We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of Old Florida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Breeze Manor Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulfport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Breeze Manor Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Sea Breeze Manor Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
5701 Shore Blvd, Gulfport, FL 33707   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Gulfport B&B and Inns
Skegness, UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A slice of Old Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

After extensive research on B&Bs in the area, we chose to spend our New Years break at Sea Breeze Manor in the charming town of Gulfport. It proved to be an excellent choice.
It was a perfect venue for or party of 3 couples to get together for a reunion. The courtyard was a great place for all of us to relax with a glass of wine or 3!
The rooms were all individually decorated and each had private balconies or verandas.
We were in the Key west cottage which was peaceful and decorated in a eclectic tropical theme.
Lori was a welcoming host and we looked forward to her home cooked breakfasts each morning.
On New Years day we were treated to Mimosas and berry stuffed French toast, what a wonderful way to start 2013!
Complimentary bottled water,sodas and snacks were readily available along with port and Sherry in the lounge.Plenty of free parking spaces in this quiet neighbourhood, yet only a short walk to the unique shops and eateries of Gulfport.
We wouldn't hesitate in recommending this wonderful B&B as a base for exploring this friendly unspoilt area of Florida, can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Key Wast cottage is separate from the main building but Wi-fi is intermittent, better signal in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
39
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We're sorry to give this bed and breakfast only 3 stars, we always hesitate to give less than glowing reviews, but honest evaluations are the whole point of these reviews, aren't they? We depend on others to do the same. As we travel frequently and usually stay at bed and breakfasts, we have much with which to compare. Yes, the Sea Breeze Manor was quiet, comfortable and, well, I guess OK. Here's what didn't meet our expectations:

We were asked ahead what time we expected to arrive and we arrived exactly when we said we would, at 4:00 p.m. Lori let us in, showed us to our room, and then hastily excused herself, saying she needed to get some dinner. We did not see her again until we returned from our own dinner around 7:00 p.m. or so. She walked out of a back room to see who had come in, I guess. I said "hello" and she promptly turned around without saying a word and walked back into the back. The most shocking thing about this behavior is that we happen to know that she is the President of the Gulfport Chamber of Commerce. Maybe she was having a bad day, but we couldn't understand this cold reception and couldn't help but feel like she just didn't like us.

As someone else mentioned, breakfast was a disappointment, too. "How would you like your eggs?" was about all the attention it was given. Most bed and breakfasts attempt something a litle more special than eggs and toast.

Our room was large and the bed comfortable, but the furnishings beginning to show wear. The plantation shutters were broken in places and would not shut all the way. From the website we expected a view of a garden, but there's little actual garden, more concrete patio and view of a cottage. We can't imagine someone would choose this for a wedding or party as suggested. Finally, about the room, my husband spilled a little champagne (which we brought with us) on the tile floor near the bed. When I wiped it up with a couple of Kleenex, the tissues came up absolutely black. Not a pleasant sight; not a clean floor.

Parking was easy and downtown Gulfport is walking distance from here. Yes, there are some shops, bars, and restaurants, but it looked a little sad and worn, too. I think both the bed and breakfast and the town are being oversold. We wish some other reviewers had pointed out some of these features before we stayed here. Our last comment is simple: For the area, the condition of the room, and the lackluster breakfast, we felt the price was not justified. Sorry, but this was our experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at the Sea Breeze for only one night, but it was bliss! A place of great character, and such a nice change from the standard corporate offerings. We had contacted Lori in advance to check that she was happy to accommodate our 11 yo son, and she suggested the Aruba Suite on the ground floor looking out towards the sea. The room suited us perfectly, with a bed put up for our son in the lounge area and us in the bedroom proper. It was great having the separate loo as well as the bathroom too. We had everything we needed on hand, and the big communal lounge was a great space (no-one else was in the main house when we stayed so it felt like we had the whole thing to ourselves). Some really nice touches, like the complimentary beverages, port (good quality) and sherry. It was one of those places where nothing seemed too much trouble.

Gulfport was quite a revelation, a real community tucked away from the usual modern sprawl that is Florida. Restaurants etc all walkable, some nice quaint shops (though the woman at the post office was the most miserable person we met all trip). Breakfast next day was really nice, Lori seems happy to whizz up whatever anyone wants. It was great chatting to her. Wish we could have stayed longer - highly recommended for anyone who wants to experience the old Florida.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laboe, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed here on our 3-week-roundtrip through Florida for 3 nights (Aruba Suite). Our host Lori was very nice and helpful in everything. She made a great breakfast! Absolutely clean rooms are directely facing a street and the "beach" (a bit loud). Bed are good, nice bathroom and separate toilett. We thought that the price is too high for the area. Lori puts a lot of love in the furnishing of her apartments - typical American - for a three nights stay I missed space to "pack out" my suitcase. Parking is or in front of the house or behind (in the shadow!)

We started our daily trips from there which was great. Staying only in Gulfport - well, a bit boring maybe. We had the chance to see "Friday Art Walk" - but that was nothing for us. In the area worth to see: Dunedin, Safety Harbor and of course St. Petersburg with Pier, Dali Museum, go to a show in the Ruth Eckard hall - it is fun!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We enjoyed staying at the Sea Breeze Manor. The food was yummy and the rooms were very comfortable, clean and relaxing. We particularly liked sitting on the front porch and enjoying the sea breezes. Easy walking distance from restaurants and shops. We were there for a family event and took 4 of the 6 rooms. Lori was a very nice host and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Barbados room which is in the main house. Very nice. Other members of our group s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Sea Breeze Manor is charming, both inside and out. Situated directed across the street from Boca Ciega Bay, it is located right in the heart of Gulfport...mere steps from the town's restaurants, shops and galleries.

We stayed in the Aruba suite and I couldn't believe how spacious it was! In addition to our bedroom, there was an adjacent sitting room featuring a wall of windows overlooking the water and a separate door leading to the outdoor covered porch. The suite also featured a half bath in addition to its full bath...which is a godsend for spouses of bathroom hogs like me. Everything was clean and beautiful and we received a very warm welcome from our hostess.

The only thing preventing me from giving five stars to this B&B was the breakfast, which I thought fell a bit short compared to other small inns of its ilk. It was basically on par with a Hampton Inn free breakfast. Nothing special...no fresh baked goods...and the bacon was almost certainly of the pre-cooked variety. I expected a little more.

Otherwise, everything was top-notch. Recommended...especially for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Aruba Suite has a half-bath in addition to its full bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Lori thinks of everything to make your stay at her home outstanding. The decoration is sublime with comfort and charm at the fore. Breakfast is perfect, either one of Lori's creative delicious choices or alternatively order exactly what you wish.
Every room invites you and you never want to leave. There are no common walls between any of the accommodations so you have complete privacy. The beds are comfortable and the bedding perfect.
Don't forget to look at the details in decoration everywhere. And enjoy a snack or some wine. Sit outside facing the beach and the gulf and relax on a rocker or padded beach chair either in your own private porch or on the front porch of the inn.
Heaven is where you are at the Sea Breeze Manor of Gulf Port, Florida.

Room Tip: No tip needed. Every room has something special to recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Breeze Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Manor Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5701 Shore Blvd, Gulfport, FL 33707
Location: United States > Florida > Gulfport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gulfport
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterview Bed and Breakfast Inn. Six spacious suites with private baths and private balconies or patios. Wifi, TV, and other complimentary amenities. Full breakfast included. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Breeze Manor Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.