We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gainesville Jan2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2900 South West 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Sheraton Gainesville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gainesville Jan2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I love this hotel, as my son and I stay here every 3 months for his check up at Shands. And I guess we have come to be somewhat spoiled by Excellent service in our 4trips in 2012. So I was a bit disappointed this trip with the staff at check in. One associate tied up with another couple, but I'd not even acknowledge us with a " I'll be with you in a moment". Just got a glance and she went back to the couple. Finally another associate came out and no mention of "I'm sorry, hope you haven't been waiting", just "have you been helped". Obviously not, since I was standing there with my son. The kicker is my key was coded for room but not to get into hotel. Thank goodness we were let in by another guest. Again, an attitude of indifference when we trekked back to front desk-no"we are so sorry"just "what room are you in?" this is not typical, maybe new associates.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob1302, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Ms. Robin I would like to apoligize for the poor service that you received at checkin and during your stay. You are right, we do have new associates at the front desk and are still training. I will make sure that I address all the issues with our team. I am the new manager of the Paramount Plaza Hotel and I take great pride and making sure that we meet every guest needs. We are making great changes to the property so that every guest stay is a memoriable one. I want to thank you for staying with us each and everytime that you come to Gainesville. When you return on your next trip to Gainesville I would like to offer you a free upgrade to one of our newly renovated deluxe rooms with a Lake View. Please contact me direct at 352-377-4000 ext 3420.
Thank you
Robert Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    181
    72
    48
    63
See reviews for
205
113
92
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have stayed here numerous times over the years and this stay was no different than any other. The price, service and quality cant be beat anywhere in the area. Its a little farther off the interstate than other hotels but is easy to find and worth the trip if you want a relaxing stay at a nice quiet hotel. Its on a lake and its worth the extra charge to get a lakefront room if possible. I would recommend this hotel to anybody that wants a good place to stay in the Gainesville FL area.

Room Tip: Get lakefront if possible for maximum view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I would like to say " THANK YOU" for the great review. We are greatful that you chose to stay with us again. We are currently making great changes with the hotel, new guest rooms complete remodle with new flat screen t..v's, bedding, furniture and case goods. Our rooms with a view of Bivens Lake are wonderful. Each room has its own private balcony which makes each guest stay even better. We hope that when you are traveling to Gainesville again you will choose us again for your accomidations.
Thank you
Robert Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

