We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2900 South West 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Sheraton Gainesville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
1 review
“WONDERFUL staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Thanks to John L. for such an outstanding experience at your hotel. Though the hotel itself wasn't anything special, it was all that was open when my family and I had to make an emergency trip to Shands Hospital in Gainesville. John went above and beyond in making us comfortable and keeping our spirits up, while still acknowledging the fact that we were going through a very tough time. We'll never forget you, John!

Room Tip: worth it simply because of the staff!
See more room tips
Green Features: Would be great if you had complimentary coffee in the lobby. Wasn't expecting to pay 7 bucks for 3 cups of drip coffee!
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thanks for staying with us! I'm so glad we were able to accommodate you while you visited Gainesville. Our staff is focused on 100% satisfaction and will do all that is possible to make your stay enjoyable. We cannot wait to have you stay with us again!

Respectfully,

Richard Arnold
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    215
    88
    57
    70
See reviews for
237
137
107
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

This is our go-to place in Gainesville. We have stayed here numerous times while visiting our UF student son. Yes, this is an older property but it is in a beautiful setting with huge live oaks overlooking Lake Bivens. Staff is always friendly and efficient, rooms are clean and the price is right. We will return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
I'm so glad you have decided to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We love having you stay with us and I'm glad you keep returning to take advantage of all that we offer. Make sure to call us directly to set up your reservation for your next visit. We can't wait to check you in!

Respectfully,

Richard Arnold
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed at the Paramount Plaza in Gainesville recently and got a great room with a lake view at an excellent rate. The hotel was clean and well maintained and the on-site restaurant and bar made the stay even better. Our bartender, Allen, was very customer friendly and service oriented. He made good food recomendations from the menu and also was quick to keep the drinks coming!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are awesome. The on-site reataurant is surprisingly very good. Allen the bartender i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thanks for your review! I'm so glad you were able to make use of our arguably best amenity, our lake view rooms! Make sure to contact us directly to book your return trip in a similar room. Our on-site restaurant and bar offers a daily hot breakfast buffet and evening happy hour specials so make sure to make use of that too! From all of us here at the Paramount, we look forward to seeing you again.

Respectfully,

Richard Arnold
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Nice rooms but our room didn't have a small frig or microwave while the next room over did. The carpet was gross feeling to walk on. I had to keep washing my feet it felt so nasty. Comfortable bed and furniture. Beautiful view of the lake. Great people working here. The food was good. Our waiter was just awesome. I'm a smoker and it doesn't say anything about being a smoke free facility on there web.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thanks for staying with us here at the Paramount. We are currently in the process of installing Microwaves and Mini-fridges into all of our rooms so I am sorry that your room had not received one yet. When you return, make sure to request a room with one so that we can accommodate you better. I'm glad you were able to make use of our restaurant and bar area. From all of us here at the Paramount, we appreciate your business and feedback.

Respectfully,

Richard Arnold
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

they have a really good Shands hospital rate. rooms are clean, nice and spacious with fridge and microwaves. I was greeted by John at the front desk who provided me with excellent service and made us feel at home. This our third time staying here and we really like it.
Hany

Room Tip: good discount for Shands hospital rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review! I'm so glad you enjoyed staying with us. We do offer many discounts when you call the hotel directly to make your reservation. Make sure to contact us when you return to Gainesville!

Respectfully,

Richard Arnold
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times when visiting our child who attends UF. The last stay was the best to date. The staff is always pleasant and the service is great. Convenient free shuttle. We have always enjoyed the food and the bar is pleasant and spacious. Our room was lakefront with a beautiful view. I can be hypercritical about cleanliness, but I have always been pleased at how clean the rooms are at this hotel. Excellent value for the money.

Room Tip: Lakefront is always a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Our staff is focused on 100% guest satisfaction and I'm so glad we were able to satisfy you while you stayed with us. Our housekeepers pride themselves on our cleanliness. Make sure to contact us directly to book your next stay at the lowest rate.

Respectfully,

Richard Arnold
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at the Paramount Hotel on two different occasions in the last month.
Both times we dealt with different personnel behind the counter and on the cleaning staff. But both times the service was excellent, the rooms were clean, and the stay was better than we hoped.
Paramount Hotel provides a discount for visitors in Gainesville who have a patient in Shands. The discount is significant, and the value is far better than their price.
They also accommodated with the flexibility on check-outs and extensions as needed based on my dads release from the hospital. The first time he was released, it was well after the check out time, but they waived any late fees or additional costs for us not staying that night (this might have been due to occupancy, but they registration person didn't bat an eye when he did the adjustment).
The hotel is only a few miles away from the University and Shands, and very easy to get to. I would highly recommend this to any and all travelers. I know we will use them again when in the area, but hopefully not for the same reason :)
I didn't rate the spa or breakfast, as we did not partake.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and I'm so glad we were able to make your experience enjoyable. Please make sure to contact us directly for your return visit so that we may book you at the lowest rate. We are the best value in Gainesville!

Respectfully,

Richard Arnold
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 2900 South West 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Sheraton Gainesville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#12 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paramount Plaza Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Arm Lake Nature Preserve, the hotel is Gainesville's only lakefront hotel, offering a taste of Florida the way it used to be. Renovated in 2012-13, the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center offers full-service Gainesville hotel lodging at surprisingly affordable rates. Convenient Gainesville Hotel Location The Paramount Plaza is ideally located only minutes from Gainesville's most important and popular attractions and venues, such as the University of Florida, the Butterfly Rain forest, Paynes Prairie State Park, the Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, and Shands Teaching Hospital at The University of Florida. The hotel is a short drive North of historic Micanopy and antique shopping, and just a few miles from downtown Gainesville. Each of our 197 large NON-SMOKING, comfortable guest rooms and suites are designed to meet your Gainesville accommodation needs. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In-room guest amenities include coffee makers, wireless Internet access, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. The Paramount Plaza offers free shuttle services from 7:30 a.M. To 5:30 p.M. Daily upon scheduling at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Plaza Hotel And Suites
Paramount Plaza Hotel Gainesville
Paramount Gainesville
Gainesville Paramount

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.