We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent cosmetic renovations but still a budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2900 South West 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Sheraton Gainesville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Decent cosmetic renovations but still a budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night -- a comp room through the University of Florida. So "value" of room was lost on me. This is a budget property. As much as you try, you can't put lipstick on a pig and call it a prom date.

Pros:
Nice staff; manager escorted me to my room when initially my key did not work
Decent cosmetic renovations make it appear nicer/from this decade
Very nice and clean shuttle bus, service and driver
Room was quite large

Cons:
Had to walk outside in the rain to my room in the 1000 building. Room key didn't work.
Back to Lobby in rain. A bummer at 11:30pm after traveling.
No snacks/water for purchase; had to rely on floor vending machine
Finally got to room, vending machine wouldn't take my dollar bills; had to go to another floor
Oldest/grimiest hotel elevator I've seen in a while; also extremely slow
No reading lamp in room next to bed -- tried to move a lamp; no outlet. Stretched floor lamp across room as close to bed as possible
Mattress felt cheap/poor quality
Couldn't figure out how to turn off the very bright balcony light
Noisy AC unit
VERY slippery bathroom floors. Be sure to use mats.
Bring ear plugs. You can hear every door/every thing in the hallways.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob1302, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Ms. Bobeana we would like to thank you for you review or our property. We do a lot of business with the University of Florida and Shands Teaching Hospital. Unlike newer hotels in the area our property is set on a State Nature Preserve making it a one of a kind property in Gainesville. We are currently under major renovations, not just cosmetic by any means. We are not always able to put our guest in a newly renovated room due to construction reasons. As you can see from our other reviews we rank in the top 10 hotels in Gainesville out of 44. We take the good with the bad in all our reviews and we will address all your issues with our staff. Our buildings do have cover walk ways from each building located on the first floor which adjoin to our main building. Vending machines are located on each floor and The Paramount Plaza Hotel offers a full service restaurant and bar. Our elevators are in the process of being replaced and I am sorry that you had to experiance them in such shape. For your saftey the lights are required to stay on at night on the balconys but each rooms sliding door is supplied with Blackout Draps. If your ever back in the area again please contact us to book direct. We would like for you to stay in our new renovated rooms.
Thanks Robert Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    218
    89
    59
    71
See reviews for
241
139
108
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owensboro, Kentucky
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here on Feb 12th for a ball game and again on Feb.th overall 'good" experience the hotel is dated some but the rooms were clean. It's kind of roll of the dice on the rooms as it looks like they are remolding. But it worked out fine for us both nights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you Paul for taking the time to give us a review. Yes, the Paramount Plaza Hotel is under major renovations so its hard for us to get every guest into a renovated room. It is a process that is ongoing, especially when we are at high demand. We hope that when you are returning to the area that you will consider us for your accomidation needs again. I would like to offer you a free upgrade to one of our suites and remodled rooms. Please contact me direct at 352-377-4000 ext 3420

Thank you again,
Robert Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very nice hotel we have stayed here 3 times and very pleased with everyone. Rooms are clean the staff is great.Patrick at the front desk was always helpful. The food here is good too, our waitress Evelyn is awesome. We recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know how we did. Patrick and Evelyn will both be rewarded for your mention of them in your review. The Paramount Plaza and staff are honored to have such great guest like you who make our job rewarding. By giving us a great review we can continue to climb the ladder of success among the top rated hotels in Gainesville. Again, your comments will not go unoticed. We hope that you will choose the Paramount Plaza agian for your accomidations when visiting Gainesville, Fl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here two nights. The price was about $60 to $70 less than the budget chain hotels like Residence Inn or Hilton Garden in was charging. Those hotels are nicer and better located but for a budget option this hotel was fine. Room was clean and bed was comfortable older hotel so if someone is making noise outside the room you will hear it. Service for our group was a little slow and some were less pleased with the rooms. Still obviously renovating the place as pods are parked outside. If you want a budget hotel that seems reasonably clean and safe and comfortable for a bed to sleep in, this place is for you. If you prefer a newer or more upscale feel even if you have to spend $30 to $60 more per night, then probably not

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks you KLF Tampa for your comments. We would like to thank you for staying with us. We always take the good with the bad. You are right when you say that we are renovating. The Paramount Plaza is currently under major room renovations as well as our main building. New Carpet, furniture, lighting and case goods are just part of our renovations. We always offer the lowest prices when we can to all our guest. If there is ever anything we can do let us know.

Thank you
Robert Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Front desk staff very pleasant, didn't have the room we reserved so gave us a free upgrade. Room clean, bed very comfortable. Our balcony overlooked the lake where we could watch the alligators and birds. We were in town for dinner with friends, and a concert at U of F Phillips Center. We enjoyed our stay so much we extended it one more night. The Hotel is being renovated, with minimum inconvenience. There was a small mistake on our account which was corrected in a pleasant manner. We will recommend the Paramount Plaza, and will stay again when in Gainesville.

