We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 days at Paramount Plaza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2900 South West 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Sheraton Gainesville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“4 days at Paramount Plaza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location, excellent room (wonderful view of the lake) and service. They promptly answered to my questions and solved my problems. Free and fast wifi. There is a also a good restaurant where you can enjoy good food and drinks. Unfortunately, I was there for business and I had no enough time to enjoy fully all the services of the hotel and spend some time on the lake. If I will be back in Gainesville I will stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    205
    83
    53
    70
See reviews for
229
129
102
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I've stayed here on my trips to and from Florida over the past 6 years. The rooms are always clean, sheets fresh and the lake view is wonderful. They have recently refurbished the rooms. While there is no complimentary breakfast, the buffet in the restaurant is plentiful and reasonably priced. Given what some hotels call "complimentary" these days, the Plaza's breakfast was well worth the price in terms of food quality and quantity. This will continue to be my stopover of choice in the future.

Room Tip: If you're looking to economize a bit, courtyard rooms are less expensive than lake view rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy K, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for choosing Paramount Plaza and for taking the time to review our property!

I'm glad you've enjoyed your trips with us over the years and have been able to take advantage of some of the amenities we offer, including the Lakeside Bar & Grill, which features the daily, all-you-can-eat, hot breakfast buffet you mentioned and happy hour specials every evening.

The restaurant also offers room service for breakfast and dinner, so you can enjoy a nice meal from the comfort of one of our lovely lake-view rooms overlooking Bivens Arm.

From everyone at Paramount Plaza, I thank you for your stay and review. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Paramount Hotel was the best hotel I stayed at in a while. Me and my husband travel all the time so we stay at different hotels. The service was incredible as well as the food. The room was spacious with a beautiful view overlooking the lake.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy K, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for choosing Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites!

I'm glad you and your husband were able to experience one of our lake-view rooms and hope you were able to make use of some of our amenities, such as in-room wireless Internet service and our on-site fitness center.

From everyone at Paramount Plaza, I thank you for your business and for taking the time to review our property. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruit Cove
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The grounds were nice and the rooms were clean and we enjoyed the balcony. The mattresses were harder than I liked but the pillows were good. I will stay there again. G-ville is an over-priced town so I was happy to find a hotel that nice for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing a courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy K, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for choosing Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you were able to take advantage of the amenities we offer, such as our wireless Internet service and in-room microwaves and refrigerators.

Along with balconies facing our courtyards, we also offer lovely suites and lake-view rooms overlooking Bivens Arm, which is home to numerous water fowl, alligators, and gorgeous sunset views.

From everyone here at Paramount Plaza, I thank you for your business and look forward to seeing you again. Remember to contact us directly to guarantee the best rate for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Thanks to the Paramount Plaza I was able to finally get some rest. When I arrived in Gainesville at 1:00 am after a long and problematic travel day, John L at the desk went above and beyond to get us a room. After a day full of issues it was nice to get great customer service for once, even that late at night. We were here for a very short stay, but if it wasn't for John that night, we'd of been sleeping on the sidewalk outside the airport. Thanks for all your help.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy K, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for choosing Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites. I"m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accommodate after what sounds like a very stressful day.

We always strive for 100% guest satisfaction, and I'm glad you were able to spend some time with us to witness that firsthand.

From everyone at Paramount Plaza, I thank you for your business and review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was not worthy of the $109 charge per night. At best it should have been $60. The first room we were given (we asked to be moved) had old, scratched up furniture. The bed was bouncy. In the next room, the bed was newer and acceptable. The towels are old and thin and need to be trashed. Some of the lights did not work. The rooms with a view of the lake would be preferred. It was truly beautiful. Beware that this hotel (for reasons unknown) must attract groups. During our stay there were several groups, each with loud children running around. We were kept up all night (LITERALLY) by the room next door talking and laughing. Even at 4:30 am. We called management, but am not sure if they said anything, because the noise continued all night. We would never stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy K, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Linda,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback.

I apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites is indeed a conference center, which frequently houses multiple in-house groups, ranging from acting troupes to soccer teams. We will make sure to look into the issues in your particular rooms, so we can address the issues.

We always strive for 100% guest satisfaction, and I apologize we couldn't meet that goal during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms here looked ok until they had us in the very first rooms when you walk into bldg. 2000...rooms 2224 and 2225. We did not get any sleep because of the people coming in and out all night long. The walls were very thin, which meant any and everyone that went in and out of the bldg. we heard the slamming of the suppose to be card only entrance doors... sadly, all you have to do is pull the doors open hard enough and they opened... We didn't feel safe at all. Lastly, room 2224 had big ants crawling on the wall next to the sliding glass door and we killed at least 15 of them. The second bed had stains on the sheets... those two rooms are not worth the $119 rate that we were charged. They should not charge guests the same rate for the rooms by the entrance because of all noise that goes on. Management was so nasty that because we complained about their hospitality, we are not welcomed back... Well, little do they know we will NEVER, I mean NEVER stay there again... even if they were the only one with rooms available. And we definitely would not recommend this whole in the wall, cheaply remodeled (motel not hotel like stay) to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy K, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Cat W,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I apologize you found your accommodations to be unsatisfactory, but we did completely comp one of your rooms and provide a free upgrade of the second room to a king room with a lake view that was nowhere near entry doors.

We always aim for 100% guest satisfaction, and I apologize that we didn't meet those standards during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 2900 South West 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Sheraton Gainesville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#12 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paramount Plaza Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Arm Lake Nature Preserve, the hotel is Gainesville's only lakefront hotel, offering a taste of Florida the way it used to be. Renovated in 2012-13, the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center offers full-service Gainesville hotel lodging at surprisingly affordable rates. Convenient Gainesville Hotel Location The Paramount Plaza is ideally located only minutes from Gainesville's most important and popular attractions and venues, such as the University of Florida, the Butterfly Rain forest, Paynes Prairie State Park, the Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, and Shands Teaching Hospital at The University of Florida. The hotel is a short drive North of historic Micanopy and antique shopping, and just a few miles from downtown Gainesville. Each of our 197 large NON-SMOKING, comfortable guest rooms and suites are designed to meet your Gainesville accommodation needs. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In-room guest amenities include coffee makers, wireless Internet access, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. The Paramount Plaza offers free shuttle services from 7:30 a.M. To 5:30 p.M. Daily upon scheduling at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Plaza Hotel And Suites
Paramount Plaza Hotel Gainesville
Paramount Gainesville
Gainesville Paramount

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.