We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local place, great service and taste” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northwest Grille

Northwest Grille
5115 NW 39th Ave., Gainesville, FL 32606
352-376-0500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 432 Restaurants in Gainesville
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Local place, great service and taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Wednesday night "date night" took us here, and the seafood chowder, grouper sandwich, and organic grass fed organic beef burger bleu made it well worth the visit. Server/hostess Brittany also made sure that our food remained hot, our drinks cold, and that we enjoyed ourselves as our booth provided a nice combination of isolation and people watching. We intend to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    26
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The fried pollack was great and such a huge serving on the regular meal- I can't imagine what the all-you-can-eat is like!
Fried stuffed shrimp - very tasty. My husband had the stuffed grouper but he would not have the cream sauce and said it was kind of dry. He loved the crab meat stuffing though!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberry, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best fried shrimp in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I eat at Northwest Grille at least once a month. Their fare is some of the best in Gainesville. I especially like their St. Augustine fried shrimp and fried oysters. The seafood chowder is also very tasty. I love the fact that they have such Southern classics as collard greens and cheese grits on the menu. They also have a wide variety of wine and beer to choose from; SwampHead being my favorite.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Probably Should Not Have Returned”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Many years ago, this was one of our favorite dining spots in Gainesville, and we would go out of our way to northwest G'vile to dine at this location. Then, on one visit, my fish was not good and my wife's fish was spoiled! Recently, I was on a solo trip to Gainesville, and I decided to stop by late one afternoon. As I was not hungry enough for my previous favorite, drunken grouper, I decided on just some fried shrimp. I wanted to try the St. Augustine shrimp, but after interviewing the waitress I learned that this dish was not served with the St. Augustine style shrimp sauce. I went with their regular, beer battered fried shrimp. They were totally routine such as can be had almost anywhere. The dark bread that came with the meal was also unremarkable. The salad was OK.
Upon entering the establishment, I was greeted with the smell of sulfur and the disinfectant/deodorant scent used to cover the sulfur odor. I also observed that the Northwest Grille is probably best visited at night as under the brighter light conditions of the afternoon it appeared to be getting fairly run-down. The service was acceptable, although I was initially presented with the wrong check

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Always Good Fish.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We go here with company for a delicious, reasonable fish dinner. The location is tucked away in an attractive mini-mall. A protected outdoor seating area is available when the weather's nice. We always eat inside at the high-backed booths. Never disappointed!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northwest Grille also viewed

 

Been to Northwest Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northwest Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.