We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was the poorest example of a Baymont that we've ever...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn and Suites Gainesville

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Priceline.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn and Suites Gainesville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6901 NW 4th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32607 (Formerly Fairfield Inn, Gainesville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3, Save 20%
Ranked #22 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Grand Rapids
1 review
“This was the poorest example of a Baymont that we've ever...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was the poorest example of a Baymont that we've ever stayed in. The staff was gracious but the facilities need cleaning from top to bottom. Breakfast tables were grimey and when wiped with a napkin, the napkin turned gray! Bathtub has been re-finished, but now the coating is pealing on the back wall. The rest of the tub surface appeared to be holding up ok. Bath room was dirty. Water drained out slowly, suggesting that there may be a plumbing problem: either clog or blocked vent pipe. This needs a total upgrade!! I (we) wouldn't stay there again. We have other options.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mjames9071, General Manager at Baymont Inn and Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Bernard G.

Thank you for your comments about my staff and please accept my apology for the issue you encountered at your Breakfast table. I am very pleased to announce (as you suggested) that we have indeed upgraded. New carpet, new drapes, new soft goods, a new Dining Room in the works and a variety of other things have already taken place since you were here.

My maintenance supervisor personally is reviewing your other comments and I am confident that will be cured also. We look forward to your next visit so we may show you the many fine changes.

Respectfully yours, JWM - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    97
    86
    28
    19
See reviews for
129
54
18
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Baymont has obviously been very recently remodeled. The mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker in our room looked brand new. The linens were very nice for the price (I appreciated the lack of a full comforter since they aren't usually washed nightly at hotels) and I was pleased to find a hair dryer and iron in the room. The carpet was super soft and clean.

Beyond the hotel's appearance, the two young men working check in were very friendly and helpful. They got us the keys to our room quickly and were very organized. When we called to complain about noise from other guests, they handled the issue promptly.

We stayed in a room on the third floor and I was pleasantly surprised to find that the rooms had an interior hallway (as opposed to the doors that open to the outdoors on the first and second floors). Our room overlooked the pool, which was also clean and well maintained.

In the morning, breakfast had many options (including hot ones) and the area was well-stocked and clean.

Overall, this hotel was a great value and a comfortable stay. My dad and I were very surprised at the amenities we received for the price we paid. If you're looking for a place to stay in Gainsville, I would definitely recommend Baymont Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mjames9071, General Manager at Baymont Inn and Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Kelsey B

Thank you for your very kind and very detailed review of our hotel. We have indeed recently refurbished nearly everything and I am particularly proud of the new carpet as it is as you noted quite plush. Thank you for also acknowledging the staff and their ability to handle our guest concerns quickly and efficiently. Thank you once again for your recommendations and we look forward to your next visit.

JWM - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baymont Inn and Suites Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn and Suites Gainesville

Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn By Marriott, Gainesville Hotel
Fairfield Inn By Marriott, Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Fairfield Inn Gainesville
Fairfield Gainesville
Gainesville Fairfield
Gainesville Fairfield Inn
Address: 6901 NW 4th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32607 (Formerly Fairfield Inn, Gainesville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#16 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn and Suites Gainesville 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Fairfield Inn by Marriott Gainesville Fl is under renovation from September 19, 2008 through November 30, 2008. The hotel's interior and exterior will be painted and brightened. Details of the reinvestment include the following: 32" LCD Televisions, Micro-fridge units (Executive Level Rooms, Energy-saving Heating and Air Conditioning Units). Exterior improvements include: ADA Hydro lift in pool area, Upgraded landscaping, and Fresh paint. Public space and building interior upgrades include: Auto Sliding Entrance Doors, Upgraded fitness equipment, Fresh paint. Additionally, eco-friendly materials and energy saving appliances will be heavily utilized during the property improvement. Recently enrolled in Florida's Green Lodging Program the Fairfield Inn promptly implemented a re-use and recycle program. The hotel will remain open during the improvements and guests will still experience the service and hospitality they have come to expect from Fairfield Inn by Marriott. The renovations are expected to be completed by November 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Baymont Inn and Suites Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn and Suites Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Baymont Inn and Suites Gainesville to your Saves list