We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They try really hard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 W University Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“They try really hard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The thing about the Holiday Inn in Gainesville is that the staff are so friendly and always trying to make your stay better. I felt like they were really sincere. We had a few little problems like the hair dryer was broken, but they took care of it immediately. They saw us coming and right away started making cookies for our kids. They just really seemed to care.

Now sure, the place is a little older, but it is well maintained. The carpets were clean. No bad smell. The pool looked really nice, but it was too cold to use while we were there. You could probably stay a little cheaper out on Archer Rd. and we all know the Hilton over by the museums is nicer, but the Holiday Inn has heart and it really is a great location. Only down side is that awful Beef O'Brady's that serves as the hotel restaurant. Go to Noodles and Bagles for breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
WOW! Great Review! Thank you. I am so glad our Team efforts are showing. I apologize for Beef O' Brady's I will let their Management and Owners know. We look forward to welcoming you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    35
    31
    14
    16
See reviews for
42
13
20
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

The staff was great. The hotel provided transportation to and from dinner and was very courteous and helpful. The location is great - close to the University and the airport. The big strike is that it's an old hotel. Wile it looks like it has had some recent work done, it still has older looking decor, small bathrooms (very small), low drop ceilings in the bathroom, cracked wall plaster, stains on the furniture, and an old musty smell in the room. They are doing pretty good with an old building, but there's only so much you can do. Wifi was a bit week and there aren't enough convenient electric outlets. The property was, at best, average.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. Location and Staff is definitely a strong strength for the property. Appreciate your recognition of our staff! We are working on continued renovations for the upcoming year. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
homeless
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This Holiday Inn has some great features and very professional and courteous staff. I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last couple of years and I don’t stay anywhere else when I go to Gainesville. Great location right next to UF and you can walk to a lot of places or they have shuttle service. There is guard to watch your car at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on the Hotel. We are pleased with your comments and are glad that we continue to showcase our Service. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel with my parents multiple times. We've also patronized other hotels in the area, and this is the one we keep going back to. It's the only hotel in Gainesville that you can walk to campus from, which is AWESOME, especially on gameday! (Even though if you don't want to walk, the complimentary shuttle will take you anywhere you need to go, on campus and off!) The other best thing about this hotel is the staff. Top notch, always super helpful! I know the hotel is housed in an older building, but the employees know that and are always trying to work around any issues that they become aware of. Plus, they just recently replaced the carpets- one step at a time!

Room Tip: Let the front desk staff know of your preferences, and if the hotel isn't full, they've alwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Awesome! We appreciate your positive feedback for the Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center. Yes, your tip was right on. If we know your preferences ahead of time we will do everything we can to accommodate your requests to the best of our ability. Service is our primary goal next to cleanliness. Again thank you so much for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Everything positive written about their customer service is right-on. Great and very welcoming group of people, along with it being an extremely clean and well kept up hotel. The prices were excellent and was an all-in-all pleasant experience. I'd strongly suggest giving this hotel a shot, I will definitely be back myself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I am so pleased that you found the customer service right on! Thank you so much for expressing your experience while staying at the Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center. We look forward to welcoming you back. Please contact me directly and I will ensure on your next stay that your experience is just as great. gm@theuniversityhotel.com - Kimberly Cason - 352-376-1661
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed here back in July to attend UF's Preview Orientation. I booked this hotel because it is literally on the corner of campus and location is the key! I was in contact with the hotel before my arrival because I wanted a late check out (which I was granted). Upon check-in, my room was ready. I went up to my room but my key didn't work.I made my way down to the lobby to let them knowand they gave me another key, which did work. My room was on the 6th floor looking out towards buildings, not a great view but you could see downtown Gainesville in the distance. I noticed right away an awful musty smell so when I went back down to the lobby, I informed them and they said they'd have someone come in and spray. This did cut down on the odor but wouldn't not be good with anyone with strong allergies. The plus side of the room was the large and comfortable king size bed, the flat screen tv, and the mini refridge and microwave. The bathroom was average hotel size but with nice products. Despite these postitives, the hotel room did feel old. They offered two different types of pillows but they were tiny (yet comfortable). The weather was not that great when I was there so I did not get to use the pool.It seemed like a good size but did not have many loungers. I did use their workout room, it was tiny but I was happy to get some type of work out in. The plus of this hotel is its location. I wanted to be able to walk to campus and this was possible. There were plenty of restaurants in walking distance. The front staff was very friendlly and I really appreciated the late check out. I got a good deal and would stay here again if I could get the same price.

Tip:As a former Gainesville resident, I was happy to see that Burrito Brothers was still in business, just in a different location (with nice outside tables). You have got to have one of their burritos with guacamole!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center. I do apologize about your key not working, I know how frustrating that can be when you get up to your room then have to come all the way back down. This is a ongoing battle with all hotels, new and old. Next time you stay with us we can put you on an even side where you have a view of the University. I apologize for the musty smell with the onset of new carpet and fresh paint we hope to eliminate a majority of the musty smell. I am glad you found our staff friendly. Customer service is a strong focus for the hotel and our guests. We hope to have new loungers by spring of next year. Gotta love Burrito Brothers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Made the trip from Daytona to Gainesville in order to take my Mom to University of Florida Shands hospital. Warm friendly staff made me feel welcome from the time I arrived until I checked out. I was offered services I didn't even realize they had when I booked (shuttle to hospital). Bright clean rooms and Beef O'Brady's being on site was very convenient. I will return.

Room Tip: I booked 2 rooms on the 4th floor and both were excellent as I'm sure they all are
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and pleased that we met your needs during your stay during a sensitive time. We look forward to welcoming you back and if you did not book your reservation under the Shands special discount please make sure you let the reservationist know that you are here for medical needs at Shands and they can adjust your rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Address: 1250 W University Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#11 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn University Center is surrounded on all sides by the University of Florida, local shops & boutiques, restaurants, in 'the Heart of Gainesville.' This 6 story 'almost on campus' city landmark offers a roof-top swimming pool surrounded by 14,000 sq. ft. of 'sunning' space. The fitness room is located adjacent to the pool on the third floor. Complimentary transportation is provided to the airport and local hospitals daily from 7am-11pm. Free High-speed Wireless Internet service, In-room movies, are available in all rooms. The hotel offers an open and spacious lobby with open business center. The hotel has also recently completed the Holiday Inn Relaunch and features luxury linens, fresh pillow selection, and new signage. The restaurant is open 7 days a week serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.