We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This becoming a (good) habit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 W University Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“This becoming a (good) habit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Once again, a perfect stay. The staff here are outstanding, the rooms are great, the beds huge and very comfortable, and everything (for a change) works, even the early-morning shuttle service arrangements. Check-in was as friendly as usual and included an update on our frequent guest program points and a welcoming hot cookie.

Room service is provided by an adjoining eatery "Beef O'Bradys" with a simple, but typical menu offering of ribs, steaks, tacos and fries. Twice now we have used them and the good quality of their food seems consistent.

Another faultless stay, thanks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear JohnandJudyFlorida,

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your positive feedback. This really helps our future guests when selecting a hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    40
    31
    14
    17
See reviews for
46
13
22
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Yes the hotel is older but you can't beat the walking distance to the stadium. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They even offered rooms for points during football season. Beef o'Bradys is the attached restaurant and offers variety. Also there is a McDonald's right next door and Krispy Kreme across the street.

Room Tip: Our room was on east side and quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are a green hotel encouraging you to save water.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Gator G,

We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for the positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was a somewhat unusual stay; one that started with a few days, but wound up being for about a month. I was here to be with a family member who was battling a serious illness. The staff here was absolutely wonderful, and more than accommodating for my particular situation.

First, the shuttle. The complimentary shuttle was absolutely indispensable. Not only do they take you back and forth from the airport (the cab ride alone was about $25.00), but they take you to points of interest in Gainesville. This means restaurants, University stops and the like. If you have a quick "run in" (like to a CVS or WalMart), they will even wait. The shuttle runs to 11PM. Check the other hotels for this. The first hotel we stayed in for one night (before learning of the Holiday Inn from someone else at the hospital) had shuttles that ran on the hour and stopped at 7. Useless. Holiday Inn's run on an availability basis. I never had to wait more than 15 minutes for delivery or pick up. Great college age drivers who double as front desk staff (thanks, Mallory, Linda, Gram, Caroline, Will, Allie and Matt) and who will enter into intelligent conversations with little prompting. Special thanks to Joe, the manager for checking in and making special accommodations during game weekends!

The accommodations are clean and modern. Nice lobby area with computer terminals easily accessible, and which are always working. Free printing and log on, so you can print your boarding passes and trip itineraries. They provided us with a cot for free for the few nights that my son visited. The rooms have refrigerators that aren't stocked with a bunch of useless garbage that you have to buy to use; just a nice empty cold fridge. Free water for the asking when you come in from the heat. Free fresh baked cookies at night.

There's a half decent restaurant/bar that's part of the building and lots of nearby restaurants. For the ones that aren't so close, they take you.

I was here for two Gators home games, where the hotel was sold out. They provided us all with swag bags for the game; a fan, snacks and water. This is a great location for the games.

Admittedly, I have a degree of bias with this one because of my length of stay. By the third day, the staff all knew me by name. I had no complaints at all during my stay...and I'm not shy to let people know when service or quality isn't up to snuff.

Loved the stay, and am very thankful for the amazing staff who made my stay comfortable and home-like. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear JeffWaldman,

Thank you so much for the awesome feedback. I will be sure to share with the staff. You pointed out many great factors that I hope helps future guests when making a decision to stay in Gainesville. We look forward to having you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel itself is nothing to get too excited about, but it's clean and the room was spacious. The front desk staff was very friendly and I got a call from them after I'd been in the room for an hour or 2 asking if everything was OK. That's something I'm not used to - it was a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear David Y,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you recognizing the front desk staff. We are pleased you thought us checking on you was a nice touch. That was our goal. I am glad you found the room to be clean as well. . We look forward to welcoming you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Recently stayed when returning for a UF game.

Great location that is right on campus and within walking distance to the stadium.

The hotel is very clean and the staff was very helpful and nice.

Also had a nice outdoor pool that gets plenty of sun.

Would stay again when visiting,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear RalphieSpeaks,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with the Holiday Inn University. Walking distance is key during a game as you said......thank you for recognizing our service and cleanliness. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have been staying here quite a bit lately and the service is always great. The hotel is clean, and everyone is always very pleasant and professional. Linda makes sure everything is taken care of and puts in the extra effort to make sure my stay is perfect. I will continue to stay here when I am working or visiting the Gainesville area.

David E.

Room Tip: I enjoy rooms on the top floor, and pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear DavidE0227,
We are thankful for your review. Thank you for stating the cleanliness of the hotel as well as the service. I will be sure to share this review with Linda. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This property is a corporate hotel in every sense of the word -- straight-ouf-of-the-box cookie cutter architecture & "hip" touches like blue accent lamps. There is nothing at this location that you wouldn't find at a Holiday Inn anywhere in the U.S.

However, the staff was very helpful with local restaurant selections (Bagels & Noodles for breakfast, Corner for lunch) & very courteous -- it's obvious they want to help you (or at least want to avoid the wrath of the GM).

There is a Beef O Brady's restaurant on the ground floor which has its own issues (see my other review).

All in all, a predictable property with a good staff.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor. As the hotel is right on the "Strip", it can get loud at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dearest SN1752,

We appreciate your entering review for the Holiday Inn University. We appreciate your kind recognition regarding the hotel staff. (Chuckle) Yes, as the General Manager customer service is my top priority. My goal is to avoid, at all costs a guest service complaint. Thank you for the room tip. I love when reviews includes them as it helps our future guests whom read reviews when choosing a hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Address: 1250 W University Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#12 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn University Center is surrounded on all sides by the University of Florida, local shops & boutiques, restaurants, in 'the Heart of Gainesville.' This 6 story 'almost on campus' city landmark offers a roof-top swimming pool surrounded by 14,000 sq. Ft. Of 'sunning' space. The fitness room is located adjacent to the pool on the third floor. Complimentary transportation is provided to the airport and local hospitals daily from 7am-11pm. Free High-speed Wireless Internet service, In-room movies, are available in all rooms. The hotel offers an open and spacious lobby with open business center. The hotel has also recently completed the Holiday Inn Relaunch and features luxury linens, fresh pillow selection, and new signage. Piesanos, an exciting new Italian themed restaurant, is open 7 days a week serving lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.