We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, average facility” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 W University Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, average facility”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed one night, $77 total with tax. It was fine. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Good location. The room was clean and an average size. Bed and pillows comfy. Some negatives: there is no breakfast (the "free" breakfast offer is a $5 voucher for two people to SHARE at Beef O Brady's next door, which starts at 7:30 - way too late for business people). There isn't even coffee in the reception area. The bathroom was smaller than usual and the light was dim - the bulb took around 10 minutes to warm up each time it was turned on. Also, the window unit was not blowing cool enough for us. We both were hot all night even though it was on max cool. Maybe the people in the room below we're blasting their heat. Anyways, it was okay but next time we will probably try a different hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Good day from the Holiday Inn University Hotel in Gainesville! Thank you so very much for your feedback. Although you shared only one evening with us, we appreciate your comment that our team was very friendly and helpful. It is a little disappointing that you felt misled by the breakfast offering, a somewhat smaller bathroom, and the air conditioning unit not cooling to your satisfaction. We will immediately address the maintenance issues as well as ensure that our discounted breakfast offering is clear. As a leadership team, we're completely disappointed that we didn't meet and exceed your expectations and realize that we may have lost you as a future guest however, we would love to have a second opportunity to demonstrate that your visit was the exception and not the norm. We wish you the very best of holiday seasons and best wishes in your future travels...

Regards,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    46
    34
    17
    17
See reviews for
52
16
23
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have been staying at Holiday Inn University Center for many, many years (decades!) for Florida Gator football and basketball weekends - and it never disappoints; in fact, it gets better each year!
Joseph Scannella has assembled the finest staff in the business; they are professional, friendly, helpful and treat us like members of their family.
The location is across the street from the UF campus and a short walk to hundreds of restaurants and pubs.
But it’s the human touch they provide that separates them from the competition; the decorations they provide in the lobby for Game Day and the little perks they give guests that make every event that much more special.
The Holiday Inn University Center is simply the best!
- John & Mary of Cocoa Beach

Room Tip: You can't beat a room with a view - overlooking the University of Florida.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Good evening from your family and friends at the beautiful Holiday Inn University Hotel in Gainesville! Thank you so very much for your feedback. Absolutely, Joseph has assembled an amazingly talented team. Our front office team is part of an eclectic group overall that is totally committed to service excellence. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding the expectations of all our guests. We look forward to having you and your family again as our guests, and not just on Game Day! Again, thank you for your feedback. Best wishes for a wonderful holiday season...

Warmest regards,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My Husband is at SHands Hospital, This hotel is closest to SHands. You can't beat the Hotel staff as they are very friendly and Helpful. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The hotel is with in walking distance to many different restaurants at a decent price. Also walking distance to the university. Free shuttle to SHands I felt very safe there un like other hotels and Motels in the area. After checking out several other Hotels this is the place for me every time I come to Gainsville.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 3rd floor where the fitness room and pool where and quite happy with the rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Greetings from the beautiful Holiday Inn University Hotel in Gainesville! Thank you so very much for your recent feedback. Indeed, we are the closest full service hotel to Shands Hospital. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding the expectations of all our guests. Our hope is that your husband has a speedy recovery and that you both visit us in the relatively near future, whether for business or pleasure. Thank you so much again for your feedback. All the best...

Warmest regards,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Once again, a perfect stay. The staff here are outstanding, the rooms are great, the beds huge and very comfortable, and everything (for a change) works, even the early-morning shuttle service arrangements. Check-in was as friendly as usual and included an update on our frequent guest program points and a welcoming hot cookie.

Room service is provided by an adjoining eatery "Beef O'Bradys" with a simple, but typical menu offering of ribs, steaks, tacos and fries. Twice now we have used them and the good quality of their food seems consistent.

Another faultless stay, thanks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear JohnandJudyFlorida,

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your positive feedback. This really helps our future guests when selecting a hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Yes the hotel is older but you can't beat the walking distance to the stadium. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They even offered rooms for points during football season. Beef o'Bradys is the attached restaurant and offers variety. Also there is a McDonald's right next door and Krispy Kreme across the street.

Room Tip: Our room was on east side and quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are a green hotel encouraging you to save water.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Gator G,

We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for the positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was a somewhat unusual stay; one that started with a few days, but wound up being for about a month. I was here to be with a family member who was battling a serious illness. The staff here was absolutely wonderful, and more than accommodating for my particular situation.

First, the shuttle. The complimentary shuttle was absolutely indispensable. Not only do they take you back and forth from the airport (the cab ride alone was about $25.00), but they take you to points of interest in Gainesville. This means restaurants, University stops and the like. If you have a quick "run in" (like to a CVS or WalMart), they will even wait. The shuttle runs to 11PM. Check the other hotels for this. The first hotel we stayed in for one night (before learning of the Holiday Inn from someone else at the hospital) had shuttles that ran on the hour and stopped at 7. Useless. Holiday Inn's run on an availability basis. I never had to wait more than 15 minutes for delivery or pick up. Great college age drivers who double as front desk staff (thanks, Mallory, Linda, Gram, Caroline, Will, Allie and Matt) and who will enter into intelligent conversations with little prompting. Special thanks to Joe, the manager for checking in and making special accommodations during game weekends!

The accommodations are clean and modern. Nice lobby area with computer terminals easily accessible, and which are always working. Free printing and log on, so you can print your boarding passes and trip itineraries. They provided us with a cot for free for the few nights that my son visited. The rooms have refrigerators that aren't stocked with a bunch of useless garbage that you have to buy to use; just a nice empty cold fridge. Free water for the asking when you come in from the heat. Free fresh baked cookies at night.

There's a half decent restaurant/bar that's part of the building and lots of nearby restaurants. For the ones that aren't so close, they take you.

I was here for two Gators home games, where the hotel was sold out. They provided us all with swag bags for the game; a fan, snacks and water. This is a great location for the games.

Admittedly, I have a degree of bias with this one because of my length of stay. By the third day, the staff all knew me by name. I had no complaints at all during my stay...and I'm not shy to let people know when service or quality isn't up to snuff.

Loved the stay, and am very thankful for the amazing staff who made my stay comfortable and home-like. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear JeffWaldman,

Thank you so much for the awesome feedback. I will be sure to share with the staff. You pointed out many great factors that I hope helps future guests when making a decision to stay in Gainesville. We look forward to having you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel itself is nothing to get too excited about, but it's clean and the room was spacious. The front desk staff was very friendly and I got a call from them after I'd been in the room for an hour or 2 asking if everything was OK. That's something I'm not used to - it was a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear David Y,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you recognizing the front desk staff. We are pleased you thought us checking on you was a nice touch. That was our goal. I am glad you found the room to be clean as well. . We look forward to welcoming you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Address: 1250 W University Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#16 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn University Center is surrounded on all sides by the University of Florida, local shops & boutiques, restaurants, in 'the Heart of Gainesville.' This 6 story 'almost on campus' city landmark offers a roof-top swimming pool surrounded by 14,000 sq. Ft. Of 'sunning' space. The fitness room is located adjacent to the pool on the third floor. Complimentary transportation is provided to the airport and local hospitals daily from 7am-11pm. Free High-speed Wireless Internet service, In-room movies, are available in all rooms. The hotel offers an open and spacious lobby with open business center. The hotel has also recently completed the Holiday Inn Relaunch and features luxury linens, fresh pillow selection, and new signage. Piesanos, an exciting new Italian themed restaurant, is open 7 days a week serving lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.