We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT DINING EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wing Restaurant

Red Wing Restaurant
12500 State Rd 33, Groveland, FL 34736-8740
(352) 429-2997
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Groveland
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Leesburg, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“GREAT DINING EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I LOVE this place.. Food is always great! Service is wonderful & friendly. Unique atmosphere & menu. If you haven't been here you must try it! Breakfast on weekends are great, best lunch in the area & many exotic items on the dinner menu. Also the kids can visit the animals in the barnyard.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    19
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My son and I stopped in for lunch after a morning spent hang gliding. Very personable staff. We both had items of the daily specials board: buffalo burger for him, catfish po-boy for me. We were both pleased by the portion and the presentation. Bottom-less tea glass. Will be a repeat customer.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My family and I have eaten dinner here many times over the last 6 years and have never had any complaints! The food is outstanding, we have had just about everything on the menu and all of it is very good. You can tell that they care about the quality of the food they serve, even the presesentation is top notch!
My husband and I went there for lunch for the first time last month, the food was equally as good as the dinner fare and the amount they give you is huge! Great food and decent prices!
I'm so glad we live near this restaurant!
Hint:Try the spinach stuffed mushrooms! There like nothing you've ever had before!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Redneck Gourmet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

OK, I must admit we had never heard of this place - even having lived in the Orlando area for 33 years. Luck was on our side when I purchased a "Groupon" last week for the Red Wing Restaurant. The menu here is diverse ranging from the old southern staples of catfish, pork chops, country fried steak and various fish dishes. However, if you'd like to take ride to the "wild" side they also offer quail, alligator, wild boar, venison, game sausage, buffalo burgers, and elk chops all depending on the time of year / availability. This place is as casual as it gets, but the food is as gourmet as a 5-star restaurant. The chef definitely knows his way around the kitchen! For lunch we ordered the buffalo burger, which was cooked to perfection and served with a bowl of "loaded potato" soup, the ceasar salad topped with fried green tomatoes - amazing, and the blackened prime rib sandwich which came with a fresh garden salad. Then we topped it off with a fabulous piece of orange cake. This place is a gem in the rough. Our waitress Mandy was pleasant and VERY knowledgeable about everything on the menu. Don't let the Groveland address discourage you from trying this amazing little restaurant. The drive is pleasant and well worth it - don't want to drive after dark - no problem. Visit them for breakfast Sat & Sun. only 8 - 11:30 -kids 9 and under eat free breakfast, or for lunch Mon. - Sun. 11 - 2. Dinner is served Mon. - Sat. 4:30 - 9. They do offer some wonderful specials; Mon. - all-u-can-eat crab legs $24.99, Wed. - all-u-can-eat fried quail $18.99. They also offer a "smaller portion" menu Sun. - Thurs. 4:30 - 7:00 for $9.99 with limited selections. Oh, there's a small animal farm on the property that you can visit also. We were told that most of these animals were rescued by the restaurant owner. Now that's what I call a GREAT guy!!! Our first visit was wonderful and we can't wait to come back for dinner.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A quaint little place to get unique local food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

My dad and I went here a while back- they have great food with such an interesting menu of local game- quail, alligator, rabbit, and wild boar. It is considered a "red neck restaurant"- worth a try. They always have specials and kids eat free breakfast. They have limited hours, so call or check the website before you head out there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Wing Restaurant also viewed

Clermont, Central Florida
 

Been to Red Wing Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wing Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.