We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Showing age - terrible internet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Gainesville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Gainesville to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Gainesville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3700 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Atlanta, GA USA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
“Showing age - terrible internet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This property is already showing it's age and in need of renovation. I have stayed at this property a few times over the past few years as I live between Atlanta and Miami Beach. Over the years, it has gotten worse. Tonight, the internet was unusable - speed test showed below dial up speed and I could not connect to my work email or use Skype. So, I called down and got a 1980's type of reply - "I can give you an 800 number so you can call and see what is the problem." In 2012, there is nothing more annoying to me than when a hotel has this response - I am not interested in doing their tech support for them. I checked out and went down the street to the Residence Inn where the internet speed was very high quality and fast. Free internet is not free if it is unusable. Overall, this is a bad Courtyard and obviously a low quality franchise property. I cannot recommend it to anyone who expects a clean, modern facility given other options available close by.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gainesville, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your time with us. I apologize that your experince was less than you expected from a Courtyard hotel.
I have taken steps with my staff to ensure that a more suitable response and working knowledge of our technical features is now in practice. Though I cannot determine what the issue may have been on the particular day of your stay, I can agree that the staff response to your issue was not the best choice.
We are working dilligently to enhance our guests experience every day. This includes continuous upgrades to our property, both physical, staff and technical. These improvements, of course, do not occur without some time and growing pains. I apologize that you were unable to enjoy your stay with us, but appreciate your loyalty to Marriott by staying with a sister-property. If you return to Gainesville in the future, I would enjoy the opportunity to regain your business. Thank you again for your words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    43
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
35
18
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I've been to GInesvilke god games and have stayed at many hotels but never this one til now. I was pleasantly surprised. Yes, the rooms are standard but clean, and Marriott is always pretty reluable. But this one wax a little special. They have a very nice quite large made to order restaurant! I wouldn't say it's great for dinner,but for breakfast, yes, and especially post-game munchies. They had wings, hummus, flatbread pizza, Sammie's, beer, bottled and glasses if wine, and even Starbucks .. Great staff too!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gainesville, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! Our new Bistro Restaurant is definitely an exciting feature of our hotel. We have enjoyed many guest compliments on its offerings and accessibility, specifically after a great Gator Football victory! We alter our menu on a seasonal basis, so hopefully the next time you travel to Gainesville you can experience a refreshed and exciting menu. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Gainesville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Tha staff was very accommodating at this Courtyard. It was the weekend of a huge football game even though we were only there for a campus tour. The entire hotel from staff to guests were buzzing in anticipation of the upcoming game. We thoroughly enjoyed the idea of being a part of this next year!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gainesville, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We appreciate your kind words and are very pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere! Our staff is dedicated to making every guest feel welcomed, whether they root for the Gators or the opposing team. Thank you for letting us know we are doing a good job!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The one thing that struck me most about this hotel was that they didn't offer free breakfast. Just about every buisness class hotel now day does. With that said however it was a nice clean place no complaints....although not cheap. It's right off I75 and there are a billion stores and restaurants within a half mile along Archer Rd

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gainesville, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
I'd like to thank you for your feedback. We are very proud of our new Bistro restaurant and all that it brings to the life of our lobby. I know that we are one brand of hotel that doesn't offer a complimentary breakfast as a standard inclusion, however I am sure that if you tried our diverse and fresh menu you would be pleased with both the quality and healthy nature of our restaurant. I do hope that if you travel to Gainesville again in the future, you will consider staying with us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We really enjoyed this property. The pool was outdoors but a nice area especially on a hot and humid evening. The rooms were clean and well kept. We stayed on the top floor. We used the fitness area each day. Standard fitness equipment with a scale to keep track of your weight while your on the road.
Plenty of parking and easy on and off access to the I-75. Plenty of eating options in this area for all tastes. No complaints. Good service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gainesville, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that my staff and our facility were just what you were looking for. We take a lot of pride in ensuring that our guests are happy when they are far from home. Please feel free to stay with us again in the future should your travels bring you back to Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

What a great property! Easy exit off of I-75. Close to several great restaurants, like Bonefish Grill. We had a room on the first floor right off the contemporary lobby. Our room was very spacious, with 10' ceilings, nicely appointed and spotless. Marriott always has great beds and pillows and this was no exception. I did not use not tub or pool but both looked inviting. For a stop along your way, this hotel is the perfect pick. I will stay here again if I come through the area. The breakfast sandwiches are great!

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gainesville, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for all of your kind words regarding our property! We value all of our guests feedback, and enjoy the compliments the most! I will be sure to share this review with our team here in Gainesville- They enjoy knowing that the hard work they do each day has pleased another guest! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were just passing through for one night (2 adults & 2 preschool age children) on our way home from Miami. We got the room for $63 on Priceline & I could not be more pleased with what we got for the price paid. It was the cheapest of the 3 Priceline'd rooms we stayed in on our trip and by far the largest, with the most comfortable beds (I think they were some sort of memory foam).

The staff could not have been more friendly, each person we encountered from the front desk staff to the cleaning staff were outgoing & courteous beyond expectation. The pool was small but well appointed with plenty of chairs and towels. There were computers available in the lobby for free internet checking (some of us still don't have smart phones or laptops), plenty of channels on the television, a good selection of snack foods in the 24 hour market, and a nice Starbucks & bistro combo in the lobby.

The location was perfect, right next to the freeway (and a Steak & Shake) and less than 10 minutes drive to the University. There's also a WalMart right up the street and a great store for Gator apparel next to the WalMart called Gator Mania (awesome staff, really nice to my kids, excellent variety of gifts and clothing)

I really feel we got massive value for money on this hotel & am very glad we decided to take a chance with Priceline!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gainesville, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
I just wanted to thank you for your wonderful review!

I'm so glad you had a great experience at our hotel. We are dedicated to making every person that visits us feel welcome and appreciated. Hopefully if your travels bring you back to Gainesville in the future you will consider staying with us again!

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Gainesville

Address: 3700 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Gainesville FL hotel near Archer Road & I-75 is home to the University of Florida and Gator football. Nearby you'll find more than just the University; check out the Florida Museum of Natural History, Harn Museum, the Santa Fe Community Zoo, the Oaks Mall, and the Kanapaha Botanical Gardens which are just a quick drive from the hotel. Guests traveling to our University of Florida hotel will enjoy the free high speed Internet access, WiFi, a 24-hour business center, large in-room workstation and access to meeting space at our Gainesville FL hotel. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at the Courtyard Cafe and grab a quick snack from The Market when on the run. We are dedicated to making sure you can maintain your health on the road, so take advantage of our 24-hour fitness center and unwind at the end of the day by enjoying the outdoor pool and spa. We hope to see you soon at the Courtyard Gainesville FL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Courtyard Gainesville
Gainesville Courtyard
Gainesville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.