We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Gainesville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Gainesville to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Gainesville
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   920 Northwest 69th Terrace, Gainesville, FL 32605   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

The room was decent. All rooms face outside, so can be loud in the morning. The breakfast was an OK continental breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    80
    60
    35
    35
See reviews for
142
51
23
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

I booked this hotel through Priceline for a very low price. Immediately after booking, I went to Tripadvisor to see the reviews on this hotel. Based on the reviews, I was nervous.

However, this hotel ended up being pretty decent – much better than some of the older reviews indicated. The rooms were clean – nothing special – typical motel style. The staff was friendly and helpful (we requested cribs for our young children). The free breakfast was a nice little bonus.

If you’re looking for the Ritz Carlton, you’re not going to find it here. However, if you need a decent place to stay while you’re travelling down I-75 or visiting Gainesville for a couple days, this hotel is a great value.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009 via mobile

This place is great if you are just passing through! It is of course not the Ritz, but our room was clean and I love La Quinta's pet policy.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Fl
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

We stayed at La Quinta for 3 nights the first week in Oct and it was great. Check in was quick and simple and the front desk lady even offered to put us all close by. There were a few of us in town for a wedding. Breakfast was delicious and early which we really liked. Our room was prefect. A King bed on the first floor. I think it was 118. Very clean and spacious. Housekeeping was great cleaning out room and always leaving plenty of towels and soap. My only concern would be that the towels were really old. One of our hand towels was shredded and had a big hole in it. They should probably update those, but besides that everything was great. Also the pool was perfect for an afternoon dip.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

There was no internet. Front desk was asked and they gave a service number to call. After changing a bunch of settings on my computer the service guy concluded that the fault was my computer.

Rooms were satisfactory. Stay was good just uproductive in the internet area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key west, fl
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

I live in Key West and have been in the hotel industry for 7 years. I'm the first to admit I can be overly critical of hotel stays as I do this for a living and I'm trained to notice the things that are wrong so they can be fixed. During a recent trip home a friend and I stayed at the La Quinta and I was thoroughly impressed! Not only was the room nicely appointed and very clean and fresh- the staff was stellar! Kerry, their overnight desk agent, has a winning 'how can I help' attitude that is hard to find in an audit shift. Any interaction with the desk staff or housekeeping was pleasant, efficient and positive. The days we stayed, they were busy in the morning but breakfast was kept neat and filled, which first hand I know can be a challenge. The property is conveniently located and nicely kept. I'd recommend staying here to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

Stayed at the LQ for daughter's college graduation. Booked 2 rooms ourselves through LQ internet site, AAA rate was a very reasonable $53 plus tax. Requested 1st floor since we had an 80 y/o grandma with us. Upon check in I reminded the clerk of our 1st floor request and also asked if 1 room could have a walk in shower. No problem even on this busy graduation weekend. The rooms didn't connect, but, were side by side. Other relatives also booked and when they arrived asked if they could be placed near us. They were given the room directly above ours with easy access to the stairs connecting our rooms.

All 3 rooms were relatively clean, spacious, and had free Wi-Fi. One room did smell of a pet disinfectant, but, it wasn't bothersome once the a/c was turned on. The beds were comfy.

A basic free expanded continental breakfast was offered from 7-10am, but, we chose to sleep in instead of eat. The pool was clean and nice.

We didn't use housekeeping, but, talked to our maid who was very pleasant. She exchanged our towels, emptied our trash, and replenished soap/shampoo for us.

Location was great convenient to 75 and right off the main drag Newberry Rd/University Dr, but, really quite and convenient to a few restaurants to walk to. The Mall is directly across main drag. A hospital is extremely close and park is also within walking distance.

Over the last 4 years we have stayed at various hotels in Gainesville. This was our 1st time at the LQ and we would recommend it if you need a safe and affordable place to stay for a few days. There are definitely better and worse lodging choices in town to choose from, but, LQ provided everything we needed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Gainesville

Address: 920 Northwest 69th Terrace, Gainesville, FL 32605
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.Located just minutes from the O'Connell Center and the Phillips Center for Performing Arts at the University of Florida, the La Quinta Inn Gainesville is convenient to all area attractions. From here, visit the Butterfly Rainforest at the Museum of Natural History, the Harn Museum of Art, and the Kanapaha Botanical Gardens. Discover Payne's Prairie State Preserve. Spend the day on the water at Ginnie Springs. Have lots of fun at the Hippodrome State Theatre and the Gainesville Community Play House. Golf nearby Ironwood and Meadowbrook courses. We are surrounded by shopping at Oaks Mall and plenty of restaurants for every taste. You will love the spacious and colorful rooms at the La Quinta Inn Gainesville, equipped with free high-speed Internet access, a coffee maker, hair dryer, and more. Our heated swimming pool sits in a private courtyard surrounded by a sprawling sundeck. We provide our guests with privileges to a local fitness center. The hotel also offers theater-style meeting facilities for up to 35 guests. Enjoy a Free Bright Side BreakfastTM prepared mornings in the lobby by our friendly staff. Easy access from I-75 (exit 387) behind Red Lobster. Our location is also convenient for visitors to North Florida Regional and Shands Hospitals.We offer non-smoking in all of our king rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.