We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“renovation is a good thing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Gainesville

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Gainesville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Gainesville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4225 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #4 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Sylacauga, Alabama
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“renovation is a good thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

yes, they are renovating. hotels get old and worn like people, so it's a good thing they are spending money to renovate. the lobby was a mess, but my room was brand new. probably the friendliest and most helpful staff I've ever encountered. My next trip to Gainesville will find me staying here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond F, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear dex49,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our property. I also thank you for understanding us renovating to be a necessity. I assure progress has been made in the lobby and it is nearing an end. I am glad you liked the room and enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to seeing you in the future. I am sure you'll like our improvements!

Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    47
    14
    4
    8
See reviews for
61
33
9
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
MN
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Only in town for a couple of days on business and lucked out by selecting this property. It has a great location as far as restaurants and entertainment go - lots of things within walking distance & I felt safe the whole time I was out walking, even after dark. The staff at this hotel really went out of their way to make everyone feel welcome, even
doing an evening get together which was not the norm at most Hampton Inns at which I've stayed. I was really impressed with the staff at the check in desk; everytime I walked by, either in or out, they had a kind word to say and would take time from their work just to be pleasant. Definitely will stay at this property the next time I return to Gainsville.

Room Tip: This seems to be a quiet spot in the middle of Gainesville. I don't know if there would be a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The renovation was still going on, and the lobby was a complete construction zone. My room was apparently completed as part of the renovation, because it was very nice. The bed was quite comfortable, the wireless worked great, the desk was great, with plenty of outlets. There was a pool, albeit fairly close to the freeway, but nice enough to lay out and catch a little bit of sunshine. The breakfast was plentiful. My only complaint was being subjected to Fox News in the breakfast room. The hotel staff should make it their business to make sure the TV in the public space is not tuned into anything so controversial (Fox, MSNBC, religious channels, etc.) that could make guests feel uncomfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Claus, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Website did not state hotel was under major renovation when making reservation. Agree with a previous post that the lobby was a construction zone. Room was old with horrible beds. Bathroom didn't seem clean and tub didn't drain while showering. If it wouldn't have been so late, we would have gone to another hotel. The hotel clerk was very friendly. Breakfast was adequate and set up on the second floor. Rate seemed a little high for the outdated facility. Seems like a lot of Hampton Hotels are going under major renovations lately.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond F, Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, we are sorry for the condition of your room and the appearance of our lobby. As you mentioned, we are almost finished with our renovations and again we apologize for the inconvenience that they caused while you were here. We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel,

We enjoyed having you as our guest and I hope that you will visit us again soon.
If there is anything I can do to help plan your next visit, please feel free to contact me directly for assistance.

Raymond Francois
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okeechobee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed one night. The lobby was a construction zone, being remodeled and nothing but concrete floors, stud walls and the lobby desk BUT we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful lady. If it wouldn't have been pouring down rain we probably would have checked with one of the other hotels nearby. The room seemed a little dated but maybe that's what this Hampton is working on, remodeling. We met a painter coming down the elevator and he said he was painting all the rooms on the 3rd floor. They still had an excellent breakfast room. It was set up on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife, myself and mother-in-law stayed one night here last week.
I was taking a shower and reached for the bathmat that was on the side of the tub. Next thing I know I was horizontal in the tub. The bottom of the tub was slick as ice. My wife and mother-in-law put towels down when they took their shower. Thank goodness I had no serious injuries but I did ache for a few days.
When we checked out I mentioned the incident to the person at the front desk. She got a funny look on her face and said that I was the second person in the last few days to report this. We can't understand what is happening, Hilton made us spray every tub with an anti slip solution.
I think they put it on upside down !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel is very convenient to UF. The room was ABSOLUTELY terrific! It was spotless and the bed was so comfortable I slept like a rock. Hotel is located off Archer road near dozens of restaurants. The breakfast had a nice assortment of hot and cold items. Free wireless worked great.. This hotel gives a nice rate if you have a student at UF so CHECK IT OUT! About a 10 minute drive to the center of campus.

Room Tip: If you have a UF student mention it to the staff for a great rate. It beat the AAA rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gainesville

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gainesville Hotel
Hampton Inn Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Hampton Inn
Address: 4225 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gainesville 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located off I-75 and Archer Road, the Hampton Inn Gainesville hotel is your comfortable home in Gainesville, Florida. Relax in your clean, comfortable guest room at this centrally located hotel in Gainesville. Enjoy easy access to the University of Florida, or enjoy our natural wonders. Alachua County features several fresh water springs for scuba diving, tubing or snorkeling. Visit the Devils Millhopper for a walk on the wild side, or stop by Lake Alice for an alligator encounter. Whether you are here for business or for pleasure, the Hampton Inn Gainesville hotel is the smart choice for a comfort, convenience and service at a great rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.