but I wouldn't stay here again if you paid me! As I was waiting to get my room key, the front desk person answered the phone and told the caller, "No, we don't rent by the hour". That should have been the first clue! However, I went forward. The first room I was given smelled of smoke (this is a "100% smoke-free facility") so I asked to be moved. The second room didn't smell like smoke, but I so didn't feel safe here. I ended up staying for one night ($49.40 was way more than the room was worth), but my co-worker refused to stay. (Interestingly enough, when she went to the front desk and said "I just checked in..." the person at the front desk didn't even let her finish before he asked if she wanted a refund). I should have gone with her to another hotel!
Until they get rid of the mold, smell, dubious guests, etc., I will not return. Gainesville, you deserve better than this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. It is Dishearting to hear that you had such an experiance with us. I can assure you that I have taken great messures to correct every issuse that you had while staying with us. The Paramount Plaza is currently under going renovations to our guest rooms and part of the process is becoming
100 % smoke free, I apoligize that you had a room that was smoked by a previous guest. Our property is large and sits on 7.5 acers of land the two buildings that have our guest rooms are interior corridor with automatic locking doors, we take guest safety very serious at the Paramount Plaza and rest assured we want you to feel safe. Our staff is very seasoned staff and have been with us for many years and to hear that a staff member would address a guest with such unsatisfactory service is not tolerable. We know that you have many choices for accomidations when visiting the Gainesville area and would like to extend an oppurtunity for you to experiance our true hospitality that we are know for at the Paramount Plaza Hotel. Based on all our great reviews on TripAdvisor you can see that when we have a bad review we address the issues immediatly with corrective action. If you are ever in the area again or would like to talk about your recent stay please contact me direct at 352-377-4000 ext 3420
Thank you
Robert Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very comfortable room included a mini refrigerator and microwave. Comfortable bed, plenty of towels and great wifi. Everything I needed at a great price. Staff was friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us such a rave review. Gainesville has many options for accomidations and the Paramount Plaza is honored that you chose us. If you are ever returning to the area please contact us direct and save. 352-377-4000
Thank you
Robert Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Paramount. No surprises, nothing to complain about. The room was plenty big, clean, and in good repair. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast buffet was excellent. It's not a 5 star NYC buffet, but for the price it was outstanding!
This was a last minute trip, I got the room through Hotwire which made the rate really good. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
When visiting the Gainesville area we know that you have many choices as to accomidations a we are honored that you picked us. If you are ever back in the area again please contact us direct at 353-377-4000. Again, thank you for such kind words in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Several TripAdvisor reviews mentioned the comfort of the beds, so maybe it's just my wife and I who found it problematic. The mattress was quite thick and looked fairly new, but it was covered by some kind of plastic sheet (I assume to protect it - but they have proper mattress covers that do the same thing) so it felt like sleeping in a hospital. Also it was extremely lumpy under this sheet, so, in short, neither of us slept very well and, in fact, my wife was really annoyed by how uncomfortable it was.
On the plus side, the room was spacious, with nice furnishings. Bathroom was fine and everything was very clean.
Location was not bad, although about 15 minute drive from the highway (I-75), so if you just want to get to the hotel quickly and be on your way in the morning, I prefer being closer to the Interstate. The area itself was a bit run down, but certainly not seedy.
They also have a small fee (which you don't know about until you check in) to cover internet, fitness centre, and a bunch of other things listed on a sheet which the clerk flashed for us to read in about 7 seconds(so I have no idea what else was covered), which are normally included in most other hotels - it's only $2.50, but it's a bit petty. Also, since they have a restaurant, they don't provide a breakfast, as is sometimes done. I don't object to this, since you are aware in advance that this is the case, and many other hotels are the same. But again, we found it petty that since they only had coffee provided in the room and not tea, there was another almost $3 charge when my wife asked if she could get a tea bag.
The front desk clerk was fairly pleasant, but would make a better impression with a shave and a clean and tucked-in shirt.
This could be a very good hotel with a little more attention to detail - i guess that's what distinguishes 2 star from a 3 star hotel. They have a ways to go - not even close to 3.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. The Paramount Plaza Hotel Suites & Conference Center is taking great strides to make many changes. We are currently doing major renovations to all our guest rooms banquets rooms and restaurant. We know that you have many choices when visiting the area and would like to offer you another chance to stay and experiance our changes. Please contact us at 352-377-4000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, oh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our second stay at the Paramont and we plan on returning next year. The room we had during each stay was very clean and comfortable. The area around the hotel is peaceful and tranquil, and the staff is friendly and helpful. We have enjoyed the happy hour, as well as breakfast with friends in the restaurant, walkes around the lake with our young grandson, and a morning cup of coffee on the balcony. The hotel location is close to downtown and very convenient to get to. It is a wonderful value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We know that you have many choices for accomidations when your in the Gainesville area and we would like to thank you for choosing the Paramount Plaza Hotel Suites & Conference Center. If you are ever coming back to the area please call us direct and save. 352-377-4000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 2900 South West 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Sheraton Gainesville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#11 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paramount Plaza Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Arm Lake Nature Preserve, the hotel is Gainesville's only lakefront hotel, offering a taste of Florida the way it used to be. Renovated in 2012-13, the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center offers full-service Gainesville hotel lodging at surprisingly affordable rates. Convenient Gainesville Hotel Location The Paramount Plaza is ideally located only minutes from Gainesville's most important and popular attractions and venues, such as the University of Florida, the Butterfly Rain forest, Paynes Prairie State Park, the Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, and Shands Teaching Hospital at The University of Florida. The hotel is a short drive North of historic Micanopy and antique shopping, and just a few miles from downtown Gainesville. Each of our 197 large NON-SMOKING, comfortable guest rooms and suites are designed to meet your Gainesville accommodation needs. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In-room guest amenities include coffee makers, wireless Internet access, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. The Paramount Plaza offers free shuttle services from 7:30 a.M. To 5:30 p.M. Daily upon scheduling at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Plaza Hotel And Suites
Paramount Plaza Hotel Gainesville
Paramount Gainesville
Gainesville Paramount

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.