We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps I expected too much, but still very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Apa Latin Cafe

Mi Apa Latin Cafe
114 SW 34th Street, Gainesville, FL
352-376-7020
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 468 Restaurants in Gainesville
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night
Dayton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perhaps I expected too much, but still very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Super tasty variety... the Elena Ruz sandwich is like a Cuban Monte Cristo, very interesting! :-) The meat (pollo/chicken) on my arepa was delicious but the arepa just meh. Should have had the beef stew! Make sure you have some guava postres and try the different fruit juices. Watermelon and guava both did NOT disappoint!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    55
    13
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Starke, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Good Cuban food. My husband and I visit almost every trip to G'ville. And that's at least twice a month. We have never had a bad dish and there is always more than enough food on our plates. We have been there at different times of the day and all days of the week. We order many different dishes and have yet to be disappointed. I love their Flan- I usually get an extra one to go as I love the flavor. As for the plastic plates and silverware- who cares- I go for the great food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not a happy lunch.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Hard, precooked flat iron steak, really hard, I visited once, never went back. Considering the price I paid for this lunch, I could have eaten at another local type family restaurant and it would have been a better experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Usually great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This place is almost always great, with fresh fruit juices and yummy sandwiches and GREAT Yuca fries. Just have to mention one visit when the pork was dry as a bone and the usually delicious empanadas were not fresh and tasted a bit off. Might be one of those hit-or-miss places.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Food good; atmosphere needs work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Mi Apa has been popular in Gainesville for several years, so they do something right. Guess it is the food. For a dining experience, it's a bit like a food court; plastic plates and silverware are not very upscale. The inside area is overly bright with light. The patio, right on the parking lot, is OK in nice weather and not too noisy. On my most recent visit, the music was loud outside so we chose inside. Well, it was just as bad, hard to carry on a conversation. Portions are good sized, we took home leftovers. The Cuban sandwich could be split with two diners. Chunky pork is a good dish and the fried plantains are fine, too. But overall, I'd rather pay $1 more a dish and get real plates and forks, and lower the light level.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Apa Latin Cafe also viewed

 
Gainesville, FL
 

Been to Mi Apa Latin Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Apa Latin Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.