We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay, great room, great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3600 S.W. 42nd St, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Gainesville
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
506 reviews 506 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
“great stay, great room, great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Spent a week here. Room was large (approx.12x25), well maintained and clean. Some slight stains on rug near the bath and two cigarette burns in bath (in a non-smoking room). Staff was friendly and helpful. Lots of parking. Rooms were a bit noisy so try for a room at the front of the hotel, the backside faces I 75. Bed was perfect, not too hard or soft. Location couldn't have been better, every chain restaurant you could desire within a mile. The UofF museums are only a couple of miles away. Discounts for a week or a month for snowbirds.

Room Tip: Front rooms are quieter than the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    10
    12
    10
See reviews for
11
9
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We paid in advance for a king room, but the hotel front desk staff gave it to another guest and wouldn't remedy the issue in any way. The dishes were dirty, the coffee pot a fire hazard. The tub was dirty as well. We paid in advance knowing we'd be arriving late, and expected the hotel to honor our purchase. They did not.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that we were soldout of the room type you requested. I am taking immediate action to ensure that issues you mentioned do not happen again in the future. Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. I invite you to contact me at gan@extendedstay.com if you have any additional comments. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel, because I was visiting some family members. I didn't expect the room to be as clean as it was, because of the price being so reasonable. But it was wonderful! Very clean, smelled great and so cozy. I stayed on the ground floor, which I was informed that it was recently renovated.

The office hours are very helpful, 7am - 11pm, but they have someone on staff throughout the night as well. I was locked out around midnight and thankfully the sweet older lady was able to make a new key for me. I believe her name was Patty?

The best part of my stay was the staff! Very friendly and informative! One young lady in specific, she goes by Zee. That young lady is a sweetie pie and very professional! I urge the manager or company to provide her with a raise or a promotion! She is a true delight and a great aspect to this property!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms and friendly staff. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We frequently visit the Gainesville, FL area & have stayed on numerous occasions at the Extended Stay. Our kids live in the area but now & then we have stayed the motel & were always very pleased with the staff & their offer to be of help when needed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm thrilled that you were pleased with our staff and service. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed here over the Oct 19th weekend while visiting for a Gator Game. While the price was decent for a game weekend, $200/night, the motel left a lot to be desired. Shower was all moldy, carpets felt damp and the sheets looked old and worn. I know college kids dont mind, but if you're looking for a decent place to stay, this isnt it. Lots of road noise as well, being right next to I-75.

Room Tip: If you have to stay, ask for a room away from Highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The shower and carpet issues you described are not acceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. To prevent this from happening again, my team has thoroughly inspected and addressed these items in this unit. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at gan@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Due to my job requiring me to stay in hotels that accept CLC, I chose this hotel for a one night stay. This hotel rates in the 5 WORSE hotels I have stayed in during my 35 years of traveling on my job. The property itself is depressing looking. The elevator smelled so bad (like melted plastic) that I took the stairs. My room was dimly lit, ragged, and had an odor of mold. The parking lot was scary to walk in at night due to the poor lighting. Even the stairwells had lights out (tough to navigate at night). The walkways were filthy and cracking in many places.

Spend a couple of bucks more and stay at the numerous other properties on the same street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Extended Stay America Gainesville - I-75. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

The experience you described is truly regrettable. We strive to ensure that our guests have an exceptional stay. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have brought each of the issues you expressed to the attention of our staff.

We know that we didn’t get to be a member of America’s number one family of extended stay hotels over night; we did it by focusing on one customer at a time. We know that a totally satisfied customer is one who will come back and stay with us again. That is why we take your review so seriously. It reminds us that despite all of the regular praise we receive, we still have room to improve.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

OK it was UF's parent weekend - unfortunately I waited too long before booking a hotel - many were already full. Lesson learned. Figured how bad could this be - was one of the least expensive at $84/night.
Reasons to not stay here:

1. Room faced highway. Tractor trailer noise galore. Loud - could not sleep. Stuffed tissue
paper in my ears to no avail.
2. No shampoo. My husband had to go to Publix the next morning and buy a bottle.
3. No hair dryer. Thank goodness I threw one in my bag at the last minute.
4. Blinding flourescent lighting - flipping the switch on in the middle of the night to go to the
bathroom was a big mistake.
5. A/C noise. When the tractor trailer noise died down the A/C unit would start up like a
jet engine.
6. No extra pillows. They were small anyway.
7. Hard bed.
8 Could hear muffled voices in other room(s). They were not yelling.
9. Oh - the fan in the bathroom was - guess - Noisy.

Needless to say, we were happy that our "extended stay" lasted only one night. I think I would have had to stay in my daughter's residence hall if we had booked another night.

Reason to stay again: (but we won't be)
The people at the front desk were friendly when we checked in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review of the Extended Stay America Gainesville - I-75. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

We specialize in providing clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price. That means we don't set out extra amenities like shampoo, lotions, shower caps, etc, in our rooms. However, our hotel does have a limited supply of sundries at the front desk, and we happily dispense them free of charge upon request. Operating in this way allows us to continue to provide you our great rooms at exceptional rates. I take seriously your concern, however, and assure you that we work very hard to explain exactly what we offer to our guests before they arrive. I am, of course, very sorry that we were unable to make our offerings more clear to you before you checked in, and hope that you will keep our hotel in mind when your future needs are for an accommodation like ours.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75

Address: 3600 S.W. 42nd St, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Extended Stay, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Extended Stay America Gainesville
Extended Stay Gainesville
Gainesville Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.