We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff was great but the hotel is closed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 W University Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The staff was great but the hotel is closed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The staff was great. They will answer an question, get you a menu from the resturant of your choice. They are really great people. They are working hard to keep up a really old facility. The room was cleaned every day. the lobby was sparkling.

I got locked out of my room becaues of a older door lock.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I believe the word Closed in your title is supposed to be Close? We appreciate your positive comments to our staff. Thank you. We apologize for your door lock concern and will address immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    40
    31
    14
    17
See reviews for
46
13
22
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had a very nice experience at this hotel - very convenient to historic downtown and there is a free shuttle service from the hotel, so i was able to not only have a nice dinner with a cocktail and glass of wine, I did not have to worry abour driving or parking. The staff was very friendly, and gave great advice on local restaurants and places for entertainment. Would recommend this particularly for folks traveling on business.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and wonderful comments. I will be sure to share with our staff. We are pleased that you had a positive experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to Gainesville and the Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We recently stayed 3 nights here. Visited with
family from out of town and wanted a hotel close
to Shands Hospital with good restaurants close by.
One family member needed a room close to
an elevator. Our rooms were very nice and
comfortable. The staff was great. Beef O Brady's
is located next to the lobby. Pool is pretty but not
heated. This is a nice hotel for anybody wanting
to be close to the hospital or University of Florida.
(Shuttle to hospital if needed.) If you stay here,
you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to list your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The thing about the Holiday Inn in Gainesville is that the staff are so friendly and always trying to make your stay better. I felt like they were really sincere. We had a few little problems like the hair dryer was broken, but they took care of it immediately. They saw us coming and right away started making cookies for our kids. They just really seemed to care.

Now sure, the place is a little older, but it is well maintained. The carpets were clean. No bad smell. The pool looked really nice, but it was too cold to use while we were there. You could probably stay a little cheaper out on Archer Rd. and we all know the Hilton over by the museums is nicer, but the Holiday Inn has heart and it really is a great location. Only down side is that awful Beef O'Brady's that serves as the hotel restaurant. Go to Noodles and Bagles for breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
WOW! Great Review! Thank you. I am so glad our Team efforts are showing. I apologize for Beef O' Brady's I will let their Management and Owners know. We look forward to welcoming you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

The staff was great. The hotel provided transportation to and from dinner and was very courteous and helpful. The location is great - close to the University and the airport. The big strike is that it's an old hotel. Wile it looks like it has had some recent work done, it still has older looking decor, small bathrooms (very small), low drop ceilings in the bathroom, cracked wall plaster, stains on the furniture, and an old musty smell in the room. They are doing pretty good with an old building, but there's only so much you can do. Wifi was a bit week and there aren't enough convenient electric outlets. The property was, at best, average.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. Location and Staff is definitely a strong strength for the property. Appreciate your recognition of our staff! We are working on continued renovations for the upcoming year. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
homeless
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This Holiday Inn has some great features and very professional and courteous staff. I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last couple of years and I don’t stay anywhere else when I go to Gainesville. Great location right next to UF and you can walk to a lot of places or they have shuttle service. There is guard to watch your car at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on the Hotel. We are pleased with your comments and are glad that we continue to showcase our Service. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel with my parents multiple times. We've also patronized other hotels in the area, and this is the one we keep going back to. It's the only hotel in Gainesville that you can walk to campus from, which is AWESOME, especially on gameday! (Even though if you don't want to walk, the complimentary shuttle will take you anywhere you need to go, on campus and off!) The other best thing about this hotel is the staff. Top notch, always super helpful! I know the hotel is housed in an older building, but the employees know that and are always trying to work around any issues that they become aware of. Plus, they just recently replaced the carpets- one step at a time!

Room Tip: Let the front desk staff know of your preferences, and if the hotel isn't full, they've alwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Awesome! We appreciate your positive feedback for the Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center. Yes, your tip was right on. If we know your preferences ahead of time we will do everything we can to accommodate your requests to the best of our ability. Service is our primary goal next to cleanliness. Again thank you so much for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Address: 1250 W University Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#12 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn University Center is surrounded on all sides by the University of Florida, local shops & boutiques, restaurants, in 'the Heart of Gainesville.' This 6 story 'almost on campus' city landmark offers a roof-top swimming pool surrounded by 14,000 sq. Ft. Of 'sunning' space. The fitness room is located adjacent to the pool on the third floor. Complimentary transportation is provided to the airport and local hospitals daily from 7am-11pm. Free High-speed Wireless Internet service, In-room movies, are available in all rooms. The hotel offers an open and spacious lobby with open business center. The hotel has also recently completed the Holiday Inn Relaunch and features luxury linens, fresh pillow selection, and new signage. Piesanos, an exciting new Italian themed restaurant, is open 7 days a week serving lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.