We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steady budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2900 South West 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Sheraton Gainesville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Steady budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here two nights. The price was about $60 to $70 less than the budget chain hotels like Residence Inn or Hilton Garden in was charging. Those hotels are nicer and better located but for a budget option this hotel was fine. Room was clean and bed was comfortable older hotel so if someone is making noise outside the room you will hear it. Service for our group was a little slow and some were less pleased with the rooms. Still obviously renovating the place as pods are parked outside. If you want a budget hotel that seems reasonably clean and safe and comfortable for a bed to sleep in, this place is for you. If you prefer a newer or more upscale feel even if you have to spend $30 to $60 more per night, then probably not

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks you KLF Tampa for your comments. We would like to thank you for staying with us. We always take the good with the bad. You are right when you say that we are renovating. The Paramount Plaza is currently under major room renovations as well as our main building. New Carpet, furniture, lighting and case goods are just part of our renovations. We always offer the lowest prices when we can to all our guest. If there is ever anything we can do let us know.

Thank you
Robert Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    226
    93
    61
    72
See reviews for
250
142
111
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Front desk staff very pleasant, didn't have the room we reserved so gave us a free upgrade. Room clean, bed very comfortable. Our balcony overlooked the lake where we could watch the alligators and birds. We were in town for dinner with friends, and a concert at U of F Phillips Center. We enjoyed our stay so much we extended it one more night. The Hotel is being renovated, with minimum inconvenience. There was a small mistake on our account which was corrected in a pleasant manner. We will recommend the Paramount Plaza, and will stay again when in Gainesville.

Room Tip: 4th Floor Lake front was very quiet and scenic, but far from Front Desk and dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Ms. Margeret MS of Orlando thank you for giving us such a rave review. We are striving to be at the top of the other 44 hotels listed in Gainesville and it is guest like you that help us achive that goal. Our renovations are well underway and should be completed sometime in the early spring. New beds, case goods, furniture, and carpet are just some of the great things we are doing. We have just started on our main building and are giving our Lakeside Grill and Bar a new look as well. Our lobby and banquet space are also getting a face lift. We hope that you will consider us again when you return to Gainesville for your accomidation needs. Thank you again for such a great review.

Robert Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Decided to stop for an impromptu visit to see our daughter as we were passing through. We had no reservations and our regular hotels were full since there were some sporting events in town so we had to search for a place to stay. We have never stayed on this side of town due to most of the hotels being seedy. We were pleasantly surprised that Paramount even had a room let alone one that was updated, clean, and very comfortable. They are in the process of replacing the carpeting and furnishings in some of the rooms so it will get even better. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for being "PLEASENTLY SURPRISED" at our property. We love it when we can capture a new guest. The Paramount Plaza has a lot to offer our guest llike, lower rates, full serivice restaurant & Bar, Room Service, shuttle service, late check-out, complimentry news papers, and the list goes on. Oh and not to mention our great SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY. Again, we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Thank you
Robert Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My mom unexpectedly went into Shands Hospital (about a mile away) and we ended up spending a week here. Considering my aunt had found the hotel, we did not know what to expect, but the Shands hospital rate was good so we said we'd try it... and we stayed!

PROS:
-extremely friendly and helpful staff, from the shuttle drivers to housekeeping, desk to maintenance
-for an aged property - on a lake- in Florida - very clean premises! saw just one indoor ant in 8 whole days. Hallways were getting new paint during our stay. Lovely landscaping. Lobby has a beautiful floor.
-every room has a balcony and two chairs (yeah they're plastic, but they're comfy plastic Adirondack-style chairs)
-comfy beds and very decent decor (some rooms are more updated than others but they're apparently all going to be modernized soon - every room had a flat screen on a swivel table at least)
-shuttle will take you just about anywhere you need to go, if you arrange ahead of time
-within walking distance of Chopstix Cafe which is freakin' delicious :-)
-great pool if it's warm enough (air temperature was 80 one January day and the pool was pretty cold, but would be great other times of the year)
-completely non-smoking property. So if you go out on your balcony, you won't smell your neighbors smoking on theirs.
-wifi! works well in both buildings, too! my husband was able to work remotely the whole week we were there.

CONS:
-No free breakfast, and the (admittedly) inexpensive breakfast offered isn't very good
-No (free) coffee in the lobby... there is in the rooms, but sometimes you just want a big cup with real creamer, ya know?
-Parking can get pretty competitive on weekends, but nothing is too far from either building and Gainesville is very safe
-Room Buildings are separate from the main lobby/conference building, so if you wanted to wander down in your PJs you have to go outside
-a lot of the doors don't close smoothly. We were in four different rooms during our stay (for reasons that had to do with our family, not the hotel) and two of them needed to be slammed in order to close properly. Which makes for noisy neighbors. I chatted with a guy who had been coming to stay there for years and he said they've always slammed like that. It is an older facility, but we were cursing our neighbors one night thinking they were jerks, when really they were probably just trying to get the door to shut!

