We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for the price, but dont stay in rooms at back due to noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3600 S.W. 42nd St, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #28 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice for the price, but dont stay in rooms at back due to noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Very nice place to stay during a one night stop on business .. room was clean, bed was ok, and price was right. One and only complaint was the noise .. the Interstate sits directly behind this hotel, so ask for a room facing front ... colleagues stayed in rooms at front and it was perfectly quiet .. much different story at back as you just cant avoid the highway noise except for being able to turn heater on and drown it out as much as possible.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    8
    10
    9
See reviews for
9
8
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

I got my room for $34 for one night on Priceline. The pillows were horrible, so bring your own. The bed was not real comfortable. Other than that, it was great for the money. I wasn't paying for the Ritz-Carlton! The staff was very friendly and efficient, it's in a great location, and it was clean. Yes, there are a lot of construction workers staying there, but I just needed a place to sleep and it was great!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Just got back from our second stay at this hotel just off interstate 75. A very average hotel with a nice low rate.

The room pluses include a full size refrigerator; although it had mold on top (see picture); table and chair; lounge chair; microwave; coffee maker with one complementary serving (you will need to bring some or pick-up more at the local grocery store); toaster; plates; glasses; silverware.

The couple things that were lacking that was strange was a hair dryer and shampoo. We had to go to the close-by Walmart to buy these since we hadn't brought this with us. This added an extra unexpected cost to our two night stay.

The bed was very hard. Wasn't able to get used to that. The air conditioning worked perfect and we really liked how it ran all night to drown out the highway traffic. Highly recommended you ask for a room that ISN'T in the back of the property. These all face the interstate along with a second road where every semi truck or motorcycle can be heard through the night. In fact it is so close that the GPS thought we were on Interstate 75.

The desk service was great. One of the cleaning ladies started the day off right by wishing us a very sincere 'good morning..how are you?' with a smile. There is plenty of parking, several gas stations and a ton of restaurants, many that you can walk to. Could easily walk to the Target and there is a Walmart just a little further down. Several grocery stores are in the nearby shopping centers. The University of Florida is about 5-15 minutes away; depending on the part of campus. The UF art and history museums are 5 minutes; while the central part of campus is closer to 15 minutes away.

Based on the low price the couple times we stayed, this would be a good option for someone wanting to save on the budget.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Noise, such as walking heels of others and doors closing, are heard through the ceiling, and possibly the floor and walls too. We had people jacked up on alcohol or something above us and they literally jumped about on heavy heels in their room until 4 in the morning. I called reception at three to complain but nothing happened. The next morning a person at the reception said that that is normal when ever there is a game in town. That may be so, but is it up to the visitor to check if Gainesville hosts a game before checking in with Extended Stay America? It was the worst night spent in a motel for me but not for my wife, who sleeps deeper than me. The room was clean, but what does that matter when I couldn't sleep? And we asked for smokeless but someone smoked and we felt it through the air conditioning. A hopeless motel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrmaf, Regional Director of Operations at Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75, responded to this review, April 30, 2009
"I recently received a copy of your review of the Extended Stay America Gainesville - I-75. We take great pride in offering a clean, comfortable room at an affordable price, so I was happy to read your comments about your accommodations. However, I was disappointed to read the rest of your remarks. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

It is my pleasure to provide an explanation regarding the issue you described. Every part of our hotel, from the in-room features, to the design of our guest corridors, to the personalized voicemail, is an integral part to creating a ""home away from home"" experience for our guests. Since we recognize that a quiet, relaxing environment is critical to this goal, we have several systems to ensure that noise from within or outside the hotel doesn't interfere with your stay. Although rare, there are instances where a guest may hear noises from the surrounding area. Whenever we are informed of such disturbances, our standard operating procedure is to promptly identify the source of that disturbance and resolve it. I take full responsibility that we were unable to resolve this situation to your satisfaction during your stay.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

I am a travel agent with YTB travel network. I always stay at this hotel when passing through Gainesville, FL or just to vacation in Gainesville. It is a nice clean hotel for a good price. The property is very well kept and the rooms are clean and neat. I am never disappointed when I stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — The neat and clean room.
  • Disliked — The curtains were too dark.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2008

Extended StayAmerica Gainesville is a motel type lodging which does everything you would expect from a 2 star accommodation of its kind.

There’s nothing fancy here or special but the rooms have a decent amount of space and for the four days I spent here the kitchen area with microwave and coffee maker where a bit bonus. With these features I was able to buy food from the local superstore Albertsons and store them in the huge cupboard space and fridge that was available.

There’s a laundry room also available if you need to wash clothes and dry them at around $1 each. I would certainly recommend extended stay for stays in Gainesville for no longer than a week, the only disappointment was no housekeeping is available for free, if you want a special cleaning service you have to pay a bit extra.

  • Liked — kitchen area with oven fridge and microwave was good to store and prepare food
  • Disliked — no housekeeping but that wasnt a huge problem
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

Stayed for three nights whilst visiting daughter at the University of Florida. It was excellent value for a room with a kitchen. Had a large fridge microwave toaster coffee maker and two rings to cook if you wanted plus dishes pots and pans. There were however plenty of shops and restaurants very near.Importantly it was clean. There is no maid service but you can pay $5 for it when needed and can get extra towels toiletries etc from reception. It had wireless internet for a set up of $4.99 per stay.
The only downsides no pool which whilst not needed in winter might be missed in the summer. Also it is really close to the I 75Highway and in the back rooms you can hear the traffic though it never bothered us. We stayed in three hotels in Gainesville and it was the best for the money.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75

Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Gainesville Hotel
Extended Stayamerica Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Extended Stay America Gainesville
Extended Stay Gainesville
Gainesville Extended Stay
Address: 3600 S.W. 42nd St, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.