We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Gainesville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Gainesville to your Saves list
Super 8 Gainesville
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4202 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Value and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

One of the few motels that takes pets.
Stayed with our pet dog-- very good that pet rooms had wooden floors instead of carpet.

Room very clean, people very nice, bed comfortable.

Great place to stay at reasonable price.

Good location on Archer Rd. near I-75.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Manager at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel. We look forward to seeing you, your family and your pet again on your next stay in Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    90
    59
    36
    22
See reviews for
102
52
33
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

What else can you say about Super 8 ? It's OK for one night. I was miffed that they wouldn't accept their own coupons because the demand for rooms was high due to local concerts.
Beats sleeping in the car with a 116 pound dog.

Room Tip: It is quiet; it's at the end of the road. All the pet friendly rooms have hardwood floors, a def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Owner at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing us as your place to stay with your pet. The hotel accepts coupons based on availability and due to the busy weekend, upon your check in, we may have not had the availability to accept the coupon. However, please check back again to see if we have the availability on your next stay. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The room was ok, but not the best. The carpet was worn and dirty. It was smelly and noisy. The breakfast was awful. The price was too much! I would not stay again!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Owner at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your stay. I thank you for your comments on the carpet. We do not like to have worn and dirty carpets so it will definitely be a matter looked into. It is always challenging to stay in Gainesville during busy weekends due to the demand in rooms. Please check back with us to see the improvements we will be making and hopefully, next time you are in town, you will be happier with the rates. Thanks again for choosing as your place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Super 8 off of Archer Rd on November 1st and we were expecting a run down place since the price was so cheap. We were surprised at how nice our room was and Kim, the manager was very friendly and personable. The breakfast was your average continental breakfast but Kim made sure that everything was clean and that food was available (some places don't bother to restock for the late breakfast eaters, like me). I would definitely stay here again. What a pleasant surprise this place was!

Room Tip: Room 103 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Owner at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Kim has been with our company since we acquired it in 2006. She is great person to have on our team :) Come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gainesville

Address: 4202 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Gainesville 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Motel Gainesville is perfectly situated just minutes from downtown Gainesville. We are located off of I-75 ( Exit 384 /Archer Road Exit) nearby the University of Florida and Shands Hospital. Other Gainesville area attractions, businesses and points of interest near our motel include: Butterfly Rain Forest, Numerous Natural Springs, University of Florida, the VA hospital, Veterinary Hospital, Bear Archery Museum (1 mile away), Nationwide Insurance, Florida Museum of Natural History (3 miles away), Kanapaha Botanical Gardens (4 miles away), and Gainesville Raceway (12 miles away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Gainesville
Gainesville Super 8
Gainesville Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.