We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good / Convenient Location; Friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2900 South West 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Sheraton Gainesville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Good / Convenient Location; Friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at the Paramount Plaza hotel in Gainesville, Florida for a football weekend. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful when checking in and were also very helpful with any questions we had about Gainesville and the University of Florida. The hotel was a good value, nice size rooms, clean and easily assesable. TParamount also provides transportaion via a hotel van to and from the football stadium to eleviate parking issues and transportation back to the hotel.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Pramount and look forward to returning there on our next rip to Gainesville.

Room Tip: Rooms that are assesible from the same level as the adjoining hotel prking are easy to get into and...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel does a good job practicing silver level green standards in the operation and maintenance.
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    180
    71
    47
    63
See reviews for
203
112
91
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We needed a one night hotel stay after the Gators football game. Many hotels make you pay for two nights at an outrageous price on game weekends. So I was content to pay $300 for one night at the Paramount Plaza. The pros- very close to UF, rooms were good sized and it felt clean. The property sits on a lake and rooms have a balcony looking out on the lake. The bed and pillows were very comfy, and there was a microwave and mini fridge in the room. Wi-Fi was easy to use and free. The cons- still felt a bit low budget. The towels were so thin and faded, and the bathroom was powder room sized and basic. But nothing was actually stained or moldy, just felt like builder grade finishes. There is a restaurant on site, but we didn't stay to try it.

Room Tip: Although it said "double" beds, they seemer larger, like queen sized beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here on our way to Orlando . What I liked most was the fact you didn't have to leave once checked in to eat !!! That's a huge deal for people who have been driving a while ! The food was good the service was good the hotel itself was in overall good condition .. The elevator did have an issue so we had to take the stairs no big deal unless your caring a lot of luggage which we were but still no huge deal , the elevators and hall ways could has a bit of updating but over for the price it was much nicer then I though for $50 we had a coupon to get that price but even if not the price was still not bad and I would have spent that to stay here .... I would come back again on our next visit to Orlando

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here because we were going to a doctor's appointment at Shands Hospital at University of Florida. We actually picked this hotel because of Mathew in the front desk - I called quite a few places and they weren't very accommodating. Mathew really went out of his way to help me, I really appreciated this, especially since I was unfamiliar with the area.

In terms of location, this hotel cannot be beat; it was less than five minutes to the hospital. Also, it's about five minutes to the highway. This is important because one exit north is where a lot of the action in Gainesville is - restaurants, stores, malls, etc. The hotel was very reasonably priced. I would recommend asking for the renovated rooms because they're really nice. This is also one of only a few hotels that have a restaurant on-site. We really appreciated this on days when we were tired & didn't feel like going anywhere - either walked a short distance to the restaurant or called room service. Vince and Damen are the guys to ask for - they were incredible! Damen made our every morning a pleasant one, we literally sought him out! He's just kind & friendly & a real pleasure. Vince was so nice & told us where to go with the family around Gainesville. It was so helpful. The cleaning crew was also super nice, we chatted up with Maria, who went out of her way to see if we needed anything.

All in all, the customer service is what sets Paramoint aside from other hotels. It was worth it for us. They also have a pool, small exercise room, free wi-fi, nice breakfast buffet & complimentary iced water & Gatorade. Nice place to go.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Me and my husband went to the hotel and stayed for one night. The front desk was so accommodating. Matt went above and beyond to tell me what's around the hotel to hit up. The only thing bad I could say would be that the rooms seem a little dated. We went to have breakfast at their buffet in the morning and it was such a bargain for the price. Damon was an excellent server and we enjoyed his company. He was very informative about Gainesville. So all in all for the price and amenities you can't beat it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'm a travel agent, I had to be in Gainesville because my Mother had heart surgery at U of FL. This hotel was the perfect location for me, plus they offer shuttle service to the hospital. The room was looked newly redecorated, very nice and comfortable. I had a lovely balcony and could see both the pool and lake. The restaurant was very good, room service was prompt, hot and delicious. What stood out most of all was the five star service in what I would rate as a 3 1/2 to 4 star hotel. I'll be back when I'm visiting for a better reason!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed everything at the Paramount. The STAFF were the best of any hotel we've ever been to. The front desk, shuttle service, restaurant & bar, cleaning service, etc. couldn't have been more caring and helpful. Chris, the night front desk mgr., also, escorted me late one night to my room after returning from the hospital.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the lake or pool are the prettiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 2900 South West 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Sheraton Gainesville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#10 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paramount Plaza Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Arm Lake Nature Preserve, the hotel is Gainesville's only lakefront hotel, offering a taste of Florida the way it used to be. Currently being renovated in 2012-13 the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center offers full service Gainesville hotel lodging at surprisingly affordable rates. Convenient Gainesville Hotel Location The Paramount Plaza is ideally located only minutes from Gainesville's most important and popular attractions and venues, such as the University of Florida, the Butterfly Rain forest, Paynes Prarie State Park, the Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, and Shands Teaching Hospital at The University of Florida. The hotel is a short drive North of historic Micanopy and antique shopping, and just a few miles from downtown Gainesville. Each of our 197 large NON-SMOKING, comfortable guest rooms and suites are designed to meet your Gainesville accommodation needs. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In-room guest amenities include coffeemakers, wireless internet access, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. The Paramount Plaza offers free shuttle services from 730am to 530pm daily upon scheduling at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Plaza Hotel And Suites
Paramount Plaza Hotel Gainesville
Paramount Gainesville
Gainesville Paramount

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.