We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always feel at home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Gainesville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Gainesville to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Gainesville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4225 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
“Always feel at home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel more than a dozen times over the last 2 1/2 years. We have never been disappointed. We are a very well traveled family with discriminating taste and have stayed in many different hotels and we can truly say that this Hampton inn in Gainesville is the consistently the cleanest and friendliest of all places that we have ever stayed. We have a UF student daughter and a son ready to start at UF soon. We look forward to our stays in Gainesville and affectionately call this place our home away from home. We find it amazing that most of the staff, from the front desk, to the breakfast ladies and maintenance staff, either know us by name or at least by face. And we know their names as well. This place has terrific management and staff. They make this place first rate. They are all so friendly and caring.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    77
    27
    4
    12
See reviews for
123
60
14
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groveport, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Nice clean quite place to stay.I would recomend this place to anybody.I always stay here when traveling to our building in the area for business.Rooms are always clean and staff are always friendly and helful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hotel room was clean. Notes were left to say the sheets and duvet were washed for every guest. Staff was pleasant.
Shower water was not hot. Others complained also. Half of the water was coming out of the tub faucet and not the shower head. The tub faucet was pulling away from the wall. Had to stand in 2 inches of water while showering. Breakfast was not good. Eggs and bacon were terrible.
Lots of other hotels in the area; would try one of them next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonFL32608, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear ChicagoMom_of_boys,

Thank you for your kind remarks about my staff, we try to accomodate all of our guests.
I understand you had a couple issues with the hotel such as plumbing and breakfast selection. I have staff looking into these issues now. We do encourage all of our guests to bring these problems to our attention so we can fix it as soon as possible. I realize you have many hotel options in Gainesville, but I invite you to stay with us once more so we can redeem our Hampton name
Thank you for your concerns and taking time to review our property, you certainly have allowed us the opportunity to improve.

Safe Travels,

Ryan Tate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed 4 nights and staff was responsive and respectful of me and my son with special needs. Excellent breakfast with bananas and apples available all day. The pool was heated and very secure. Staff was readily available to help at any time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonFL32608, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Dianne30338,

Thank you for choosing our Hampton during your visit to Gainesville. I appreciate such a wonderful review as well! We try our best to assist all our guests and uphold that "hamptonality" that everyone has come to love! I hope you keep Hampton Inn in your mind during your travels and you are always welcome home during your next visit to Gainesville!

Safe Travels,

Ryan Tate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The new renovations to this hotel are fantastic! The rooms look beautiful and are so clean! I felt right at home from the moment I entered the lobby! The staff are extreamlt friendly and helpful! We will definitely be back for Gator football season!:)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonFL32608, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Adickert,

Thank you for wonderful comments on our property.
We spent a lot of time and money on our renovations and I am glad you think it is "fantastic!" The past few months have been a process and we are happy we are finally finished. The housekeeping staff works diligently in each room ensuring cleanliness for every guest.
Make sure you book yor reservations for Gator Football now if you have not done so. Rooms are filling up fast!
We look forward to your next stay with us!

GO GATORS!

Ryan Tate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Quiet location off of I-75. Breakfast variety was plentiful and fresh. Denver omlet especially tasty. Eating area could be tight if hotel is full. Hotel under renovation so hopefully hallway carpeting on room floors will be replaced. Room clean with the exception of tile floor in entry and bathroom - was filthy. Either not cleaned for sometime or a dirty mop was used.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonFL32608, General Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and helpful comments in review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our service and breakfast offerings and apologize for the housekeeping problems you encountered. We have addressed the issue with our housekeepers. We take cleanliness very seriously and our guests comments have always reflected that positively.
Our interior renovations are now complete and we are looking forward to our new parking lot at the end of this month.
We hope the next time you are in the area you will stay with us again so we can have another chance at showing you what our warm Hamptonality is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

During a recent short trip to Florida, we found ourselves scrambling at the last minute to find a hotel in Gainesville. I had messed up and booked a room at a Hampton Inn in Jacksonville instead of Gainesville - something we did not discover until we got in our rental car at the Jacksonville airport. Unfortunately, there were several events in the Gainesville area during that time, and this hotel was already full. Since we needed a room immediately, we initially had to stay at the Paramount Plaza. (but I'll save those details for another review)

Due to the popularity of Gainesville during that particular time frame, we could only secure a room at this Hampton Inn for one night. That's too bad, because our stay here was fantastic. From the moment I reserved the room with a direct call to the hotel until the time we checked out, our dealings with this location were completely first rate. Every single staff person we encountered was friendly, helpful and truly conveyed the feeling that they appreciated our business. I cannot praise this hotel staff enough for great job they did during the short time we were there.

Ever since Hampton underwent the branding upgrade started around 2005 or 2006, the hotels are clean and comfortable with amenities generally found at higher priced properties. If available, they are now our chain of choice when traveling to cities that lack decent boutique hotels. The bedding is top notch, rooms have refrigerators and flat screen TVs (that are actually hooked up to HD channels instead of HDTVs with lousy analog signals found in way too many chain hotels) They offer an excellent free breakfast, free cookies in the evening and free parking. This location had a front desk staff that went above and beyond to accommodate a few special requests that we had.

If you ever find yourself in Gainesville, do yourself a favor and choose this Hampton Inn for your base of operations. It will be the highlight of your time there, I guarantee!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonFL32608, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear rekerdguy,

Thank you for such an excellent review. I am glad we were able to accomodate your last minute booking. Do not feel bad, people book the wrong hotels all the time, you are not the first!
It is great to hear the staff was able to accomodate your needs during your visit. They try their best to go above and beyond for each individual that stays at this property. I can promise you the same satisfaction and customer service every visit you make to Gainesville. I hope it's not too long before your next stay with us!
Thank you for choosing Hampton as your home away from home!

Safe Travels,

Ryan Tate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gainesville

Address: 4225 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#1 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#2 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located off I-75 and Archer Road, the Hampton Inn Gainesville hotel is your comfortable home in Gainesville, Florida. Relax in your clean, comfortable guest room at this centrally located hotel in Gainesville. Enjoy easy access to the University of Florida, or enjoy our natural wonders. Alachua County features several fresh water springs for scuba diving, tubing or snorkeling. Visit the Devils Millhopper for a walk on the wild side, or stop by Lake Alice for an alligator encounter. Whether you are here for business or for pleasure, the Hampton Inn Gainesville hotel is the smart choice for a comfort, convenience and service at a great rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampton Inn Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.