We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smokin' J's Real Texas BBQ

Smokin' J's Real Texas BBQ
5145 Gulfport Blvd., Gulfport, FL 33707
(727) 329-8624
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 35 restaurants in Gulfport
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The real deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We've only had their barbecue once, but it is the real deal. We live half the year in Texas and this would rate right up there in Texas too. The meat was so tender and juicy with an excellent sauce. If you are hungry for a little Texas barbecue, you will not be disappointed, I promise you!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    44
    21
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Skegness, UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“If you love ribs go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Friendly service, great ribs, nothing fancy just good, honest Texas style BBQ food. The homemade potato salad was excellent too. .As Brits looking for authentic American fare we loved it. Makes a welcome change from the usual chain restaurants.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Pete FL
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Compared to the other bbq places we've been to, this is by far the best. Good portion sizes. Pulled pork was moist and tender. All their sides were great and their sauce was excellent. I was surprised i enjoyed their food so much. Quality is much better here...kudos to him. I had it to-go, the guys were friendly and nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best BBQ EVER!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Smokin' J's is fabulous! You can't go wrong with anything you order-it's all delicious. The Ranch beans are so flavorful, the potato salad is better than any I've ever had. The service is extremely friendly. They have a hot sauce and a sweet sauce, and both are terrific (I like mixing the two - YUM!!). The prices are very affordable for the quality and quantity of food. This is a "words can't describe it" kind of place - you have to experience it for yourself. You will not be disappointed!!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The Best Place for BBQ in St. Petersburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Their pulled pork sandwich is huge! They have great side dishes too including great cornbread muffins.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokin' J's Real Texas BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Smokin' J's Real Texas BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokin' J's Real Texas BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.