The only reason I do not rate this place "Excellent" is that if I had to pay the full room rate, I would not have been satisfied at the value. The Shands rate we received was equal or better to what a Priceline bid probably would have gotten us, and I felt very happy with that. For the $2.50 "facilities fee" I wish they'd have free lobby coffee :-)

Room Tip: As of our stay (Jan/Feb 2013), the even-numbered rooms in building 1000 did not have refrigerators a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did while staying with us. It is not offten that we get to hear the positve. We like that you pointed out your Pros and Cons of the property. Let me assure you that we take every comment seriously and will address each of your issues. We hope that when you are back in the area again that you will choose the Paramount Plaza for your accomidations.

Thank you
Robert Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach,Florida
Level Contributor
185 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a deceptively large hotel close to the University of Florida in Gainesville Florida. No doubt that location drives a lot of the visitors as it did me. The problem is this hotel is old, overused and under maintained. It has that 1960's beat feeling about it. The rooms are dingy. The beds and pillows are not comfortable. It was marginally clean. The hallways smelled like mold . The staff was doing the best they could given the product. Our phone didn't work. They apparently just went non smoking in January 2013. The hotel has a restaurant , the food was average. There is a pool but again old and stained. Stay here if you need a cheap place to stay near UF and you don't mind dingy.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to let us know about you recent stay. The Paramount Plaza is currently undergoing MAJOR renovations and I am sure you could see that by all the signs that we have posted on the property. We are replacing everything from carpet, lighting, bedding, phones and case goods. We are sorry that you could not experiance our newly renovated building but I would like to offer you the chance to do so. I can assure you that we have correct all the issues that you had while you were with us. Please contact me direct to book your next stay with us. 352-377-4000
Thank you
Robert Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I love this hotel, as my son and I stay here every 3 months for his check up at Shands. And I guess we have come to be somewhat spoiled by Excellent service in our 4trips in 2012. So I was a bit disappointed this trip with the staff at check in. One associate tied up with another couple, but I'd not even acknowledge us with a " I'll be with you in a moment". Just got a glance and she went back to the couple. Finally another associate came out and no mention of "I'm sorry, hope you haven't been waiting", just "have you been helped". Obviously not, since I was standing there with my son. The kicker is my key was coded for room but not to get into hotel. Thank goodness we were let in by another guest. Again, an attitude of indifference when we trekked back to front desk-no"we are so sorry"just "what room are you in?" this is not typical, maybe new associates.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob1302, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Ms. Robin I would like to apoligize for the poor service that you received at checkin and during your stay. You are right, we do have new associates at the front desk and are still training. I will make sure that I address all the issues with our team. I am the new manager of the Paramount Plaza Hotel and I take great pride and making sure that we meet every guest needs. We are making great changes to the property so that every guest stay is a memoriable one. I want to thank you for staying with us each and everytime that you come to Gainesville. When you return on your next trip to Gainesville I would like to offer you a free upgrade to one of our newly renovated deluxe rooms with a Lake View. Please contact me direct at 352-377-4000 ext 3420.
Thank you
Robert Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have stayed here numerous times over the years and this stay was no different than any other. The price, service and quality cant be beat anywhere in the area. Its a little farther off the interstate than other hotels but is easy to find and worth the trip if you want a relaxing stay at a nice quiet hotel. Its on a lake and its worth the extra charge to get a lakefront room if possible. I would recommend this hotel to anybody that wants a good place to stay in the Gainesville FL area.

Room Tip: Get lakefront if possible for maximum view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I would like to say " THANK YOU" for the great review. We are greatful that you chose to stay with us again. We are currently making great changes with the hotel, new guest rooms complete remodle with new flat screen t..v's, bedding, furniture and case goods. Our rooms with a view of Bivens Lake are wonderful. Each room has its own private balcony which makes each guest stay even better. We hope that when you are traveling to Gainesville again you will choose us again for your accomidations.
Thank you
Robert Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 2900 South West 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Sheraton Gainesville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#15 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paramount Plaza Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Arm Lake Nature Preserve, the hotel is Gainesville's only lakefront hotel, offering a taste of Florida the way it used to be. Renovated in 2012-13, the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center offers full-service Gainesville hotel lodging at surprisingly affordable rates. Convenient Gainesville Hotel Location The Paramount Plaza is ideally located only minutes from Gainesville's most important and popular attractions and venues, such as the University of Florida, the Butterfly Rain forest, Paynes Prairie State Park, the Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, and Shands Teaching Hospital at The University of Florida. The hotel is a short drive North of historic Micanopy and antique shopping, and just a few miles from downtown Gainesville. Each of our 197 large NON-SMOKING, comfortable guest rooms and suites are designed to meet your Gainesville accommodation needs. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In-room guest amenities include coffee makers, wireless Internet access, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. The Paramount Plaza offers free shuttle services from 7:30 a.M. To 5:30 p.M. Daily upon scheduling at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Plaza Hotel And Suites
Paramount Plaza Hotel Gainesville
Paramount Gainesville
Gainesville Paramount

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.