We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too much to rave about.. but worthy of a visit.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clam Bayou Nature Park

Clam Bayou Nature Park
Miriam Street, Gulfport, FL
Improve this listing
Brandon, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not too much to rave about.. but worthy of a visit.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

If you're not a big walker, it is a nice place to take a short walk and enjoy some of the Florida outdoors... but once you've done it a couple of times i find myself wanting something new. But a nice local place to visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Short but Attractive Boarwalk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Worth visiting when in area, but too small for serious nature activity.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We were staying at Bermuda Bay condos next door and took a walk to the newly opened nature preserve and fell in love with this sweet spot. The husband fished, I brought a chair and a good book and say under the palms in the shade and watched birds. While we were walking we saw a sign warning of special protections for manatee...looked down and a manatee was floating along munching on the underwater vegetation, he popped his nose up and we were enthralled! There's a bike path made of concrete that runs for about a mile and takes you up to Gulfport. There are also very sweet kayak canals that convinced us to get a kayak next time we visit! Ducks and cranes and other Florida birds are everywhere...the bird songs alone are worth the trip!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“secret sanctuary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stumbled upon the park while exploring the Gulfport area. Seemed dry and uninteresting from the driveway/parking area but once we began to walk along the trail we were very pleasantly surprised. Many water viewpoints, good birding spots, interesting shells line the path, and it was not crowded. Nice place for a stroll, bring water. Benches along the way. Beautiful views of Boca Ciega Bay and Clam Bayou.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful serenity hidden in Gulfport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The winding trails, hidden vistas..so much wildlife from a reclaimed area. Small, but sweet.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clam Bayou Nature Park also viewed

 

Been to Clam Bayou Nature Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clam Bayou Nature Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.