Room Tip: 4th Floor Lake front was very quiet and scenic, but far from Front Desk and dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Ms. Margeret MS of Orlando thank you for giving us such a rave review. We are striving to be at the top of the other 44 hotels listed in Gainesville and it is guest like you that help us achive that goal. Our renovations are well underway and should be completed sometime in the early spring. New beds, case goods, furniture, and carpet are just some of the great things we are doing. We have just started on our main building and are giving our Lakeside Grill and Bar a new look as well. Our lobby and banquet space are also getting a face lift. We hope that you will consider us again when you return to Gainesville for your accomidation needs. Thank you again for such a great review.

Robert Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Decided to stop for an impromptu visit to see our daughter as we were passing through. We had no reservations and our regular hotels were full since there were some sporting events in town so we had to search for a place to stay. We have never stayed on this side of town due to most of the hotels being seedy. We were pleasantly surprised that Paramount even had a room let alone one that was updated, clean, and very comfortable. They are in the process of replacing the carpeting and furnishings in some of the rooms so it will get even better. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for being "PLEASENTLY SURPRISED" at our property. We love it when we can capture a new guest. The Paramount Plaza has a lot to offer our guest llike, lower rates, full serivice restaurant & Bar, Room Service, shuttle service, late check-out, complimentry news papers, and the list goes on. Oh and not to mention our great SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY. Again, we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Thank you
Robert Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My mom unexpectedly went into Shands Hospital (about a mile away) and we ended up spending a week here. Considering my aunt had found the hotel, we did not know what to expect, but the Shands hospital rate was good so we said we'd try it... and we stayed!

PROS:
-extremely friendly and helpful staff, from the shuttle drivers to housekeeping, desk to maintenance
-for an aged property - on a lake- in Florida - very clean premises! saw just one indoor ant in 8 whole days. Hallways were getting new paint during our stay. Lovely landscaping. Lobby has a beautiful floor.
-every room has a balcony and two chairs (yeah they're plastic, but they're comfy plastic Adirondack-style chairs)
-comfy beds and very decent decor (some rooms are more updated than others but they're apparently all going to be modernized soon - every room had a flat screen on a swivel table at least)
-shuttle will take you just about anywhere you need to go, if you arrange ahead of time
-within walking distance of Chopstix Cafe which is freakin' delicious :-)
-great pool if it's warm enough (air temperature was 80 one January day and the pool was pretty cold, but would be great other times of the year)
-completely non-smoking property. So if you go out on your balcony, you won't smell your neighbors smoking on theirs.
-wifi! works well in both buildings, too! my husband was able to work remotely the whole week we were there.

CONS:
-No free breakfast, and the (admittedly) inexpensive breakfast offered isn't very good
-No (free) coffee in the lobby... there is in the rooms, but sometimes you just want a big cup with real creamer, ya know?
-Parking can get pretty competitive on weekends, but nothing is too far from either building and Gainesville is very safe
-Room Buildings are separate from the main lobby/conference building, so if you wanted to wander down in your PJs you have to go outside
-a lot of the doors don't close smoothly. We were in four different rooms during our stay (for reasons that had to do with our family, not the hotel) and two of them needed to be slammed in order to close properly. Which makes for noisy neighbors. I chatted with a guy who had been coming to stay there for years and he said they've always slammed like that. It is an older facility, but we were cursing our neighbors one night thinking they were jerks, when really they were probably just trying to get the door to shut!

The only reason I do not rate this place "Excellent" is that if I had to pay the full room rate, I would not have been satisfied at the value. The Shands rate we received was equal or better to what a Priceline bid probably would have gotten us, and I felt very happy with that. For the $2.50 "facilities fee" I wish they'd have free lobby coffee :-)

Room Tip: As of our stay (Jan/Feb 2013), the even-numbered rooms in building 1000 did not have refrigerators a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did while staying with us. It is not offten that we get to hear the positve. We like that you pointed out your Pros and Cons of the property. Let me assure you that we take every comment seriously and will address each of your issues. We hope that when you are back in the area again that you will choose the Paramount Plaza for your accomidations.

Thank you
Robert Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 2900 South West 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Sheraton Gainesville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#13 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paramount Plaza Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Arm Lake Nature Preserve, the hotel is Gainesville's only lakefront hotel, offering a taste of Florida the way it used to be. Renovated in 2012-13, the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center offers full-service Gainesville hotel lodging at surprisingly affordable rates. Convenient Gainesville Hotel Location The Paramount Plaza is ideally located only minutes from Gainesville's most important and popular attractions and venues, such as the University of Florida, the Butterfly Rain forest, Paynes Prairie State Park, the Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, and Shands Teaching Hospital at The University of Florida. The hotel is a short drive North of historic Micanopy and antique shopping, and just a few miles from downtown Gainesville. Each of our 197 large NON-SMOKING, comfortable guest rooms and suites are designed to meet your Gainesville accommodation needs. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In-room guest amenities include coffee makers, wireless Internet access, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. The Paramount Plaza offers free shuttle services from 7:30 a.M. To 5:30 p.M. Daily upon scheduling at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Plaza Hotel And Suites
Paramount Plaza Hotel Gainesville
Paramount Gainesville
Gainesville Paramount

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.