!

Room Tip: Ask Alexandra or Jim, the hosts what they recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We just went to The Peninsula Inn and Spa at the last minute for a well deserved night away. We had an awesome time. Alexandra and her staff are friendly, helpful and just great people. They made us feel at home and made sure we were taken care off. You can tell that Alexandra and her team have a passion for welcoming people into their place. We stayed in the Nile suite and let me tell you that was one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. We also had the homemade dessert and it was excellent. Everyone in Gulfport is so friendly and pleasant. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We spent the weekend and celebrated my daughter's wedding at the Peninsula. Alex and the staff were great; the food was great and it was all affordable. They were flexible with us and very accommodating. The location is great, a short drive from Tampa. The Peninsula is very quaint and every room/suite is different, not the traditional commercial hotel. The wedding was a success and I would certainly recommend it to anyone having a significant celebration.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were lucky to find a nice person that escorted us to this great hotel. The owners were very accommodating. We went for the art walk and found ourselves right in the middle of it and of some great music. Had a great evening. Wonderful place to stay - very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a wonderful find in a small, but beautiful little town in Florida. The rooms are comfy, clean and well decorated. It has its own restaurant and the food is great. It is a little pricey,, but great for a special occasion celebration.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Maryland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Really quaint place with a lot of history. I really liked the lay out of our suit and the feel of the place overall was great - except at night the crowd at the bar and patio was quite loud and it was difficult for my 5 year old to fall asleep. Luckily they did not carry on much past 11 PM. Next visit we will ask for a room that does not overlook the patio, problem solved. WiFi signal was spotty as well - but that meant I was less tempted to work during my "vacation". Breakfast and dinner were excellent.

Room Tip: avoid overlooking patio if you prefer to go to bed early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa

Address: 2937 Beach Blvd S, Gulfport, FL 33707
Location: United States > Florida > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Inn & Spa is the oldest hotel on the west coast of Florida and has two restaurants, one fine dining and one casual. The highly acclaimed Zagat Rated Restaurant is "Six Tables" and the casual restaurant is Isabelle's Classic Southern Cuisine. We have a full service bar and nightly entertainment. There is also a full service spa on site. Free parking and free WiFi. 1 block from the Gulfport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Gulfport
Peninsula Inn And Spa
Peninsula Gulfport
Gulfport Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Peninsula Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.